We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great with a few teething problems”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Woburn Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was great with a few teething problems”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been visiting centre parcs now for about 6 years we have always gone to longleat which is excellent so we had high hopes for this park as it has only been open for a couple of months overall we had a good time the kids did the aerial adventure, archery, crossbows, bowling badminton etc.. So we were kept busy !! I have to agree with other reviews it is quite small and very hilly so be prepared for a lot of uphill bike riding.
The staff running the activities were great very friendly and the Segway experience is a must do for all families so much fun!!!! The staff at the booking centre by the sports cafe are extremely friendly and helpful
I don't like to moan usually but I feel that for a new establishment things could be improved so here goes the down points
Our first visit to the parc Marc shop the girl on the till looked extremely fed up I spoke saying hello how are you and she looked at me a totally blanked me and continued to do so through the whole checkout not a good start really the staff in Starbucks were also quite miserable and not really interested in making any conversation at all
On arriving at our lodge I noticed the fridge was dirty left over milk and orange juice spillages still in there and taps in the bathrooms and showers were covered in water stains so that to me indicates hey haven't been cleaned
There was a small towel hung in the bathroom presumably for a floor mat and when we put it down to use it it had a pair of someone's contAct lenses still stuck to it yuk so obviously dirty from last family
When we have been to longleat we have always had a complimentary tea towel,dishcloth, and small pack of dishwasher tablets on arrival no sign of that at Woburn and no lovely welcome
message on the chalk board you always get that at longleat
The resturants are a mixed bag the strada and hucks are excellent lovely food and staff but cleanliness is a big issue we decided to treat ourselves to an Indian at the Rajinda pradesh it was a really hot day all glass windows and no air con so as you can imagine very hot we were taken to a table which had obviously had been used previously and we we're seated on top of a ton of rice all over the floor and small chunks of chocolate and the odd crisp obviously the family before us had small kids but please clean the area before you seat someone else but the food was very good
If your looking for a quick easy meal then the sports cafe is not for you tables were full up which dirty glasses and plates and even if it is not busy you got at least just over an hour wait for your food and when we went bowling in the sports cafe area there were loads of food wrappers empty glasses cups etc... From the days previous people who had been bowling we were there for over an hour and they still haven't been cleared
Swimming pool is ok the rapids were narrow and fast not as much fun as longleats the tube rides were good although the 4 man was constantly being shut then reopened the main pool is small and not really for swimming and very full up and busy quite dangerous then the waves are on the outside area could also be improved for seating as to watch the rapids you are walking and sitting basically on dirt.
I sound like a right moany old bag but really we had a great time but we feel for the price you pay a bit more care and attention is needed hopefully with a bit more experience it will improve

Room Tip: Take tea towels dishcloths and dishwasher tablet with you Do the Segway experience it is lots of fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny15283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,076
    1,717
    838
    299
    158
See reviews for
3,701
506
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

İ went with my disabled Daughter and İ'm also disabled. İt was far too hilly for anyone who has problems walking. We also took our little dog. The nearest exercise area was up a 1.10 hill so no chance of reaching it and to be honest the excercise area was very tiny. A bigger dog would of covered it in 3 strides. Yet there was room at the back our lodge to have a fenced garden. Also the leaflet we were given said dogs weren't allowed to be left in lodge on there own, which made it very difficult to use any indoor activities.The lodge was beautiful İ have to say and the beds heavenly. When we csame to leave our transport wasn't allowed to collect us from our lodge. We had been told it would be able to Our transport was stuck at the main gates and we were stuck in the lodge The phone in the lodge wasn't working so İ couldnt contact customer service or security. Although the staff at the gates knew our transport was there it took them nearly 2 hours to send any transport to us. İ was very upset its an awful feeling to be stuck and have no way of making contact. My Daughter gets extremely anxious On the whole we felt trapped and exhausted most of the time. There was nothing to say it might not be practical for the disabled. Overall İ would say its very expensive and overated The meals in the sports cafe were expensive too and were on par with average chains but twice the price. İt cost my Daughter around £1,000 for 4 days and the only activity we done was one game of. 10 pin bowling and eating out a few times. SHOCKİNG

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visited in Late July 2014, not quite the full school holidays, but it looked like most of the lodges were occupied. Our lodge was an executive 3 bed, with 4 adults, 2 teenagers and a small dog.

The lodge was No. 767 Maple, end of a row and with no other lodges in front, you could see the lake and Pancake house from the front of the lodge. Our dog loved sitting out on the front steps looking for wildlife in the trees.
Our first surprise was that the rear garden was completely enclosed with a wicker fence, we have never seen this at a Centre Parcs before and we did not see any others on the site with this fencing that were completely enclosed. It was great to be able to let the dog wander in and out of the lodge without having to worry about her escaping and the added privacy was good.
The lodge was in very good repair (as to be expected as it was only a few weeks old) and clean.
As with a lot of hotels etc, we found the bedding quite hot, our twins had been sensible enough to bring cooler sheets with them.

The site is smaller than other CP’s, we could walk the dog around the whole site in about an hour. As mentioned in other reviews it has some quite steep hills, we treated them as a fitness aid, although I could see how they may pose problems to younger/older/less able visitors.
The site is clean and tidy and the staff all seemed friendly. There are still areas where trees and grass still needs to grow.

Eating wise we ate at Hucks one evening and The Pancake House one lunch time. Hucks was very nice, cost us about £90 for 6 main meals and drinks. Most of our party found the pancakes at The Pancake house a bit stodgy.
The Parc market had most of the bits and pieces we required, we did shop off site for some BBQ food.

Swimming was good for our group. We used the Lazy river, rapids and all the tube rides. There are only very small areas of outside pool where you can relax in the water, unless you venture down the first half of the rapids and then there was a larger relaxing area. However there is an outdoor area off of the swimming pool that has chairs and tables that you can sit and relax in.

Overall we had a really good week and would return to this C.P. site.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned home from a four day stay with friends and have to say yes there were a few teething problems BUT with a large project such as this, isnt that to be expected??
The staff were friendly, helpful and professional, we stayed in Birch 671 and the lodge was immaculatey clean, well laid out and very professionally finished.
We had very positive experiences whilst in the swimming pool, climbing, badminton, bike hire and kayaking. Yes there were a few hiccups but I am sure these will soon be ironed out, resulting in a first class experience. Will we go back.....without a doubt.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Woburn is compact compared to other CP great if you don't want to hire bikes, both activity centres in walking distance from each other. Some parts very hilly, we stayed in Maple area which was near to the activities, but far enough away to have some quiet time too. Accommodation was lovely, cleaners friendly. As in previous reviews the subtropical area is small, we went in the evening, didn't have to queue for anything. We did miss the smaller flumes/slides, but the two new 2 and 4 person raft rides were good fun, hold on tight on the 4 person raft!! The cycle park area was less busy too, could do with expanding existing racks. We didn't have any problem with the wristbands, great idea. We only ate out once, we preferred to do extra activities than pay for meals out. Parcmarket had a good choice of food, a bit more expensive than your normal supermarket, but worked out cheaper for us as a family with two teenagers. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We would go to a Woburn again as is nearer for us, but preferred Elvedon overall, purely for the size of subtropical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A3449JSAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have visited CP every year for the past 8 years and tried out Longleat and Sherwood forest both of which we enjoyed very much, so naturally with the opening of a new CP we were interested to try it out! I'll start with the good bits: The restaurants are excellent and well designed, the interior of the villas is much better, the wristbands instead of keys is genius and sadly that's all i can really say that puts it above other CP villages. Now the bad bits: The site is very hilly and there was no indication when booking our villa of the steep hills, the site is much smaller, the pool is APPALLING. There was nowhere to swim, the rapids were small and narrow, the lazy river was to slow, there was no jacuzzi, whirlpool, plunge pool and no real space in the complex. The main pool is a joke as it's far too shallow and feels like you're swimming in a concrete block. During peak times it was very dangerous and crowded. The slides were the saving grace as they were all excellent and were the only reason we went back to the pool. Guest services is a joke they have clearly been told to apologise non stop until the guest gives up! We ordered a 'flying start' package which didn't turn up till 9am the next day! All we got was a unsympathetic 'sorry' and a refund, nothing to go out of their way to make up for it. Bike parking at the village square is a shambles with no room at all, the other areas have just enough with many bikes spilling over. Overall we wouldn't rush back to Woburn but think that the villas are good and the village square is a lot better (minus bike parks), if you have young children then this is would be the place to go due to the compact site and shallow pools. I really would have expected them to learn their lessons from previous parks but i guess not, lastly if you want any sort of customer service from Guest Services then go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stayed in 508, quiet but up steep hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As a family, we have been going to Center Parcs for many,many years and decided to give Woburn a try. There are not too many things to find fault with but those we have, sadly cannot be rectified. First impression of the site is how pretty it is, and also how HILLY it is. Take heed of previous comments to assess where your villa is before getting bikes. As a family, we always use bikes, so it was quite pleasant walking everywhere. The brilliant weather helped. Aqua Sana was a delightful experience for us all and how nice to use a pool you can actually swim in. Which brings us to the biggest disappointment of all. It was awful. Rather like a concrete paddling pool. completely impossible to enjoy a pleasant swim. Far too shallow and the wave machine was a waste of time. Great for young families though. Having said that, both my Grandchildren enjoyed the Tornedo and other boat related rides within the pool. However,
outside rapids were considerably more exciting than Elveden or Nottingham. The only problem being getting on to the rapids themselves. You have to climb over a very high bump and then push yourself along until the force of the water takes you. This is all very well when you are slightly younger, but for those of us who are getting older, but still enjoy the excitement of a ride along the rapids, it is very difficult to get on. It would be very nice to have more seating areas outside the pool for those of us who have used up our energy and would like to watch everyone else. Lack of seating around the site was also disappointing. Especially outside some of the restaurants Dexters etc., We were fortunate enough to have wonderful weather and to sit around would have been very nice. Villas. Generally we found ours to be delightful, just the same as every other villa on the site. Same seating plan, same pictures on the wall no variation whatsoever, or at least we saw none as we walked around. Everyone seemed to have the same lounge, kitchen layout. Whoever thought of that? Also air conditioning would have been great. We found them also not to be very private, as our neighbours bedroom window looked straight onto our patio area, taking away our privacy if we wanted to stay out late talking and eating. Maid service was a little difficult to define. One day the bathroom would be tidied, next day not. Floor not hoovered. Dishwasher not emptied. All a little hit and miss. Having said all this, we enjoyed our week but the swimming pool was hugely disappointing. Depressing to say the least.

Room Tip: Read all the reviews and make your mind up when you get there. Mostly, check situation of villa bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
105 reviews
22.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Mitchell Hall
Mitchell Hall
#2 of 2 in Cranfield
16 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Woburn Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Woburn Forest

Property: Center Parcs Woburn Forest
Address: Woburn Forest | Millbrook, Bedford MK45 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Bedford
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Woburn Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Woburn Forest Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing