We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but room needs updating”
Review of Deeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice but room needs updating”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a room on the ground floor which was very handy for getting the bags in and out. The room was generally fine, and I don't usually suggest that a room needs updating if it is reasonable. However, this one seemed to suffer from damp and mould, particularly in the bathroom. This is a cold and wet part of Scotland, but stunningly beautiful, so understandably older buildings have issues. On the upside, the room was quiet, the additional room we had upstairs seemed to be in better condition, and the lounge and restaurant have a lot of atmosphere and are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room and pack light due to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very glad that you enjoyed this part of Scotland. Our rooms on the ground floor are very comfortable but, you are right, that those upstairs have been refurbished more recently. We always offer to carry guest's bags though and have lots of young strapping staff to help out. With best wishes, Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    190
    126
    60
    55
See reviews for
100
357
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overly priced £248 for 2 nights b&b for 2 people the hotel is dull and shabby, the breakfast was average. Rooms in serious need of upgrading. Wouldn't recommend it. There are much nicer hotels & b&bs in the area for a better price. Would we go back? NO!!

Helpful?
Thank needaholday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I was obviously very sorry to read your review. It is important to us that our guests are comfortable and have a positive experience whilst staying with us. We hope that guests find the public rooms cosy and welcoming with the open fires, comfy sofas and the warming tartan and tweeds. I am sorry that we weren't for you but if you ever consider returning to the area why don't you call me and I will arrange for you to stay in one of our lovely front facing rooms. Best wishes, Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballater hotels

perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Chose this hotel for its central location for the wok I had to carry out in the area. Hotel is standard, food is good which is a bonus.. Room I had, I would say mattress was a little on the hard side, but that may be personal choice. One minor point.. there was a slight delay with my sweet coming from the kitchen.. 15-20 min wait for it coming.. waitress did apologise for delay though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyzdiscoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello there, that was good of you to put a review on TripAdvisor for us. I do understand that you find our mattresses a little on the hard side. We have good quality mattresses, which are nice and firm but I would not say hard - however, as you say it is about personal preference. I am sorry about the wait for your pudding - there is no excuse for that. Come and stay again when you are next working in the area. I know that Amy did go and test the mattresses before you arrived this last time to see if we had a softer one for you. If we do we will make sure we have that room ready for you. Best wishes Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

A v warm welcome at reception...and morning staff at breakfast too......the lounge is our favourite place to sit - wonderful!!! A good sized room and bathroom indeed! But....the bath v badly chipped..the bathroom felt cold and clinical...the kettle needs longer cable...the tv is badly placed in front of mirror...a full length mirror is needed in room.....the gents toilet downstairs needs some tlc... All in all not what we expected from a Crerar Hotel....the place needs some loving housekeeping sooon... We will be back tho..love the lounge!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Yes, please please, please come back. I think your comments regarding the room you stayed in are very fair. I am going to do something in that room to make it more convenient to use the kettle and I will also look at putting up a longer length mirror. In some of our rooms we have lovely old fashioned baths but the one in your room does have a few chips and these are in hand to be re enambled very soon. You say that you may come back. Please will you let me know directly when you do so that I can arrange to give you one of our best rooms and also come and say hello to you. Best wishes, Joanna Whysall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for two nights mid week.the room was clean but we were above the kitchen and there was a tree outside the window so you had the dawn chorus which went on continually.On the Thursday night they had a charity quiz for the locals when we came out from the dining room the whole of the residents lounge was full we didn't fancy sitting in the public bar sat outside at reception too cold went to our room and the microphone downstairs was so loud we could hear everything and it went on until 11.0clock . The staff from the receptionist down were very helpful and pleasant at all times .The chefs meals were very good well presented and plates hot.his desserts were excellent.

Room Tip: one away from the back of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zandra1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You would have been welcome to join our quiz - which, we hold just once a month in aid of a different local charity. I apologise, though, if it was a little on the loud side this time. Please do come and see us again. Best wishes, Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2014 - this is a typical small Scottish Hotel - tartan carpets and dark wood - comfy sofas & lots of character. Do not stay here if you want a premier inn or travelodge experience though!
The rooms are clean and perfectly adequate with colour tv & tea making facilities. The en suite shower rooms could do with some hooks or rails for towels, but otherwise no problem.
Without a doubt the food is what sets this hotel apart - great choice & well prepared and presented - we loved it all!
The staff & management were all charming and friendly and helped make our visit to Ballater most enjoyable. We will definitely return to The Deeside Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are cooler as they are not over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was glad to hear that you had enjoyed your food. On that note I am pleased to say that we have a great new chef starting tomorrow, of whom we have high expectations, so our food should just get better and better. Please do come and see us again soon. Many thanks, Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Firstly, on a positive note, we did receive a warm welcome from the Receptionist. In addition, we found the lounge and dining room areas very pleasant to spend time in with traditional Scottish style decor. However, we had booked a superior bedroom and were sorely disappointed in the quality of the room. The fixtures and fittings were basic. The enamel bath was badly chipped, the shower attachment leaked whilst being used. The shelf under the mirror was absent as were the bedside lamp bulbs and the wood surround of the bath was rotten. The walls were badly marked and needed cleaning and repainting. All these faults gave the room a somewhat 'tatty' appearance. We did not feel happy to use the wardrobe or chest of drawers provided, preferring to keep our clothes in our suitcase. Furthermore, the large window overlooking the cycle hire and children's play area had no privacy afforded by a blind, if we drew the main curtains the room was in total darkness. It was all unsatisfactory. Finishing on a positive, the breakfast the next morning was well presented. in a very pleasant room and the food was very nice cooked and tasty. We will never revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, General Manager at Deeside Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I am genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay - but appreciate the positive comments you made. I would like to thank you for your constructive comments and I am going address them all. Best wishes, Joanna Whysall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
13.8 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
14.2 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deeside Inn

Property: Deeside Inn
Address: 13-15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deeside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deeside Inn is an authentic Highland inn situated in the picturesque village of Ballater in the heart of Royal Deeside - a few miles away from Balmoral Castle, the Queen's summer home. Only an hour's drive from Aberdeen, this part of the Cairngorms is world famous for its stunning scenery and offers some of the best walking, climbing, mountain biking, river fishing and wildlife watching in Scotland. We can arrange a huge range of outdoor activities on behalf of our guests. The inn itself is welcoming and cosy with open log fires, wooden floors, tartan carpets, comfy tweed furnishings and well appointed comfortable bedrooms. In our Ceilidh bar we offer over 40 Scottish single malts and hearty Highland dishes, and also host fantastic traditional music sessions every other Wednesday. In our brasserie style restaurant we offer an a la carte and grill menu, which feature game, salmon and Highland beef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Deeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deeside Hotel Ballater
Deeside Inn Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing