We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Lui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Lui Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would come back here.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Quaint hotel run by lovely people. The atmosphere is very Scottish. Great views from the front of the hotel you feel away from it all but easy walk into the village. We were in the annexe which was basic but cosy, clean and comfortable. Room was of good size as was the bathroom/shower. Free wifi a bonus. Great fresh breakfast cooked to order. Lovely dinner and nice wine list. If I'd change anything it was the background music. Might be better with the radio on quietly at breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    45
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
54
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel was nice, however rooms quite small. Great food though and the breakfast was very good indeed. At the price I reckon you could get better value elsewhere in the town. My only issue with this nice establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egersund
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you are looking for a nice calm place with lovely and friendly staff with high compliance and very good food this is the hotel you must stay in. I was there for one week fishing salmon at Dee without luck (because of river flood). The restaurant is cosy with a nice view to some old trees, a garden and a golf course next to the hotel The rooms are std average as I think many of Scotland hotels are. Absolutely can be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a 2 night stay in late March. The weather was dreadful - persistent snow and freezing temperatures - but the warmth of welcome at the hotel more than made up for it. Food was excellent - breakfasts, lunch and dinners! The staff were most efficient and friendly - interested in us, our visit and so on. Bedroom was comfortable - if a little cramped due to the big furniture - and the glass door to the en suite made for some sleeplessness when 1 of us when the other needed to "use the facilities" during the night. All of that said, we will - most certainly be back - but, perhaps, ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Check out how much space you need - if you intend spending a lot of time in your room the one we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaE2834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We (two couples) stayed here last summer. It was our favorite hotel in Scotland. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. We had dinner there both nights and loved it. Get their sticky toffee pudding. The hotel is in Ballater which is contains castles, small villages, beautiful scenery, a Scotch distillery, and great walks. Just remember there are stairs up to your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2jo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very welcoming and courteous staff. Food was of a high standard and served elegantly. Views from bedroom and dining room really lovely. Hotel is in a quiet side street, but easily walkable to the town centre. Many longer walks available, some of which we managed in deep snow!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A lovely friendly family run hotel Great staff who are very welcoming & helpful The hotel is very close to the centre of Ballater village & borders the golf course We only stayed one night but had a wonderful evening meal & fantastic breakfast Will return

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
561 reviews
6.1 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
177 reviews
13.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lui Hotel

Property: Glen Lui Hotel
Address: 14 Invercauld Road, Ballater AB35 5PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Lui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lui Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing