We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Mix”
Review of Embankment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embankment Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Situated on the embankment of the River Ouse in Bedford, The Embankment Hotel is a well-known and popular venue. The bar was pleasantly full with a nice atmosphere. The hotel facilities are a quirky mix of the old and the new, particularly in the bedroom (#104), with old furniture and new accessories. Good points were a very comfortable bed in a high ceiling room, brilliant coffee making facilities, excellent Wi-Fi (free) and friendly staff. Slight downsides were no desk chair in the room to do any work on a laptop, and a shortage of accessible plug points. Overall though a good place to stay for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Chris

Many thanks for your review. I really appreciate the constructive and kind comments. You will be pleased to hear we have now put a decks chair in room 104.

I hope and look forward to welcoming you back to the pub again soon.

Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Set alongside Bedford's best asset (The River) this restaurant uses its position to overprice and under-deliver. We had booked a meal for my dad's milestone birthday, the waiting staff seemed oblivious to this fact even with balloons on the table and hardly made him feel special. The menu was interesting if restricted and highly priced and we skipped starters to order the shared plate of pork. Now we presume as the word 'shared' is in the title, it should be sufficient for 2 adults but it was not especially for £34. The elements of the plate were cooked well and the mustard/apple sauce and sweet potato fries were lovely. Our one course meal took over 2 hours, the service was pleasant but poorly trained and never came to check if we were ready to order, if we needed anything else and I cannot recall one time I didn't have to call the staff over to take our order/ clear/take us to the next course. TWO HOURS!!! The decor is lovely but the dessert menu limited and thus we only ordered 2 out of a potential 10 orders and £6 for one of the coffees - come on! Ladies toilets were blocked on a busy Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Many thanks for your review and comments.
We have built a great reputation over the last 5 years for delivering great food and service and I am sorry that your experience with us did not live up to this.

I am surprised by your comments saying it was 2 hours for us to serve 1 course. I do not recall this problem on the evening.

If informed of any issues, whether this be with the food or service at the time we will always try to rectify these where possible.

Please let me know if you will be visiting us again so I can personally oversee you booking.

Kind regards
Jonathan
Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We randomly booked this hotel after reading other reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised by the location, staff, food and service which were all excellent. It did say on their site that due to the Embankment being a pub/restaurant, that there may be some additional noise but we did not find that this was a problem. We will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Lisa

Many thanks for taking the time to review us following your stay. We are pleased you chose us and I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of the pub and hotel side.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel many times and I keep going back , not only is the location perfect but the service and food is outstanding ! Rooms are very comfortable I highly recommend this hotel to any one !! Also perfect for a small intimate event be it a party or wedding !!

Well done guys looking forward to my next stay already .

Best regards
Zulika Joseph-Wightman

(Golden Poppy Events )
And ITE group PLC London

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulikajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Zulika

Many thanks for staying with us recently and also your great review of the hotel.
We look very much forward to seeing you in the pub again soon.

Best wishes
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter (on the way to her Uni interview). Only stayed one night unfortunately! Would love to come back and spend a few days here. Excellent food and, in addition to vegetarian options on the menu, all staff made clear that Chef would accommodate alterations to other dishes. Staff really helpful and friendly. Very nice friendly Manager on duty too.
Lovely room, spacious; nice full bathroom; everything really clean. Bar / dining area has huge windows overlooking river and embankment, beautiful! Also huge outside terrace area, again overlooking embankment with its flower beds in full bloom; and trees in leaf. Lovely place to sit and watch people sculling up and down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Sandra

Many thanks for your review of the hotel and thank you for your kind comments. I am please you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to (hopefully) welcoming you back again soon.
Next time you stay be sure to say hello and make sure you stay for 2 nights!!

Best wishes
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked into the Embankment on Friday night (25.04.2014) .(birthday treat). we booked a premium room and a twin . The rooms were both lovely. the premium room was beautiful, great staff, soft beds, amazing food. we had a large bath in our room and double shower so lovely romantic touches. lots of tea and coffee, bottled water etc. Our large room had a king bed and a beautiful view over bedford river. we booked into the restaurant in the evening for 9pm and enjoyed Sax and Honey the Jazz duo and a lovely meal friday night is fish night. we had our two teenage daughters with us and they were made feel really welcome. Saturday morning breakfast was served from 07.30am and we had a full english . the food is excellent . The staff are really helpful and friendly . all in all a really lovely stay, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Book a premium room if you want to spoil someone special. large bath for an extra romantic touch. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Mellie
Thank you for great comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward you next time.
Have a great bank holiday.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were two of a party of nineteen persons attending the hotel for a celebration meal for our friend’s 50th birthday on Easter Sunday. SO before you read on take this into account as experiences as a couple or indeed foursome may not be the same as that which follows. I say this as having read similar ‘not so good’ reports I can only write of this ‘party function’!
The venue is very nice albeit car parking is very limited due to the nature of Bedford and the type of establishment. There is pay and display on-street parking in the vicinity.
The hotel is well presented and the staff cannot be faulted for their friendliness even having consideration, in this scenario, as to their job inadequacies.
When making our way through to the function room, seeking advice as to where the private party were located, we encountered an antipodean waitress (it transpired) who had no idea where we were to head. We located the room although she was reluctant to allow us to enter (there was a large 50th Birthday streamer affixed to the door).
The option given to those attending was a £30 pre-order menu for three courses. It is fair to say that the entrees and the desserts did not present a problem per se. The main issue was the main course, there being several options among which were steak and lamb. The waiter attended the group, pen & paper in hand, not once but twice to ascertain how the guests would prefer their meat cooked.
Even having asked twice, delivery of the preferred state of cooking presented a problem in that the meats were delivered in various states of cooking and made a mockery of the twice recorded preferences. Indeed one of the party had to send their steak back having been cooked to the consistency of shoe leather. The rest of the assembled company had to continue with their meals or they would have been cold waiting for the replacement meal for this other guest. Not Good!!!!
Bar prices – I purchased a bottle of Rioja, the most expensive on the wine list (not because of price but from personal taste) and appear to have paid more than buying the three 250 ml glasses which would have constituted a full bottle!! The wine was OK but I would suggest well over-priced compared with other eateries which we have dined at!
So – herein lies the rub – Would I try the hotel as a couple or a small party? – Yes to see if they can match the ambience of the establishment: Would I hold a function there for more than four people? – A resounding NO!!!
I would qualify this latter comment by stating that I have recently attended a charity function, just up the road, in Bedford, at a different hotel, which being nowhere as nice as regards ambience, there were in excess of 200 people and everything was great! Furthermore our children organised a party in excess of 50 people at a local hotel, to us, and everything was spot on!!!
Did I complain at the time – No – Why? It may have been offensive to the birthday boy and as William Shakespeare wrote ‘ Tis’ the company and not the charge which makes the feast!’
Sorry Embankment Hotel – Must try harder for party functions – Maybe because of the time of year you cut down on your staffing due to cost? No excuse if you wish to achieve proper standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank WillandBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Many thanks for your review.

I am sorry to felt the service and the food not up to our usual high standards. If informed at the time we will always rectify any mistakes we have made. You will see from other reviews we do have great feedback from private dining room parties and so I do hope you decide to visit us again. if you do please contact me directly so I can personally oversee your booking.

Kind regards
Jonathan
Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
2.1 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#3 Business Hotel in Bedford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embankment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing