We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woburn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Woburn Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As a family, we have been going to Center Parcs for many,many years and decided to give Woburn a try. There are not too many things to find fault with but those we have, sadly cannot be rectified. First impression of the site is how pretty it is, and also how HILLY it is. Take heed of previous comments to assess where your villa is before getting bikes. As a family, we always use bikes, so it was quite pleasant walking everywhere. The brilliant weather helped. Aqua Sana was a delightful experience for us all and how nice to use a pool you can actually swim in. Which brings us to the biggest disappointment of all. It was awful. Rather like a concrete paddling pool. completely impossible to enjoy a pleasant swim. Far too shallow and the wave machine was a waste of time. Great for young families though. Having said that, both my Grandchildren enjoyed the Tornedo and other boat related rides within the pool. However,
outside rapids were considerably more exciting than Elveden or Nottingham. The only problem being getting on to the rapids themselves. You have to climb over a very high bump and then push yourself along until the force of the water takes you. This is all very well when you are slightly younger, but for those of us who are getting older, but still enjoy the excitement of a ride along the rapids, it is very difficult to get on. It would be very nice to have more seating areas outside the pool for those of us who have used up our energy and would like to watch everyone else. Lack of seating around the site was also disappointing. Especially outside some of the restaurants Dexters etc., We were fortunate enough to have wonderful weather and to sit around would have been very nice. Villas. Generally we found ours to be delightful, just the same as every other villa on the site. Same seating plan, same pictures on the wall no variation whatsoever, or at least we saw none as we walked around. Everyone seemed to have the same lounge, kitchen layout. Whoever thought of that? Also air conditioning would have been great. We found them also not to be very private, as our neighbours bedroom window looked straight onto our patio area, taking away our privacy if we wanted to stay out late talking and eating. Maid service was a little difficult to define. One day the bathroom would be tidied, next day not. Floor not hoovered. Dishwasher not emptied. All a little hit and miss. Having said all this, we enjoyed our week but the swimming pool was hugely disappointing. Depressing to say the least.

Room Tip: Read all the reviews and make your mind up when you get there. Mostly, check situation of villa bef...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,393)
There are newer reviews for Center Parcs Woburn Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,002 - 5,008 of 5,394 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from a short break at Woburn Forest. We are seasoned CenterParcs people so wanted to experience the new venue.Accommodation is superb as it is obviously brand new.
The environment will take some time to establish but will be great in a couple of years time.
The staff are ,on the whole,helpful and enthusiastic but still obviously new and inexperienced. Our experience of eating out was one extreme to the other as The Sports Cafe service was slow (an hour) and food quality not wonderful but The Shearing House service was excellent, food delivery very quick and food extremely good.
Will definitely be thinking twice before returning to this venue but overall we all had a good time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at CenterParcs Woburn Forest and would definitely recommend to others for family breaks. Activities are a bit expensive but there is lots to do in a lovely tranquil and cheerful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NikP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been to CP for 14 years at Elvedon and Longleat and love it. Woburn - twice the price, really small, despite advertising that it is the biggest and best there is no white slide, no green slide, no blue slide, no plunge pool, no Jacuzzis, no whirlpools, no salt pool, no outdoor pool and the indoor pool is tiny and contained in a concrete box. Rapids are on ground level, no wonder that we came down with symptoms akin to Weil's disease. Wristbands do not work in lockers or villa and if you want to use them poolside then each child with a wristband HAS to have £300 as a credit. Crazy! The lake is smaller than the finger lakes at Elvedon. So disappointing, such a shame and the kids were very upset...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Servcies Executive at Center Parcs Woburn Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi again thank you for your review following our recent correspondence.

I was so sorry to hear that you remain disappointed however I do hope that during our recent telephone conversation I was able to offer our reassurances.

I should clarify that each wristband has a limit of £300.00 with an initial charge of £1.00 is made to verify your card details. The charge is taken into account when the first purchase on the card is made.

As previously stated I do hope we may see you all again sometime soon at Elveden Forest.

Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We got to our villa at 4.15pm (you can arrive after 3pm) to find it was a bombsite and the cleaners looked like they had turned up, got the vacuum cleanner out and then left immediately. After trying guest services 40 times, it was permanently engaged (should that be a 'lack of guest services helpline?'. After then finding a number to speak to the head of the dept i was assured a cleaner would be sent immediately. 30 mins later....nothing. After then heading down to guest services in person we were offered an alternative villa, which we accepted. Not a great start, especially with a screaming 20 month old baby who had nowhere to sleep for an afternoon nap.

The swimming pool area is smaller than Elveden where we spent the week before, and quite a few of the lockers didn't work with the wristband you are provided with.My four year old daughter cut herself on loose tiles in the swimming pool when getting out.

On another occasion, and down by the 'beach' area, my daughter needed the toilet. No toilet roll in the mens! After speaking to the lady (a CP employee) in the adjoining building she told me to use the one in the restaurant, i went in the restaurant and they said there was only one lot of toilets and so not sure why i was told to go somewhere that didn't exist!. When i went back to the lady to let her know there was only one set of toilets and not two, she said she will get some loo roll, and came back with about 6 squares. Very generous. To cap it off my daughter wouldn't wash her hands in the sink after as the water was incredibly hot, far too hot for an adult, let alone a four year old. Also at the same place, i was given incorrect change when making a money purchase.

We had problems with my wifes bike as the seat wasn't tightened sufficiently and my bell stopped working on mine.

The wifi in the room was intermittent, and we were told by their IT chap that there was an insiffucient number of IP addresses to go round and so when lots of people wanted to use the wifi, a number of people were unable too.

I think the management have done a pretty poor job at this CP, communication in guest services was very, very bad. Due to our difficulties on the first day we agreed on a level of monetary compensation that was to be ready in two, maximum three days. It only got sorted out the evening before our departure and that was after speaking to guest services many times. It seemed the left hand and the right hand were not communicating. In fairness they did offer a few complimentary activities for my children too.

Not a fault of the staff but this CP is very hilly and unless you are very fit, riding a trailer with two young girls in the back is hard work. There are some signs for 9% gradients!!!

Curtains are very thin in your room which will ensure your kids wake up nice and early, when the sun rises too.

On the plus side, there was a dedicated HDMI input for the TV, which is the first time i have seen that rather than having to fiddle about with wires at the back of the telly.

All in all, we ended up having a decent time but a stressful start and a number of things going wrong, we won't be coming back........

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Morgan_from_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Woburn Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I was so sorry to hear that we did not get off to a good start.

Whilst I appreciate that overall you had a decent stay I understand that there were other aspects of your break that were disappointing. Please feel sure that your feedback is valued and all of your points have been shared with the relevant village managers so that they may address the issues you have highlighted.

I have noted that you do not intend to return however, I do hope that we may welcome you back to another Center Parcs village sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been going to Longleat Center Parcs for many years and this year we decided to try the new village at Woburn. After going through the arrivals lodge and being made to feel very welcome by the lady who checked us in, we parked our car and headed onto the village. After hiring bikes, which were brand new, we headed towards the facilities to look around. The first thing that stuck us all was how small the park is. We have 2 active teenagers who cycled from the Subtropical Swimming Paradise passed the Plaza where the sports facilities are and down to the boating lake in no more than 3 minutes. Those of you who have been to Longleat will know how long it takes to cycle between facilities there and that gives you an idea of how small Woburn is. All the facilities that the other parks offer Woburn offers too but just on a smaller scale. If like us you have active teenagers who enjoy cycling around the village this is not the park for you however if you are a family with young children or elderly visitors then this park would be great for you as everything is pretty much in one place.
The staff at Woburn are a credit to the company and are super polite and well mannered. The village itself is immaculate although as it is new some areas look a bit bare while the plants and trees grow, which is to be expected. Most of the villas look the same which takes away some of the character of the place but there are a few lovely looking villas with balconies. The inside of our villa was immaculate and everything was brand new.
Woburn is not for everyone and for us it is just too small so we won't be returning but we did have a great holiday and the 4 man slide at the swimming pool is great fun as is the tree trekking. There is a lovely atmosphere around Cafe Rouge in the evening and the facilities for young families are very good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived on the Friday morning after driven down from a stay in Alton- excellent arrival experience- no queue and good reception at arrivals. Our villa was up by the outdoor adventure area, really nice and clean, spacious and 'new'! Great to have wrist bands too.

We had a great weekend and have been to Elvedon & Longleat for the past 14 years (now teenagers on tow)

Agree with other reports - need the vegetation to mature before a real CP feeling - lots of open spaces and not much forestry. It was a bit strange being face to face with your neighbour whilst sitting outside! Also the wildlife have all moved out during contraction! Not a single fish was seen in the few pools around! Needto rethink the cycle paths - or lack of - as we had a few near misses with pedestrians

Lots of things to do tho - had no trouble booking tables or sports etc. Although we did have to wait for 90 mins for our main course in Cafe Rouge Sunday evening (Kitchen problems they said) and we had a free bottle of wine from the waitress who was obviously embarrassed by the wait.

All the staff were friendly - pool area good for older kids but less 'water' space - nice to see the coffee still on offer after 5pm !

One bad point was that our son had his rental bike stolen from the bike park - one of 4 that went missing that day - first time ever in the 14 yrs. Cycle centre did replace although not until the following morning…

The glorious weather helped and we would return but prefer the forest feel of Longleat and Elvedon.

Agree with earlier post about the duvets - very hot in the villa at night and we didn't feel safe enough to leave windows open at this centre. Definitely worth a visit to experience a 'different pard' but like others we would return to EF or LL next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ACB40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
8.6 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#15 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Sidcup
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#337 of 1,072 in London
239 reviews
24.0 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
14.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Woburn Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Woburn Forest

Address: Woburn Forest | Millbrook, Bedford MK45 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bedford
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Woburn Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Woburn Forest Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing