We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alexandra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballater Hostel(Ballater)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld Kirk Hotel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 45(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Lui Hotel(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deeside Inn(Ballater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
68
28
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
28
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscairngorm brewerytown squaremalt whiskyfamily run hotellounge barplenty of hot wateraberdeenshirehillwalkingweehighlands
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Put simply this is a great little hotel. The rooms were cozy, quiet and simple. The bar and restaurant - buzzing with people and the food was hearty. The location is perfect with lovely walks along the Dee and around the village. But the staff...very welcoming in and friendly. Well worth the meander into the countryside!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I decided to take my husband on a surprise weekend away for some heart to heart chat and chill out time and this family run hotel was ideal.
We left Aberdeen in dreadful weather and it took us much longer to get to than we had anticipated due to snow however the staff aware that we may be late stayed back beyond their normal 8.30pm finish to provide us with a hot meal. This was a fantastic gesture considering they then had to brave the snow to get home themselves. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and was so clean and well presented. The rooms were bright and airy and the pillows were to die for.....comfy doesn't do them justice. The food was top notch and very reasonably priced for a hotel in Deeside. All the staff were very pleasant including the owners and made us feel valued and very welcome even though we were only staying for a couple of nights. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone - Full Marks !!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for for taking the time to write this review. I really enjoyed chatting to you both and hearing about your father, who had lived in the village. The team were happy to stay and make sure you had a hot meal after a long journey in the snowy conditions. we all look forward to welcoming you back. best wishes Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was truly overjoyed that I was finally successful in getting booked in at The Alexandra Hotel as I had attempted to do so previously, but it was always fully booked, which is the sign of a good hotel. We were not disappointed and had a fantastic 2 x night break away at this lovely family-run Hotel and did not wish to leave. Fiona,Alan and Fergie were absolutely wonderful and make you feel 100% welcome and are truly genuine people. We had a lovely clean and cosy bedroom with luxury pillows. My wee 'Jack Russell' also loved his stay and was made so welcome as the Hotel is very 'pet-friendly and 'Ernie' entertained the guests in the Lounge Bar later in the evening once dining times had ceased.I can assure you that the owners know how to run a Hotel and carry a wealth of experience,so they obviously paid attention to detail by the 'Dominee' who trained them many years ago!!! Everything is maintained without exception or deviation,truly a first class establishment serving 1st class food with 1st class Hosts offering exceptional value for money and would put many other establishments to shame. Can't wait to return. x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you so much for a superb review. we are highly delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. I have to say it truly was a pleasure to meet you both and not forgetting gorgeous Ernie, whom stole the hearts of us all and certainly entertained our other guests. We look forward to your next visit and wish all three of you a Merry Christmas. best wishes from us all at Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Recommended to us after a business meeting. The bar restaurant tables seemed to be full but the staff did have one left. Had scampi, chips and garden peas with soft drinks. Service was quick and food came hot and was wonderful. No wonder this restaurant was packed. Would definately come here again and will recommend to anyone visiting Ballater.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Of all my reviews this must be the best for staff friendliness. If you are looking for a nice, pleasant unprepossessing hotel in a Scottish town I doubt this can be beaten.
We were on a weeks tour of Scotland and the other 3 hotels consisted of two 4 star and one 5 star hotel. For value, food and the cost this hotel wins.
The room was surprisingly large with nice comfy bed and plenty clothes storage. We ate in the bar both nights and the homemade steak pie was so full of meat it beat me. Second night we had the homemade pizzas, every bit as good as our local Italian takeaway. Breakfast was of the same standard.
There was some minor building work at the hotel which did not disturb us but the owner insisted on a price reduction for the inconvenience. In fact the hotel and town were very quiet at night.
We took the bus, number 201, from the town square to Aberdeen at a cost of £10.50 each way per person, the journey taking around 90 minutes.
If you need any information about the area, the ladies in the Tourist Information Office based in the former railway station know everything. They even remembered the name of a photographic studio from the 1950s!
Deeside is a beautiful area and well worth a visit making a nice change from the west coast. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 1 is towards the rear so may be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

A huge thank you from the team for writing a wonderful review on your recent stay with us, we are delighted you had a great couple days exploring Ballater and Deeside even thou the weather wasn't the best for you. It was really a pleasure to meet you both and if your in Ballater again please do pop in and say hello. best wishes Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews