We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage for a relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bertie Cottage

Bertie Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bertie Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Bertie Cottage
Lounge
Favourite Chair
Woodburning Stove
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
View form Upstairs
Family Bathroom
Downstairs Twin Room
Snowy Day
Plants on Decking
Ballater from Craigendarroch Hill
Lochnagar from Craigendarroch Hill
Golf Road, Ballater
Church Square, Ballater
Prince Charles's Bistro and Tearoom in the Old Station
River Dee
Ballater Golf Club
18th Hole
11th Hole to Craigendarroch Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

George R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage set in a quiet location within easy walking distance of shops, cafes and restaurants.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and equipped to a high standard and was immaculate on our arrival.
I thoroughly recommend this property for a holiday location in Deeside and we will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bertie Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodiefoo...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 15 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful,cosy cottage with attention to detail,even down to some doggy treats and a lovely Balmoral loaf. Excellent location for cycling, walking and dog walks leaving the car at the door.Had many visits to Ballater this cottage made it one of the best.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Ballater. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J4NEU
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Perfect family cottage in the heart of Ballater”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Bertie Cottage is a beautifully appointed stone cottage in Ballater. The location is superb, within easy walking distance to the co-op and the centre of the quaint village. The cottage comfortably accommodated our family of 4 and grandparents. It is well equipped with all the amenities, comfortable beds, clean, fresh linen and has excellent wi-fi. There are many walks from the front door, one of our favourites was walking up the hill of Craigendarroch oakwoods to be rewarded with beautiful views of Ballater.
We had a very happy stay in Bertie's cottage and if we are ever fortunate enough to be back in this beautiful part of the world, we will book Bertie cottage without hesitation. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Ballater and Bertie Cottage and we hope we can welcome you back soon. Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrJohn51
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Speced up as though it was your own”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

From our booking the owners were keen for us to enjoy our week in Ballater. The level of comfort is uncompromising from the new beds to the sophisticated coffee making facility. In kitting out this place the owners did not go to the second hand places nor auctions of old stuff. Even in August, the heating was set to come on in the morning and evening (so thoughtful), which we had to switch off. Everything was supplied down to the dish washer tablets and washing machine detergent. The owners even left a loaf of bread for our arrival, perfect hosts.
Clearly the philosophy of those dear hosts is one of enjoy this home and area like we do.
We shall return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twocyclis...
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Bertie Cottage is so cosy and comfortable. The furnishings are very tasteful and the house is spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped and everything is very well organised. It is near enough to the village centre for shops, cafes and restaurants but very quiet and peaceful. The garden has a lovely view. Ballater is a great base for walking, cycling and visiting castles and gardens. I have been to many holiday cottages and this up there with the best.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicmontag...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Bertie Cottage...absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a short break in Ballater and were very lucky to be able to book into Bertie Cottage. It is totally gorgeous and absolutely every detail seems to have been considered by the owners to make this the most comfortable and well-appointed holiday home. When we were there the weather was beautiful and we sat in the garden for breakfast and back to sit in the sun for evening drinks - the patio is the perfect all-day sun trap. Loved that we could take our walking boots off at the back door at the bench and boot scraper - neat touch! The interior is pristine, all the home comforts without the clutter, yet very comfortable and immaculately clean. We didn't have our golf clubs but there was a great lockable storage space outside, large enough for clubs and bikes. This was my first stay in Ballater but we will definitely be back to Bertie! Many thanks.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Bertie Cottage.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.