We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden Gem ....”
Review of No 45

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
No 45
Ranked #4 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a hidden Gem ....”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel No45 at Ballater
A small 8 rooms Victorian house hotel on the A93Breamar road, it’s just a few miles away from the Balmoral castle and that is manly the main destination for that area .
The hotel is recently partly renovated , the rooms are big enough and very nice with a comfortable bed ,a new modern and clean bathroom , the restaurant is actually in the veranda and has nice garden views , the owner himself Mr. Gordon is the chef in the kitchen ,he provided an excellent high quality dinner during our stay .
We really recommend this hotel when in the area but it need to be booked long in advance as it seems to be very popular and almost the only one in that area.
Eddie & Annie - Belgium

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst touring around Scotland. Tea and cake was served in the afternoon which was a nice touch. We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was tastefully decorated. The only down side in our opinion was that the sink was in the bedroom and not in the en suite bathroom. The shower was fabulous. Very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking the beautiful gardens. A good choice of fruit, porridge, cereal, toast and cooked options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Six of us booked three double rooms for one night, and also booked for the optional dinner. As we wanted to have a good walk up Craigendarroch we arrived by lunchtime to find our rooms were ready and it was lovely to be welcomed so warmly despite being four hours early for normal booking in time at 4.00 pm. Another bonus was to be told that afternoon tea would await our return with freshly baked scones, cream and jam! The hotel has a very large conservatory at the rear which we enjoyed sitting in to take the complementary afternoon tea, and the scones were delicious. The owners have done much work to ensure the hotel, which they refer to as a guesthouse, is well kept and presented. It is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and furnished, with truly comfortable beds, and lots of nice touches like quality bathroom products, in-room tea and coffee, and TV. Our rooms had ensuite bathrooms that had been recently upgraded, and one couple had the newly refurbished and enlarged ground floor bedroom, which was all new. Our dinner was served in the conservatory, and was a tour de force that could have been found in a top class restaurant. Two choices for each course that we ordered earlier in the day were freshly cooked, excellently presented, and simply superb to taste. Limited but good choice of wine, with coffee to finish. All this for £150 paper couple plus alcoholic drinks seems excellent value. We would whole heartedly recommend No 45 to any one visiting the Cairngorms or Balmoral, which is only a few miles away.

Room Tip: Our impression is that all double rooms are excellent, with king size beds, or a four poster double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pewterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This accommodation was one of the more expensive that we stayed in while touring around the UK. but it didn't take long to realise that the extra £20 per night was well worth it! A warm greeting, a cup of tea and the best brownie I have eaten in the lounge, quality towels and toiletries, real glasses instead of plastic disposable cups. And let me tell you about the porridge - who knew that porridge could be this good? Porridge with cream, honey and Drambui! Amazing! Simply the best I have ever had - thank you!

Room Tip: If there is a vacancy it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
6.1 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
347 reviews
13.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
13.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
186 reviews
9.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 45

Property: No 45
Address: 45 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No 45 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 45 is a 4 star Good Hotel Guide listed guest-house on the outskirts of Ballater. A large Victorian house set in walled gardens and with original features such as pitch pine staircase and open fire. It has a traditional Scottish feel with tartan carpets, stag's head and plenty of leather chesterfield sofas for relaxing. It is a short stroll to the River Dee and to the many shops and cafes in the town. All rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your No 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 45 Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing