We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings on the edge of Ballater. Only downside was a Mediterranean (possibly Spanish) receptionist who seemed lovely but her English was so bad that we couldn't understand most of what she said. The room was great and having the small kitchen area with a fridge was such a great idea and meant that there was real milk for the complimentary tea and coffee supplies rather than that awful UHT 'plastic' milk.

The bed was really comfortable and the pillows felt good quality too. Free wifi and internet access via the tv were also nice additions if you needed them.

The facilities were there for us to use, well equipped gym, lovely pool, table tennis, snooker, squash...so plenty to choose from.

The lounge/bar was inviting and comfortable and the food was great, well cooked, well presented and very reasonably priced.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcake280768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    108
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
119
347
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Last here late 2010 when it was still a hotel and offered rooms. It is now purely a 'timeshare' establishment and accommodation is in suites or lodges.
On this occasion we were fortunate to have been given use of a friend's lodge as they were unable to use it. The lodge was like a home from home, spacious and furnished to a high standard with great views towards the river and distant mountains.
Since we were last here it would appear that the whole place has been upgraded - restaurants, pool and leisure facilities, bar, etc.
Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The resort is unashamedly a timeshare location and do not hide from this. However, there is no hard sell and the only approach we had was 2 cards through our letterbox - which we decided not to take up/ignore.
Used the pool each day and the facilities were excellent - both in cleanliness and pool temperature.
Ate in the Brasserie where the service and food were very good and at a reasonable price.
The resort lies on the outskirts of the village and the centre is reached a 15 minute walk downhill. A little longer on the way back!
If our friends are unable to use their lodge again we will be back ..........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The resort offered nothing less than 1st class service the staff where superb - Our suite was of a very high standard (luxury) we did managed to view other suites all were presented to high luxury standard I can highly recommend this resort & we will be retuning asap !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Suites is part of Hilton the Hilton Grand Vacations Club timeshare group. We went on a package deal, two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The price was attractive, the opportunity cost being that you had to attend a 2 hour pitch for the timeshare offer. We were so impressed by the property - high quality suite, most comfortable, very good service, good food and drink at reasonable prices, pool, gym, etc - that we took the proposition more seriously than we expected to. In the end we decided against - at my age (70) the amortised cost is uneconomic, particularly taking annual fees into account, and the other properties in the group are in places we probably wouldn't go to. However it might work for others. Just read the contract very carefully. That said, we would recommend Craigendarroch. The countryside is beautiful, it's close to Balmoral and other castles. We would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having stayed at Craigendarroch for the past 7 years and mainly self catered, this year was the first time without teenagers for a few days. Having looked at the reviews on here, we decided to try the Restaurant and found the food,value, atmosphere & staff all to be very good, verging on excellent. However, once joined by our 15 year old nut allergic son, we found we had to eat elsewhere (in other Ballater establishments!). The menu stated all items which contained nuts but also that nuts were used in the kitchen so they could not guarantee anything was nut free! I decided to ask a member of staff and was told that even if they knew someone had an allergy they could not guarantee they would not cross contaminate the food. Very disappointing after enjoying the food on several occasions!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie9698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a premier one bed suite, the quality of the room was as good as any high end hotel we have stayed at.
We stayed as part of their marketing package, this required attendance at a two hour sales presentation, we were pleasantly surprised that we were not given the high pressure sell, but were given the facts on suite ownership and made a decision that their offering was not suitable for us but it was an attractive offering
Staff and restaurant very good and leisure facilities also excellent, topped off by local countryside with views to die for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mottram cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We came here a long time ago and thought the area and resort was beautiful . We are 'victims ' of the timeshare scam how wrong are these people who have no idea what the past 25 years of timeshare ownership have brought us .we own 3 weeks at aviemore and have rarely been back but swopped our time there for experiences all over the world?we have never felt undersold and have had 10 bedded villas in Orlando for our simple lodge swop at home .this lodge here was amazing ,but the facilities were top notch too the food in the Keiller lounge and restaurant was the best in the area and such good prices no wonder the place was packed every night ( they may need a bigger one).the staff all on top form and nothing was too much trouble ,welcome pack and fresh milk,,and all sorts of household bits .well done craigendarach

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank micklees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
6.2 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.3 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
23.0 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Address: Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian country house, the hotel features beautiful studios, one and two bedroom suites with carefully-considered amenities, including Wi-Fi and 32-inch TVs. Enjoy the resort's indoor pool, various sports courts and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations At Craigendarroch Suites Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing