We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”
Review of Deeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed on a short break, in lovely Ballater. On our arrival we were met by a lovely receptionist, but instead of being shown to our room we were given directions to room 6. The room was ok . There appears to be some issue with house keeping. Remote control was in need of a clean, covered with grim, to some this may not be important. The bathroom was dated, shower not much power & again dated, sink outlet very dirty, had not seen bleach or cleaner.Coffee & milk not replemished following day.When looking at hotel details before booking, the rooms looked great but can't always go by Photo's. Management should check out this room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 677Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

I am very sorry to read your review. I have to say that we pride ourselves on a running a very clean and comfortable hotel so I am surprised and disappointed to hear your comments. Please be assured that this matter has been looked into and more training has been given to a new staff member who was responsible for cleaning your room that day. I can assure you that our standards are typically very high and thank you for alerting me to this fact. Best wishes, Joanna Whysall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Deeside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel....the first was three years ago in June 2011. I decided a return for a couple of peaceful nights was in order as had just returned to work after having a holiday in Tenerife somewhat ruined by the flu plus wanted to escape football fever in Aberdeen! I had requested a room away from noisy kitchen fans and a bath if possible but peace and quiet was what I was craving! On arrival Amy greeted me and advised that she had upgraded me to a double room which was great. The room was ok but the first sight that greeted me was staff smoking below my window and some rusting trolleys....not ideal but nothing I couldn't live with.....however the noisy kitchen fan was a couple of windows away and really annoying. Some people...my husband for instance, are not bothered by fan noises but I am but decided to try to live with it......a wee bit later music started up below me and I packed my bag ready to catch the last bus back to Aberdeen as it would be more peaceful at home! The music was the hotel entertainment...it wouldn't have bothered anyone who was out for the night or who was wanting to sit and enjoy it in the bar. Amy was still on reception and I explained that I couldn't sleep in the room and she showed me room ten which didn't have the entertainment noise but was right above the noisy fan so I couldn't move into it. Bless her she gave me room 17 which didn't have a bath but I said that was ok as it was quiet and that was the main thing! Thanks again Amy you are a star as if I hadn't moved I really would have had to leave! In both of the rooms I found them to be clean, lovely crisp clean linen, nice pillows, towels etc. the only things that let both rooms down were that as in my previous visit I had to clean both kettles and tv remotes.....this seems to be commonplace in most hotels though especially the remote. Also my bed wasn't made or tea and biscuit replenished on the morning of my full day at the hotel....not that this bothered me but may annoy others! The cleaner was in as cup washed and towel moved and toilet roll end folded. On the Sunday evening I was awoken by drunk football revellers outside singing so didnt entirely escape them! The guy in the restaurant at breakfast was very friendly and efficient....cannot fault him! Breakfast at Crerar Hotels is always good....fresh fruit on offer plus an amazing variety of hot food. I didn't have dinner at the hotel this time. All in all things are improved from my last visit and for the price I paid I am more than happy which is in the main due to the actions of Amy who saved the day for me! I will be back as long as I can get a room away from the noise again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank jetice_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here on a 3 day mini break, and couldn't have been more delighted with the hotel in every respect. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and the lounge was extremely comfortable, with a log fire burning every day. We will definitely be returning to this hotel for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nodlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us - my team and I always appreciate it when guests take the trouble to write a review. Please so come and see us again soon. I noticed that you gave us very generous 5/5 score for everything apart from "sleep quality" , which you gave us a 4/5. You must let me know when you come again if there is anything else we can do to improve upon this. With best wishes, Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels in Scotland but if your looking for a warm welcome with great staff open log fires great food then this is the place !! I stay here a lot and always find it a lovely place to stay its so boring working away all the time and can get a little lonely sometimes but the staff here make it feel like a home from home. Cannot say enough about this hotel as the majority in Scotland are just not looked after. So if your looking for coyness in a fantastic setting like ballater then this is the place to stay !!!,

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely with a little lounge I always try and stay in this one as it's realy cosy But...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

What a lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience. It is our aim to be a cosy, warm and welcoming Highland inn and it is lovely that guests recognise that and enjoy it. I am a great team and feel myself very lucky. We hope you will come and see us again and if you do please call us first so that we can try and reserve room 8 for you again. With best wishes, Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a great weekend break here at a very good price.
All the staff were lovely , really friendly and helpful.
The food was excellent, cooked perfectly.
The lounge and dining room are so welcoming and relaxing we couldn't fault anything.
Our room was basic but had everything you need , comfy bed and pillows, coffee/tea making facilities and a TV if you wanted it.
The bathroom was basic but as it had been created from space in the original room we thought they had done a good job fitting it in. The shower water pressure wasn't brilliant but you can still have a shower and the temperature is good.
There is no lift but again we didn't find it a problem at all.
We would recommend this hotel and definitely plan to stay again.
It was a great base for a walking weekend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shonaf186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and am very grateful that you took the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. If you do come to stay again please let me know and I can make sure we find you a lovely room on the front of the hotel with a bath, and, if you prefer, one of the first floor as you are right in saying that we don't have a lift. One or two of our rooms don't have the best water pressure but this is something that we are working on. As you know, there are lots of fantastic walks in this area and if you would like us to arrange a guide or would like some tips and ideas just let us know. With best wishes and looking forward to seeing you again, Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Got a great online 2 night DBB deal at classicbritain.com.

I have previously been tempted with offers at other Crerar Hotels only to be put off by negative reviews and must admit booked with some intrepidation. I'm pleased to say that our experience quickly dispelled this. Right from check-in, everything was great. ALL the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother. The 'Best Available' guarantee on the web booking meant we were upgraded to a Junior suite which although not on the grandest of scales, gave us a seperate small lounge area in which to relax and watch TV. The bar was inviting and had a good selection of beverages. The large residents lounge was cosy and perfect to relax with a book or a drink after your meal.

We had a 2 night DBB offer and on the first night were presented with the inclusive table d'hote menu and the supplementary a la carte. The table d'hote suited us fine and the food was excellent. Second night was a 5 course menu, which again was excellent both in presentation and quality. Breakfast on both mornings was equally enjoyable with no complaints whatsoever. A big thanks to the staff for making our stay so pleasant and if in the area again would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

How lovely of you to write such a wonderful review - myself and my team are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon - but, there are also 12 other excellent Crerar Hotels and now that you have tried one and enjoyed it you might enjoy staying at one of our sister hotels as well. They are all in fantastic locations and are well worth a visit. With very best wishes, Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in room 18 which was a lovely junior suite. The room was of a very good standard clean, comfortable and warm but the bathroom was a bit 'grubby'. I was contemplating of having a bath but decided against it. The staff where all very friendly and attentive. Hat's off to restaurant/bar manager/receptionist/waiter who was on duty that day as he seemed to have his hands full with not much support. Nothing seemed to be too much for him and he is an asset to your hotel. The food at dinner was of a decent standard, good value for money with very generous portions. Unfortunately they ran out of roast beef (the other option being baked salmon) on the set menu but very kindly let my wife (who is allergic to fish) order from the A La Carte menu at no extra cost. I was not so fortunate when I had to pay the supplement for my fillet steak, which I have to say was very tasty. There is a very nice lounge to relax in after your meal or you can go through to the public bar and have a 'pint' with the locals. We both had a very comfortable and sound sleep. Luckily we where on the top floor which has it's pro's and con's. My goodness those stairs are steep, have not had 'thigh burn' in a long time but probably the best of two evils as those floorboards are very squeaky. I know it is an old building and not much can be done but I would not like to have been in the bedroom of the floor below ours. The breakfast service and food was of a high standard as was the checkout. We would definitely return and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor even if you have to pay that bit extra
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Many thanks for your recent review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have rooms on the ground floor, so if you would like to come and stay in the future please let us know so that we can make the necessary arrangements for you. Peter much appreciated your kind comments - this time of year he does tend to end up being chief cook and bottle washer but as you say he does it well. With very best wishes and hoping that you will come back and see us again soon, Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
365 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
277 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
14.2 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deeside Inn

Address: 13-15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deeside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deeside Inn is an authentic Highland inn situated in the picturesque village of Ballater in the heart of Royal Deeside - a few miles away from Balmoral Castle, the Queen's summer home. Only an hour's drive from Aberdeen, this part of the Cairngorms is world famous for its stunning scenery and offers some of the best walking, climbing, mountain biking, river fishing and wildlife watching in Scotland. We can arrange a huge range of outdoor activities on behalf of our guests. The inn itself is welcoming and cosy with open log fires, wooden floors, tartan carpets, comfy tweed furnishings and well appointed comfortable bedrooms. In our Ceilidh bar we offer over 40 Scottish single malts and hearty Highland dishes, and also host fantastic traditional music sessions every other Wednesday. In our brasserie style restaurant we offer an a la carte and grill menu, which feature game, salmon and Highland beef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Deeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deeside Hotel Ballater
Deeside Inn Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing