We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was fantastic. Very close to town and reasonably priced food and beverages. Suite 17 is First Class-- 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath. Fully stocked kitchen with everything you need. All appliances are new and perfect working order. The room is very nicely decorated and feels like your home. It was the perfect stay in the Cairngorms/Highlands for our adult family of 5.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank rivasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and me visited this spa hotel complex for a couple of days in midweek. The staff and facilities are excellent. The restaurant is excellent with a varied choice including several gluten-free options. The dishes were very well presented and perfectly prepared. We had also intended to try one of the local restaurants but the quality of the hotel restaurant changed our focus, particularly due to the scope of the gluten-free menu. The bar area was a little disappointing in that the room is very large and therefore lacks ambiance when only a few people are present after 9:30pm. The staff however are very attentive, friendly and informative. The bar food presentation was very good and I seriously considered a bar meal over the restaurant on the second night, however the variety and excellence of the restaurant experience won the day. The hotel complex is set in large grounds with time-share lodges set at intervals. There are many maintained walks to choose from. The Balleter location is spectacularly beautiful, very quiet and close to Balmoral/Braemar, with Aberdeen an hour's drive away (40 miles). I left very relaxed, possibly due to being in bed by 11:30 which is unheard of for me. I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Andyclift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent 3 Nights here & it was superb the rooms are stunning & the price of food in the Restaurant was very reasonable.While we were here we took a tour of Balmoral Castle the Queen's Scottish Residence also Royal Lochnagar whisky distillery & Ballater old Royal train station where Queen Victoria's original carriage in which she made her journey's to Balmoral is housed.If like me you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank ScotlandDunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A lovely location with very spacious and comfortable suites - that lack charm, sadly. The members lounge in particular is a catastrophe - a lovely old room with soulless Hilton fittings. Bring in some nice comfy antiques and a bit of atmosphere! The porridge at breakfast (with honey, bananas and blueberries) was to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful vacation in Scotland, basing ourselves here in Hilton Craigendarroch for six nights. We stayed in lodge 35, a one bedroom lodge.

The anticipation of our stay began when the hotel signaled us a packet with an arrival form. For a charge, they would stock the fridge with a preset list of groceries, have milk and bread delivered daily, etc. We ultimately declined but this was a nice service. They also included a summary of the events of the week, which was nice to see and plan for days that we would plan to be local.

We flew into Aberdeen airport and had no problems driving to Ballater with the aid of a GPS (although driving on the left side took some getting used to).

Ballater itself is such a lovely little village. We stopped at the local grocery store (the cooperative food) and bought some groceries to make simple meals and breakfast. We were delighted to find so many local products for sale and found out that they tasted fresh and amazing as well: local eggs, Aberdeenshire Angus beef, Scottish salmon, etc. (I could go on and on about how awesome the food quality is!) There is also an excellent butcher shop as well.

Check in was simple and sure enough the lodge was equipped with everything we needed. For the two of us, there was plenty of space to spread out. From the entry, there was a short hall leading to the living room with the bedroom and bathroom off of this hallway. Bedroom and bathroom are adjacent.

We were completely at home here. I loved cooking our version of an English breakfast every morning, also with a few meals. There are plenty of outlets; we brought adaptors and power strips for all our gadgets. While they do charge for electricity usage at check out, I didn't find it too unreasonable (15£ for 6 nights). We did switch off the water heater after showering and doing dishes so that may have helped. We set off the smoke detector by accident the day we were leaving but they sent someone promptly to reset the system.

We went to the welcome reception the Monday we were there; they introduced the various activities offered and the vendors that led them. We joined in on the scotch tasting that very evening and it was very informative and enjoyable. (We also learned about the Royal Lochnagar Distillery nearby, which was an excellent visit.)

While we were at the welcome reception, we spoke with Elizabeth, one of the sales staff who was so personable. We declined the presentation because of our schedule, which we decided to go to Loch Ness the next afternoon. We ended up walking around Ballater the next morning and she spotted us and got out of her car to offer us her GPS in case we didn't have one! That really was so nice!

We ate in both the Keiler lounge as well as in the restaurant for steak night. Food was good and prices were reasonable.

Wish I had time for the pool and sauna! Even with the long evenings that extended daylight till 11pm, I didn't have enough time in Scotland.

I would definitely recommend Hilton Craigendarroch! They truly made it easy for us to have a great vacation!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel excellent but staff very unfriendly except the two Scottish receptionists the dark haired one and the blonde one. Also too many corridors and lifts to negotiate. But overall it is a great hotel ad suites are out of this world. Lovely scenery and locals in the village of Ballater are very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First class accommodation and facilities. Friendly staff and good food at a reasonable price. I highly recommend a stay at the Craigendarroch. The setting is lovely and there is plenty to interest all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
9.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
298 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
669 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
410 reviews
13.3 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites

Address: Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballater
Price Range: £118 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian country house, the hotel features beautiful studios, one and two bedroom suites with carefully-considered amenities, including Wi-Fi and 32-inch TVs. Enjoy the resort's indoor pool, various sports courts and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations At Craigendarroch Suites Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing