We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schoolhouse Ballater
Ranked #12 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The School House is a really well restored place sensitively done by the current owners. The place was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and warm, each room having an ensuite with decent showers. Cathy the owner is friendly and has the unique quality of being attentive yet not intrusive which made my family's stay for the weekend (for a wedding) that bit extra special, we filled all the rooms and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this guesthouse and will be returning as soon as I can get back up to the beautiful town of Ballater.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags86ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just a great find in town. Stayed here while running the Trail Race at Balmoral Castle.
Cathy was just so nice and the place was very clean. We had the triple at the top of the stairs and was just perfect for three. Plenty of room for everyone.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided on a short break to Ballater, with the dog. So a quick review of Tripadvisor brought up the Schoolhouse. The reviews were great so we booked.
Great decision, it's in a beautiful place with off street parking. The room was really big for the 3 of us plus the old dog. Son delighted with bunks and claimed the top one. All linen bright white and very clean. Shower room great too with a decent shower and hot water!
Breakfasts fantastic, our hosts cooked them to order and a lot of places could really learn how to cook decent bacon from Cathy. Hot chocolate was offered and gladly accepted by the youngster! The porridge on Sunday was apparently excellent, but I went for the offer of Hot Cross Buns being Easter Sunday and they were great.
Very easy to walk anywhere - the golf course, river, town centre adn your hosts will help with any queries on the area.
We recommend and will most likely go again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog ask for room 5, french doors straight into garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Schoolhouse B&B was a great find, we highly recommend it. Very welcoming and friendly, large comfortable rooms, with lots of original features and wonderfully decorated.
The location is very quiet, and away from busy roads and it's still only a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Ballater, with its many shops, cafes and restaurants. The B&B is also very warm, whilst it's a traditional house with all the charm you would expect, it has been renovated and highly insulated, so the house was warm and comfortable throughout and meets great environmental standards - important if you are visiting in winter (walking, skiing and lots more) as Ballater enjoys clear, crisp and cold Scottish air! It is awarded as a Green Tourism B&B.
Ballater is a superb charming place to stay - The Queen's residence at Balmoral, superb walking from the B&B and nearby Lochnagar and other mountains, cross country skiing and downhill skiing just at Glenshee. It's very unspoilt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytrippp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My brother's family and mine stayed here overnight recently (2 families with 2 adults and 2 kids each). We were able to obtain 2 x 4 person rooms side by side with a lovely living area in between with a fireplace and comfy couches. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and warm with a large double bed and bunks for the kids. Cathy and Alan were fantastic hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ballater is a lovely location. This is probably some of the nicest family accommodation I have stayed in. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had booked into this B&B and wanted to bring our daughter's 5 yr old Beagle along on our road trip from Edinburgh. We called ahead and asked Catherine who said no problem at all. On arrival we found a lovely converted school house with very confortable rooms, a great breakfast and friendly Scottish hospitality. The beds were very comfortable and the house was lovely, clean and light.

Would defintley recommend this to anyone and look forward to visiting there again.,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Satying at the School house was a great way to spend the second night in Scotland. Large room with comfotable bed. Cathy and Alan were extremily friendly and welcoming during our stay. The food was great. When traveling through Ballater this is a mustplace to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billvaubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballater hotels
0.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
598 reviews
5.9 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
No 45
No 45
#4 of 17 in Ballater
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ballater
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Ballater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Ballater

Property: Schoolhouse Ballater
Address: Anderson Road, Ballater AB35 5QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Ballater 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoolhouse provides exceptional accommodation for couples, families and friends. Stylish yet very comfortable, visitors from all over the world will feel relaxed and welcome. Children are well catered for with and the family rooms are spacious with safe and comfortable bunkbeds. Double beds are super king size with luxurious bedlinen and all rooms have en-suite facilities with wonderful showers. There's a lounge with giant sofas and the fire is often lit in the evenings. With hard wood and bamboo flooring throughout, Schoolhouse is fresh and clean and there's a large garden and car park.Owners Cathy and Alan speak French and German and Cathy is a storyteller, so Scottish stories by the fire is a popular attraction. Schoolhouse is a great place to sleep and a great place to stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Ballater Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing