We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Embankment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embankment Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed with a friend the day before my wedding, and the staff were great at helping with all the little things, that make a difference. Food is great, riverside view great, staff are all friendly and helpful, and the hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish. Great value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiantkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Kitty

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

We hope the wedding was a success and it was a pleasure to look after you.

Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    95
    39
    23
    18
See reviews for
44
124
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Walked in on Saturday late afternoon and got a table. Staff were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The bar area had a good atmosphere and restaurant area offered a quieter environment. Food was a little pricey but worth it - I had the lamb sharer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander1ngAr0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
The lamb sharers is one of our favourite dishes too.

We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner!!

Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a weekend break in Bedford and chose The Embankment Hotel.
We had a very enjoyable stay and although we had a room at the side of the hotel it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked as though it had been recently decorated and the shower was super.
Breakfast was lovely with a big choice of items on the menu and all the staff were very helpful. Very nice location as well. Situated on the bank of the river and only a 2 minute walk to the city centre. They also have a car park at the back which was ideal as we just left the car there all weekend.
We didn't dine there at night but the menu did look appetising.
Will certainly stay there again when we return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Gary

Thank you very much for you review. I am pleased you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Please be sure to say hello next time you are in town

Best wishes

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I had a lovely room looking out onto the river. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean, with a huge bed. We ate in the restaurant which was very busy but we didn't have to wait and the meal was delicious. The breakfast was cooked to order and was cooked perfectly and the orange juice was fresh, not the concentrated sort. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Liz thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.
Sounds like you know where to choose next time you are in town!! We are happy you loved it!

See you soon.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had previously eaten in the pub and when we were in the area again decided to stay at the pub. We stayed in the river view room with our daughter (who stayed on a perfectly comfortable sofa bed). Our large bed was comfortable had reading lights and White Company bedding! Even though we were above the outdoor seating area we were not affected by noise. Breakfast was delicious with freshly made lattes and English breakfast. Whilst the river view room was more expensive it was probably worth it although the other rooms are much cheaper and if we stayed again I think we would choose one of them.

Room Tip: River view room has great ambience and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie20006419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I am really pleased you had such a great stay with us Jackie.

You know where to choose next time you are in town!!

See you soon.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

On a quick trip into town we thought we would find somewhere to grab something to eat and have been meaning to visit here many times. Lovely exterior and inside was beautifully presented too. Was brilliant as there was plenty of room for my pram too. The extensive menu was hard to choose from but thought we'd try the steak chiabatta and chips. A little more expensive than normal but was totally wworth it. I'd love to go back in the winter to see what else was on offer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.

We are really glad you loved the pub so much. It wont be long before it gets cold again so we will see you in the autumn!

Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had a really nice pint of Charles Wells Eagle IPA two weeks ago in a pub in Salford village in Beds. Last night I had the same beer at the Embankmen Hotel and it was sour. This establishment is not the only offender.(The staff were efficient on what was a busy Saturday night).

.It is getting to the stage when I will soon give up going to pubs unless I know from before the beer will be OK.

WHAT IS IT THAT PUBS DO TO RUIN BEER THAT MUST BE OK WHEN IT LEAVES THE BREWERY

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank brianba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Many thanks for your review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your beer while you visited. We have recently been given a full audit by Charles wells themselves who are happy with the beer we serve.

Please pop back in to say hello and I will personally buy you a pint to show you that your experience was a one off.

Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.6 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Property: Embankment Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#3 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Embankment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing