We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
158
116
46
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
116
46
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river the pub no lift first floor lovely hotel top floor beautiful room comfortable bed town centre very pleasant stay breakfast was excellent car park stayed here for one night yogurt ouse noise bath
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Set alongside Bedford's best asset (The River) this restaurant uses its position to overprice and under-deliver. We had booked a meal for my dad's milestone birthday, the waiting staff seemed oblivious to this fact even with balloons on the table and hardly made him feel special. The menu was interesting if restricted and highly priced and we skipped starters to order the shared plate of pork. Now we presume as the word 'shared' is in the title, it should be sufficient for 2 adults but it was not especially for £34. The elements of the plate were cooked well and the mustard/apple sauce and sweet potato fries were lovely. Our one course meal took over 2 hours, the service was pleasant but poorly trained and never came to check if we were ready to order, if we needed anything else and I cannot recall one time I didn't have to call the staff over to take our order/ clear/take us to the next course. TWO HOURS!!! The decor is lovely but the dessert menu limited and thus we only ordered 2 out of a potential 10 orders and £6 for one of the coffees - come on! Ladies toilets were blocked on a busy Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Many thanks for your review and comments.
We have built a great reputation over the last 5 years for delivering great food and service and I am sorry that your experience with us did not live up to this.

I am surprised by your comments saying it was 2 hours for us to serve 1 course. I do not recall this problem on the evening.

If informed of any issues, whether this be with the food or service at the time we will always try to rectify these where possible.

Please let me know if you will be visiting us again so I can personally oversee you booking.

Kind regards
Jonathan
Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We randomly booked this hotel after reading other reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised by the location, staff, food and service which were all excellent. It did say on their site that due to the Embankment being a pub/restaurant, that there may be some additional noise but we did not find that this was a problem. We will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Lisa

Many thanks for taking the time to review us following your stay. We are pleased you chose us and I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of the pub and hotel side.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel many times and I keep going back , not only is the location perfect but the service and food is outstanding ! Rooms are very comfortable I highly recommend this hotel to any one !! Also perfect for a small intimate event be it a party or wedding !!

Well done guys looking forward to my next stay already .

Best regards
Zulika Joseph-Wightman

(Golden Poppy Events )
And ITE group PLC London

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulikajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Zulika

Many thanks for staying with us recently and also your great review of the hotel.
We look very much forward to seeing you in the pub again soon.

Best wishes
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter (on the way to her Uni interview). Only stayed one night unfortunately! Would love to come back and spend a few days here. Excellent food and, in addition to vegetarian options on the menu, all staff made clear that Chef would accommodate alterations to other dishes. Staff really helpful and friendly. Very nice friendly Manager on duty too.
Lovely room, spacious; nice full bathroom; everything really clean. Bar / dining area has huge windows overlooking river and embankment, beautiful! Also huge outside terrace area, again overlooking embankment with its flower beds in full bloom; and trees in leaf. Lovely place to sit and watch people sculling up and down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Sandra

Many thanks for your review of the hotel and thank you for your kind comments. I am please you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to (hopefully) welcoming you back again soon.
Next time you stay be sure to say hello and make sure you stay for 2 nights!!

Best wishes
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked into the Embankment on Friday night (25.04.2014) .(birthday treat). we booked a premium room and a twin . The rooms were both lovely. the premium room was beautiful, great staff, soft beds, amazing food. we had a large bath in our room and double shower so lovely romantic touches. lots of tea and coffee, bottled water etc. Our large room had a king bed and a beautiful view over bedford river. we booked into the restaurant in the evening for 9pm and enjoyed Sax and Honey the Jazz duo and a lovely meal friday night is fish night. we had our two teenage daughters with us and they were made feel really welcome. Saturday morning breakfast was served from 07.30am and we had a full english . the food is excellent . The staff are really helpful and friendly . all in all a really lovely stay, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Book a premium room if you want to spoil someone special. large bath for an extra romantic touch. we were above a bar, but we did not think it was to loud and they had a jazz night on.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Mellie
Thank you for great comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward you next time.
Have a great bank holiday.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews