We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the Monaltrie from the Bridge of Dee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Monaltrie from the Bridge of Dee
Main entrance Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of the Monaltrie from the Bridge of Dee
Main entrance
Gardens
Kitchen and living area
Living room area
Master bedroom with ensuite
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom with shower and bath
View from the dining area and the twin bedroom
The village green.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
retiredla...
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was outstanding, it had all the amenities and more besides. The view, location and parking were excellent. We had a great time during our week in Ballater.
Audrey could not have been more helpful and kept the apartment pristine.
We had a meal at the Alexandra Hotel which was excellent and also had afternoon tea at the Auld Kirk; this was a unique experience as was several visits to Shortie's Ice Cream Parlour. All these places we would highly recommend.

Nan Sharp

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannan264
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In a word - superb”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We liked everything about this apartment. The location, easy parking, the facilities provided everything we needed, including good WiFi, the comfort and cleanliness and great value for money. Rita and Audrey were a pleasure to do business with. As I said - superb.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joabil
Fife
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Five Star Accommodation In A Superb Location”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This modern 2 bedroom apartment is very well appointed with all the facilities and gadgets required for an enjoyable stay. The wifi throughout the property is excellent.

It is ideally situated with stunning views of the river Dee and is in easy walking distance of a significant number of excellent eateries. The Alexander Hotel is just across the road and serves homely, tasty food at reasonable prices. If you favour more exotic fayre the Lochnagar Indian restaurant is one of the best we have visited.

No 11 The Monaltrie is just like home from home and we will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kINNY37
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We wish to come back again! ”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family enjoyed our 4 days stay here. The apartment is clean and quiet. Well equipped with cooking utensils and condiments. The beds are the most comfortable among all others we have slept in (really!). The shower is strong, with sufficient supply of hot water, making bath time an enjoyable one. Heating in the apartment is sufficient, which my daughter likes a lot. Lots of DVD to entertain us at night. And abundant informative brochures are provided by the owner. Rita and Audrey are very responsive. Communication were swift and effective. Thank you for giving us an enjoyable time in Ballater!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelghyl
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ideally located luxury apartment”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Everything about this holiday: from the ease of booking and great communication with the owner Rita and keyholder Audrey to the stunning apartment and lovely riverside location was pleasing.

We could not have been more comfortable and we both slept very well which is not always the case in a strange bed. Lots of nice touches like the surprise wee freezer in the hall cupboard and the welcome goodies just added to the feeling of being pampered. Breakfast with the sun streaming in the window whilst we watched two hardy fishermen trying their luck in the Dee was delightful.

This was our first time in Ballater which, is in our opinion, by far the prettiest village/town along the Dee. Loads of eating options with a good Co-op and baker and the legendary butcher covers all self-catering needs and plenty of restaurants to choose from, most of which are a short walk away.

Completely rested and missing Ballater and particularly no. 11 badly!

Thank you so much, Rita.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the glowing report ! It was a pleasure. It's a very special spot and it's a delight to be able to share it with like minded guests who appreciate it. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again
Very Best Wishes
Rita and Audrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and quality of bedding/towels
Liked least: Some of the window blinds were difficult to close
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Naishcomb...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This spacious apartment is extremely well equipped. The location is excellent, the village shops and restaurants within a short walk and the river views much appreciated. The selection of condiments and spices was very helpful. Good value for what is on offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: a few (very few) minor cleaning issues.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing