We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
154
115
46
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
115
46
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverthe pubno liftfirst floorlovely hoteltop floorcomfortable bedvery pleasant staycar parkone night stayyogurtousenoisebathstartersswan
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is the third time we have had a one night booking at this hotel, on this occasion we requested a room to the rear of the property, which we were allocated. The room was overlooking the car park and turned out to be quite quiet. We had room 206 which was small, but more than adequate for one night - clean, a very large comfortable bed and the temperature was pleasant and easy to control. The shower room was clean, though the shower was a tad small, but again fine for a one night stay.
The bar area has a lovely atmosphere, with a good selection of drinks and on this occasion the staff were really friendly, they never stopped clearing tables, re-stocking the tables with clean cutlery and rearranging the chairs for the next guests.
We had a lovely cooked breakfast the following day, although there is a good choice of other options if you don't feel like a "Full English", there is fruit, cereals, yogurts, pastries and toast. The little touch of warm mugs for your tea/coffee is a nice touch and the staff in the morning were just as hospitable and busy as they had been in the bar the night before.
The hotel is in the perfect location for both strolling, the shopping area and just relaxing with a drink outside.
All in all a very pleasant stay and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for great review and thank you for continuing to return to us to enjoy our hospitality.
We pride ourselves in having a really comfortable and friendly atmosphere as has been highlighted in your comments. Please be sure to say hello when you next stay with us.
Best wishes
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent overnight stay with good food in the evening and great breakfast too. Attentive service was excellent and the room was very nicely decorated and well equipped (though a small TV….). Good value all round.

Room Tip: Room 102 excellent but does have some road noise and the outdoor smokers area is below outside the front of the building (chatter was noticeable but not disturbing). Great view of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us especially your comments on our great service.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was really looking forward to our stay here after reading great reviews but felt it did not live up to the expectations. The building is amazing with a great bar and interior and a lovely outdoor area facing the river. It was very busy when we arrived with a lively atmosphere, however we were left hanging around for quite some time to check in. The room was nice and spacious, only had a shower not a bath like we had expected as we had paid for a top priced room. But wasn't overly clean with rubbish on the bedside table and a used plaster in a wooden vase type feature in the bedroom!! We had a good meal however sitting in the bar area afterwards became unbearable from the awful smell coming from the gents. You couldn't get away from the smell which was there for the whole of our stay and particularly worse in the evening. In the morning I was woken rather early from the noise of staff putting out the table and chairs outside the front of the building. Not great when having a break away from the kids and you are looking forward to a lie in! Breakfast I would say was average the service was slow and seemed to lack attention to detail, not asked how we would like our eggs cooked. No spoons provided to stir our drinks etc. this hotel has a lot of great features but really lacks attention to detail on its service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Many thanks for your review Rachel,
I am sorry your stay did not live up to expectations. I am surprised by your comments on the cleanliness of your room and breakfast service. Please could you inform me of when you stayed and what room you were in so I can look into this matter.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My stay at the embankment was a great experience, the hotel is very large public house furnished to a high standard just by the river in Bedford. The room and bed were great, good bathroom and great shower. The bar is truely great and the bedrock of the building and experience, well furnished and stocked with great ales plus all the normal pub faire and very busy with well healed locals. The food again is very good in the restaurant however i heard this from friends who visit the pub just for the great menu. I had the full english breakfast in the morning which was perfection.

You get a key to your room and the front door for if you return late meaning you can have a wild night and still get access to your room which is not the case with all hotels of this type. Best of all my room was only £65 via booking.com

Room Tip: 204 was great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic review of the hotel.
We are glad you found a competitive online rate for your stay. You can also get the lowest rates through our website too.
Next time you stay you will have to have dinner, that way you then wont have to take your friends word for it that our food is great too!
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Normally choose big hotel chains but they were over budget for my overnight stay whilst working near Bedford. Found this place on Laterooms at a very reasonable rate. I was pleasantly surprised. Waterfront location, well furnished and warm feeling rooms, fantastic evening food, breakfast included, a selection of fruit and cereals. Then a choice of cooked options from the menu. A fabulous place and I will come back in the summer with the family.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Matty_Qeensbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for a lovely review.
I am really glad you enjoyed your whole experience with us.
We do try to deliver great food and service combined with keeping a fantastic atmosphere in the pub.
I look forward to meeting you and your family in the summer.
Please make sure you say Hello!
Kirsty Austin
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews