We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Graham P
Bromborough, United Kingdom

Brilliant resort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2024
The location is good nestling alongside the walkable Craigendarroch hill, and just a mile or so from the lovely little town, Ballater. The resort is attractively set out and the main building with the suites and facilities is very good. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful and our suite was fantastic. Brasserie is nice and food generally very good. Nice lounge bar also. Overall it’s a great place and we’ll be back when we are able.
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 1 - King Size Four Poster with En Suite Shower
Tripadvisor
£187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.7 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Deeside Inn Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £175
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
3.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free parking
sunny days
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    £130
  • Algotels
6.2 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.8 miles from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Craigendarroch Suites Scotland
View more hotels in Ballater
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
592
184
69
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom suite excellent resort high standard no air conditioning steam room time share continental breakfast leisure facilities main building excellent facilities steak night balmoral castle first class three nights living area table tennis beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

My suite was luxurious, the pool was a very good temperature, the locker room was secure, and the food was outstanding as was the service of the front desk, F&B, and the pool area! My next time to Craigendarroch Suites Scotland cannot be too soon.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank D8171ZZroseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Whilst staying at a house on Balmoral we thought we would pay for the family to use the pool for the week.
The pool and cafe was lovely. Restaurant staff were helpful. However the pool reception staff were awful. Obviously require front of house training. Not one smile on any of there face when approached for information or help. On one occasion the girl was extremely rude. Sorry but will not be back until you train your staff on how to help and speak to people

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 938juliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

As a loyal Diamond member of Hilton Honors programme it pains me to write my one and only negative review of a Hilton experience. Our weekend visit was totally overshadowed by the fact that we could not check-in until 16.00 pm and we’re kicked out at 10.00 am on the day of departure. This ate in to our time on the Friday and Sunday significantly. Excuse given by the receptionist included “…we’re not a hotel”. Also, no cooked breakfasts were available. None of this was mentioned when booking via the Hilton app. Strangely, I never received a request to provide a review of my stay directly from them on this occasion!!

Room tip: Lots of other hotels in the area offering much better value.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bobb568
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

Really good stay but could have been better. Hotel was excellent and really well decorated for Christmas. Lobby was well presented and staff were welcoming.

Doors into main entrance and heavy to open as we had a pram and a young child as well as bags. Wouldn’t be easily accessible by wheelchair but does have a ramp.

We were given room 9 on the first floor which is accessed via a lift and then 3 separate flights of stairs. Having seen we had a baby, pram, bags and a 2 year old we were given this room. We couldn’t get the pram through the door without unfolding it so it was really really unhelpful to be given this room and the staff should clearly have known this.

We changed rooms and had to move everything to the 3rd floor which was a nicer room and more accessible.

The room was nice and well laid out and decorated to a high standard. We were in room 32 and I would stay here again. The hotel doesn’t serve breakfast. We had dinner in the bar and the food was of a pretty poor standard but we were hungry. I asked to have food from the restaurant menu served in the bar as we had kids as did our friends but was told it wasn’t possible.

The bar service was poor and we cleared our own table a couple of times. No beer on draught due to an issue that would take a week to resolve I was told.

The hotel was nice enough but the staff really need up the game.

Room tip: Avoid room 9. Hard to get to and a view of a roof. Ask for room 32/33 reasonable view and accessible.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PaulDoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

The suites are quite wonderful for furnishings and comfort and the surrounding countryside. Check-in was a little slow, there were 2 staff on duty with 4-5 other parties waiting in a queue to check-in. I had a 1 bedroom suite with a "mini kitchen" and was disappointed to hear that the kitchen had no cooking equipment save for a microwave. Having bought fresh meat and produce with us, it was not a great way to start. I had (what I would call) a partial kitchen (microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and sink) so do be careful when booking to make sure your kitchen layout matches your expectation. The staff loaned me a slow cooker so made soup from high quality beef and chicken (not ideal but at least not wasted).

The Country Club looked very new and quite good facilities and a large pool but we were there for the walking and outdoors so did not make use of it. The bar was quite pleasant and very spacious however when people ordered the fish and chips, you knew about it! The fish odour was not pleasant so we visited once only. We were also disturbed one evening by 2 false fire alarms and had to stand outside while the Fire Brigade conducted their inspection. I was then told that this was not unusual so I hope they sort out their fire alarm system soon.

An enjoyable stay but fair to say it was not quite what I had hoped for.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank RichieLH-Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews