We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Leslie A
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom

Excellent stay highly recommended

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2023
A warm welcome, great location, amazing suite and amenities with very helpful staff. A credit to the Hilton brand. The Craigendarroch is set on the outskirts of Ballter and close to Balmoral and all local amenities. Perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 1 - King Size Four Poster with En Suite Shower
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Official Site
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Deeside Inn Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £175
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
3.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
sunny days
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£135
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    £130
  • Vio.com
6.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.8 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
View more hotels in Ballater
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom suite excellent resort high standard no air conditioning steam room time share continental breakfast leisure facilities main building excellent facilities steak night balmoral castle first class three nights living area table tennis beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2023

Our room smelled like it had been freshly painted. Contacted the front desk and they informed us it had been painted the day before. The windows were completely closed allowing none of the smell to dissipate. The paint smell was extremely strong, bordering on unbearable. Their only solution give to us was to open the windows

The front desk was unable to even offer free drinks or dinner due to no management on site and the hotel was fully booked. Upon return home, we put in a complaint with Hilton asking for a refund. The front desk claimed there was only a "mild" smell which was COMPLETELY FALSE. Ultimately given a 20% discount which was unsatisfactory given the strength of the smell and inability of the front desk staff to provide any support

This completely ruined our experience in what is a beautiful hotel

Room tip: Don't expect any support if your room smells like paint
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

My first time staying here. The room was beautiful. You felt you was walking in to luxury. The staff where very pleasant and accommodating, nothing was to much trouble. The gym and the pool was top notch. The pool looked immaculate. Can’t wait for the next time.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank andrewduncan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Great meal this evening in the restaurant. Lucie was fabulous and gave us great recommendations on what to do close by. Lovely check in by a lady short blonde hair working on reception 14/10/23 during day to night. Perfect room with an overall great stay. Will be back soon!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2023

Surrounded by the ancient forest in Northern Scotland, little birds flit around the trees and squirrel feeders entertain! The Royal village of Ballater is only a 10 minute walk away. We drive in search of the Heilan Coos and there it wasn't long before we found some! Balmoral Castle is 8 miles away and we came upon it as we drove the back road. This is a beautiful spot. The Lodge that we stayed in is equipped with everything you need to prepare a meal, snuggle up with a good book, watch some television and have a nice quiet night. We slept well here. All the comforts of a grand hotel! We will be back!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank Blueskyes4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Just back from 4th visit to this resort and as usual accommodation great.As usual went to the restaurant for dinner.worst experience yet,meal served up quickly and tasted very nice.decided to have another glass of wine and a dessert .tried numerous times to attract attention of server which proved impossible. After dinner had been placed on table no further Interest shown in us,plates not even cleared from table so decided to abandon wine and desert,payed up and left

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews