We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and relaxing, excellent food.”
Review of Darroch Learg

Darroch Learg
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darroch Learg
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very accommodating and relaxing, excellent food.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed with our 11 year old daughter for 3 days DB&B. This is a very well run small hotel and we would definitely return. The food was absolutely fabulous and dinner was a highlight with specials added to the standard menu each evening; the wine list was also extensive and Fiona was an excellent host who always made you feel at ease and welcome. She had an easy smile and conversation in the evening and was there, just as bright, in the morning too! Excellent service!

We stayed in room 1, which had a lovely balcolny that we actually got to use as the weather was fairly good when we visited. It gets the sun in morning which was lovely and the views of the mountains (around the trees) were beautiful. Our bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very soundly. The z bed for my daughter was adequate and I do feel many hotels are let down by their inadequate facilities for children. However at dinner and breakfast this hotel went out of its way to cater for an 11 year old and to chat to her and make her feel comfortable which was much appreciated.

Everywhere was very clean and tidy especially our room. There was some damage to the ceiling in the bathroom which had possibly been caused by a leak and was a bit of an eyesore and needed touching up but everywhere else was spik and span. We had a very relaxing time here and the town of Ballater was engaging. A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YY02ywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Yet another gently fading hotel with the tiredness beginning to show. Gutters and rhone pipes blocked and rain spraying down below, the drive with potholes. Mind you, the rooms were spotless and no complaints on that score - nor with the very friendly, cheerful, efficient owner's wife. And did she work ? She certainly did. Her husband whom a hotel guide thought was the consumate host was far from that, he appeared as but a shadow, He watched from afar ensuring no guests would enjojn him in conversation. Few had the opportunity to do so. Only the waiter vied with the owner for reticence as, without a smile he served the guests. However, what should make the owners blush was that the same not quite clean menu was in place for two nights in a row- and probably longer, for all I know. At the price charged, that should not happen. Proves for sure there was no Michelin chef in the kitchen!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveyoubooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed two nights in this hotel, having come up to Ballater to visit family, and with our young daughter now two, tried out a larger room. This beautifully decorated room comfortably fit not only our king size bed (which gave me the best sleep I've had in months - quite something with a toddler sleeping in the same room as us) but also a camp bed for her, two lovely arm chairs and a small sofa, as well as all the normal furniture (i.e. bureau / tv / desk / etc.) The views from the window were astonishing too - all the Cairngorms on the sunny days we had, and the nearer, gently rolling hills with a soft highland mist today as we left.

The Franks welcomed us very warmly, and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay.
Dinner was very high quality food - my steak being the highlight (but I must confess to being a total carnivore), but what really stands out for me is the wine list. My husband decided to(REALLY) splurge and bought a Chave Hermitage 2000 - on the grounds that while it was a lot of money, it was not for a restaurant price. I've just searched, and he's absolutely right. It cost us only £10 more than we could buy it for at a wine merchant - IF they had it in. This is astonishing value in a fine dining restaurant - most would charge over £200, and the cheapest I've found it elsewhere is a restaurant / hotel with a similar policy, the Old Bridge in Huntsbridge (and even there, it was £160). The wine list stretches from these heights down to more regularly affordable levels, with many extremely good wines at £25 or less.

If there's one tiny niggle, which I really only put in so as not to seem too gushing, it's that the bathroom could use a bit of sprucing up. This is very minor, however, and unless you are choosing a hotel for its bathrooms, should not put anyone off.

No fitness centre, or anything like that, but plenty of hills to hike up and trails to run or cycle along, so forget the gym and get outside!

Room Tip: Room 1 with own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FounderBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, ME
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The weather on the way to Ballater was terrible-rain, sleet and finally snow-but the welcome was warm, the fireside cozy and the dog friendly. We had booked a room (Room 1) with a view of the mountains and were not disappointed--when we could see them. Our host/owner was always around and ready to answer any need, provide a snack, recommend things to do and make us feel at home. Dinner was excellent, with a wide choice of locally sourced produce, fish and meats. The wine list is well done and suits the menu. Our only complaint was no internet access (although Blackberry worked fine), something any world-class hotel needs in this age.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Darroch Learg with amazing food and very welcoming staff however we felt the accommodation was massively overpriced for what you got. The room are very dated, cold with a tv that didn't really work. My advise would be to stay at the craigendarroch which at least you have access to leisure facilities and more reasonably priced and book a table in the Darroch Learg for dinner.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m11bdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at the Darroch Learg on a one night dinner, bed and breakfast arrangement. We received an upgrade to a premier room with an outstanding view so I felt that the £230 we paid represented good value. We love quality small country house hotels in beautiful locations and this one certainly hit the mark. I particularly loved the log fire in the sitting room and the sense of complete relaxation I enjoyed during my stay. The food was good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMacGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I have returned with my husband, and now our baby daughter, to this hotel many times, and each time, I return feeling happy. It is not perfect - our bathroom needed a bit of T&C - but the owners (the Franks) care, and that shows in everything they do.

The food is excellent, and the wine list is one of the absolute best in the entire British Isles, and I don't think can be beaten for value anywhere. (I work in the wine industry, so I speak in this case from experience.)

Our bed was very comfortable, and the room a good size, with a fantastic view to Lochnagar. Since the baby monitor's range wouldn't stretch to the dining room, the hotel staff kindly listened for her at reception while we had a peaceful (and delicious) dinner.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FounderBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
6.2 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
13.8 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darroch Learg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darroch Learg

Property: Darroch Learg
Address: 56 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5UX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Darroch Learg 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSED FOR MAJOR RENOVATION UNTIL 2016 A Highland Retreat based on the edge of Ballater in the heart of Royal Deeside. Numerous activities from walking to rock climbing can be organised along with exclusive visits to nearby Balmoral Castle. In the evening guests may enjoy dinner prepared by the 2005 winner of Scotland's Hotel Chef of the Year. This is complimented by the best wine list in Scotland.(as named by The UK Top 100 Restaurant Wine Lists). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darroch Learg Hotel Ballater
Darroch Learg Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing