We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cafe!”
Review of Bean for Coffee?

Bean for Coffee?
Ranked #3 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a local family-run cafe, a hit with locals and tourists alike. We endeavor to provide quality homemade food at a price to suit everyone. Local staff who know the area are on hand to provide a fast, friendly service to all. We can provide anything from our menu to eat on the premises or to take away. Come and see us, we look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

"Bean for Coffee" is a wonderful coffee shop to go for a relaxed vibe ... Especially during this great summer as it has the best location for sitting outside and watching the world go by!
From someone who has worked in food and beverage. It is a relief to see not only a friendly family run Cafe, with polite and hardworking staff. But also a clean environment with attention to detail.
The food is freshly prepared and always tasty ... Yummy home baking ... Great coffee ....
Will defiantly continue to visit Sue, Jack and the rest of the team.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C, Owner at Bean for Coffee?, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thanks for reviewing us.

Nice to hear that everything is appreciated, and we really appreciate you coming in to see us.

Look forward to seeing you next time.

Cheers, Jack. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited Ballater over the wknd & decided to go for lunch at this place after reading reviews stating this was the best place in ballater! Yes the coffee was nice but the food was nothing to rave about, fine for what it was but for the price I did expect a bit more. Also we decided to sit inside, so ordered food & went to table. If I had seen more of the inside before ordering I would have left!!! The tables beside us were filthy, there was trampled food on the floor, overall it just looked grubby. After passing and looking at some of the other cafés & coffee places in the village we def made the wrong choice going here. No we wouldn't go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vicky f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C, Owner at Bean for Coffee?, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for your review.
Im dissapointed that you didnt enjoy your time with us. It is not acceptable for tables not to be cleared down, however you must appreciate that we try our best to do so. I have ordered new flooring for the cafe which will certainly help the appearance of our interior, again please understand that we serve many many customers in a day and our floor gets a hard life.

With regard to our food and prices, we make everything by hand, from scratch, on the premises, with the best ingredients we can source and our pricing is better than competitive compared to other eateries in Ballater.

Tripadvisor can be a double-edged sword, as a business' rating nears the top of the list it can create an over inflated sense of expectation. We are a small cafe which doesn't pretend to be anything that we are not, however we are proud of what we do and i feel that we deserve better than a poor rating.

I can only apologise that we did not fulfil your expectation and i'm dissapointed that you will not return.

Thankyou anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A very clean and friendly cafe with outside seating opposite the green. Lovely cakes and the freshest sandwiches and fillings. A pleasant place to people watch and recommended.

Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C, Owner at Bean for Coffee?, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Glad you enjoyed your coffee, thanks for the review, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stopped for lunch here on our way from Inverness to Aberdeen.....the scones were amazing..... fresh and tasty....would definitely recommend to anyone visiting or passing through Ballatar.

1  Thank jigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C, Owner at Bean for Coffee?, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for the review, our scones are made fresh every day (often twice a day) really glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to seeing you next time youre passing through Ballater.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Enjoyed lovely coffee and lemon cake and sat outside enjoying the sunshine. Scones also looked lovely. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tainshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack C, Owner at Bean for Coffee?, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi, thanks for your review, im happy to hear that you visited us for the duration of your stay in Ballater, I remember when you were in we had some cracking weather, which always helps. Glad that everything you tried was to your liking and look forward to seeing you again.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bean for Coffee? also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Bean for Coffee?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing