We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Blueskyes4ya
San Diego, California

Royal Deeside Splendor

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2023
Surrounded by the ancient forest in Northern Scotland, little birds flit around the trees and squirrel feeders entertain! The Royal village of Ballater is only a 10 minute walk away. We drive in search of the Heilan Coos and there it wasn't long before we found some! Balmoral Castle is 8 miles away and we came upon it as we drove the back road. This is a beautiful spot. The Lodge that we stayed in is equipped with everything you need to prepare a meal, snuggle up with a good book, watch some television and have a nice quiet night. We slept well here. All the comforts of a grand hotel! We will be back!
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 1 - King Size Four Poster with En Suite Shower
Tripadvisor
£187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £135
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Deeside Inn Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
sunny days
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
3.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
£187
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £150
  • Algotels
6.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ballater
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom suite excellent resort high standard no air conditioning steam room time share continental breakfast leisure facilities main building excellent facilities steak night balmoral castle first class three nights living area table tennis beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Just back from 4th visit to this resort and as usual accommodation great.As usual went to the restaurant for dinner.worst experience yet,meal served up quickly and tasted very nice.decided to have another glass of wine and a dessert .tried numerous times to attract attention of server which proved impossible. After dinner had been placed on table no further Interest shown in us,plates not even cleared from table so decided to abandon wine and desert,payed up and left

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023

Highly recommend this resort near Ballater, Scotland. We stayed in a suite the size of an apartment. Historic home that has been converted to a resort. Beautiful bedroom, comfortable king sized bed, huge bathroom with large shower and soaking tub, huge living room with a dining nook and small kitchen counter. Everything was great quality like thick large towels, down pillows and duvet, hardwood and tavertine floors, high ceilings with beautiful molding, quality comfortable furniture, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great bar and dining options. This area is near Balmoral Castle, spectacularly beautiful scenery, lots of great places to walk, also able to drive to Loch Ness and Culloden in a day trip or to the west coast of Scotland. Ballater has lots of shops, a grocery, pubs and a nice visitors center for travel information.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank VJHinesley2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023

Getting to our suite was a real pain because the building is on many levels with lifts only going to certain floors. As a Blue Badge holder this was very frustrating.

The suite itself was beautiful, especially the bathroom, although the kitchenette was basic.

The two ice machines closest to our suite were out of order and the third was a trek away from our room. Under these circumstances, ice delivery to our suite would have been nice.

The laundrette facilities were excellent.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank Sarah Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

Beautiful location. Nice facility. The suit we were in was roomy and well furnished. Some of the facilities, swimming pool etc were closed for refurbishment. We found some of the stopped poorly trained. As an example my wife ordered Halibut for simmer and wanted it cooked pink. The waitress told us that under health and safety rules they could not not serve it pink until we insisted that she had a word with the chef. And of course there was no issue to cook and serve to our liking. Reception staff are evasive and unhelpful. The hotel policy is, check out at 10:00 and check in at 4:00. Tough luck if you arrive early ! And don’t expect to have breakfast in a restaurant. The only option is a small delivery (photo attached) in your room and no fresh coffee or tea. Oh coffee powder is part of the delivery. This is how one would like to start the day!!!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 107abdulq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget MacAlister, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2023

Sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as we would hoped in our self catering suites. Your request for your halibut to be cooked pink is not one our food & beverage team come across on a regular basis therefore the hesitancy on behalf of the staff member. I have passed on your comments regarding their response to our food & beverage team to take onboard for future enquiries. I can only apologise for your interactions with our Front Office team as they are usually very helpful and have a wealth of local knowledge etc. between them. As a self-catering resort we currently offer brunch in the Keiller Lounge between 10am and noon. Anyone wishing to eat earlier is offered the option of a continental breakfast delivered to their room where there are facilities to make coffee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023

The Hilton was amazing people were very kind and helpful the hotel it’s self was very clean the spa and pool were closed we were informed. The suite we had was lovely we chose to use the restaurant and were not disappointed,would highly recommend and would love to stay again

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank margaretodiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews