We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

The Alexandra Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend at the Alexandra Hotel in Ballater. Staff were very helpful,efficient and friendly . The price was about right for the standard of accommodation -we found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable with windows that could open and allow the cool night air to circulate. Bed linen ,towels and toiletries were lovely and overall the room was very well equipped. Dinner and breakfast were great and we enjoyed a drink and some chat in the bar afterwards.
Thank you for a lovely stay. You are a hard working team and deserve every success.
Best wishes
Christine McGowan

Room Tip: Room 4(twin) looks out to the street . Room 5(Double) at the rear . Both lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorhaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
45
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in quite a few places around Scotland as we booked late in the season. Ballater is a good place (in my opinion) to explore a bit of the Cairngorms National Park. The town is scenic, with shops and cafes. We slept at the hotel one night, our room was in the front but the room was not noisy. The window could opened which I appreciate. The price was good.
Dinner was great, I am vegetarian and pizza is a nice option after a few too many plain cheese sandwiches with side salad. My porridge in the morning was also good.
Best of all, there were local real ales on tap! Also there was parking for our rental vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have been regular visitors to "The Alex" for a while now.
Excellent service, clean rooms, good old fashioned no pretence food and a super atmosphere are the main draws.
Bar area is always a good mix of locals and tourists and makes for some good craik.
Recently added tables and chairs outside so can enjoy a pint and some food in the sunshine.
Keep up the good work Alan and Fee, & see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozyinBolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Graeme and Moira, Thanks again for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Alex, It is always good to see you both up here in ballater. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Ballater sunshine outside on the tables and chairs which are proving very popular. We try our best to make everyone welcome but it's made easier when people are as friendly and out -going like yourself and moira. Look forward to your next visit. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have had a really lovely couple of days staying at this hotel! The owners and their staff were so welcoming & friendly during our stay. Our room was comfortable, clean, quiet and a good size. We really enjoyed our dinner in the bar during our first evening and my husband was impressed with the selection of local ales. Breakfast was served in a bright airy room and was beautifully cooked both days. We felt very at ease staying there, the prices they are charge are very fair (particularly in relation to other local hotels) and we will definitely return when next back in Ballater. Ballater itself is such a charming village with some great little shops, restaurants/cafes, bars and is ideally situated for so many beautiful walks - Scotland at it's best!

Room Tip: Room 5 was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlovesfood934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your supper and our real ale. I know that you were having a weekend rest from the kids but maybe next time we will get to meet them on your next walking trip to Ballater.again thank and it was a pleasure to meet you both. best wishes Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My parents and I happened upon this delightful hotel having been booked into another place that was awful. My Dad found it via google.com. We were on a long distance bike cycle ride with my Mum as support driver. When we arrived at the Alexandra we were given a warm welcome and shown to our rooms, they were immaculate, and very comfortable. The restaurant / bar was excellent and the staff friendly and accomodating. We would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore the South or East Cairngorms and into Kincardinshire/Aberdeenshire.

Room Tip: There are double, twin, and single rooms all with similar amenities. My parents were in a twin and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thankyou so much for your really positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Alexandra when you are next in Deeside. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobermory
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great friendly pub with excellent food, very conveniently located for the shops and Ballater, we stayed around the corner in a self catering property only one minutes walk away. We had three meals during our stay all were fantastic, the staff are friendly and the sticky toffee pudding the best I have ever tasted. We certainly go back again. We stayed one night in the hotel in January and again everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyldaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again and to chat to your friend about my much loved orchids. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meals and we elook forward to seeing on your next visit to Ballater. Our best wishes Fiona and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Went here for dinner having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife and I both had the jumbo Fish and Chips and we were not disappointed. The fish was very well cooked and delicious and the jumbo chips were lovely. Could do with a larger pot of tartare sauce but other then that a lovely meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hi Richard, Thankyou very much for taking the time to review your recent trip to the Alexandra. We are glad you enjoyed the fish and chips. We do try to listen our reviews and I have spoken to the girls in the kitchen and we are now doubling our homemade tartar sauce portion. I hope we see you again next time you are in Ballater. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
5.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
281 reviews
13.9 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auld Kirk Hotel
Auld Kirk Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ballater
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: 12 Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside we are one of the areas leading small hotels offering a warm welcome, friendly service and comfortable accommodation with excellent meals. Eight stylish bedrooms, each individually furnished and decorated, offering single, twin, double and family accommodation. All rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, satellite television and other essential accessories including the personal touches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alexandra Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing