We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Lui Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ballater Hostel(Ballater)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld Kirk Hotel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 45(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deeside Inn(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morven Lodge(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
57
55
23
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
55
23
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedining roomscallopsfamily owned hotelmain buildingsingle roomdecking areabackground musicbooked this hotelcooked to perfectionpleasant staythis lovely hotelcairngorm mountainssuperior roomrooms are lovelyhigh standardsteak
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel has the old world charm of a bygone era.... even down to some of the elder residents wearing jacket and tie in the restaurant. However, the location is nearly perfect... out of the way a little from the village centre and main road, but overlooking a beautiful golf course which was deserted... such a shame it looked fantastic, but it's not really practical to carry a set of clubs on a motorbike! The rooms are a little dated, but everything worked OK, and despite a price of £80/night for a double with shower only, my only gripe was the lack of TV channels, especially BBC1 or BBC News 24. The restaurant looked good but was fully booked by a mix of residents and locals (it was a Saturday night), but the "proper" kipper for breakfast was testament to the delights we missed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel have the best views...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My Partner and I stayed here in July for our wedding. We had the four poster suite which was comfortable and luxurious, the towels where gorgeous!! The view from our room was wonderful.

GREAT food, excellent service. We're definitely going back!

Room Tip: The Four Poster Suite is a must if you can!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is run by a family business in which the staff are more than helpful. They make you feel that you are important and they treat you like a human-being. The food is excellent and the rooms are palacial. There is also a brilliant view from every room. My room afforded a panorama of an unspoilt plain leading to low-level mountains. It is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: There is nothing to add.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here last year on the same weekend, so were looking forward to our stay. The room was very basic but clean and comfortable. It was a bit dated and could probably do with a new shower as the seal was broken. The staff were all lovely and very welcoming, the breakfast (full Scottish) was lovely although my partner thought it wasn't as good as last year.We had booked a table for Saturday night in the restaurant and I really enjoyed my venison my partner thought his duck was a bit tough. I followed with sticky toffee pudding mmmm. My partner went for creme brulee he really enjoyed it . Lovely little hotel in a fantastic location would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanedavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here with a small tour group (13). Most of us were put in a motel-like structure outside the main house. There was no room for suitcases. Bed frame did damage to our shins. Mattresses were hard as a rock. Bath was very basic. Very little surface area to put things. Dinner was excellent and host was very personable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whimhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews