We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Prony Farmhouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maciek83
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very good standard and fantastic location. Kids loved the tree house in the garden. House is very well equipped and has everything you could possibly require including cot bed or non slip mats for bath for kids. Had amazing weekend in January (although we missed the snow which was the shame) and will definitely be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, even without the snow! The treehouse is amazing and glad the kids had fun. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, TS Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr. Gabri...
1 review
“A great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've just spent ten days at Ballater Farm and enjoyed ourselves very much. The house was beautifully located, clean and very specious with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The play house was amazing and the stream at the edge of the property was a real treat. I agree that there were not enough armchairs to go around and we also could not find a property folder, but other than that we enjoyed our visit very much.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotherni...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great base in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The road to Lary is a dead end and seems an unlikely way to the Prony, but there it is in lovely surroundings. We could not find a property folder so struggle with things like closing the windows until we realised there is a release catch set it the side. We never did master the alarm or the heating controls but that said the property was never cold and there was always plenty of hot water. We were a party of seven and were never able to use the room off the dining area to its full potential because there were only two chairs in it. Those grumbles apart there is a world class tree house play area in a separate paddock outside, and the kitchen and bathrooms are beautifully finished. There are adjacent farm buildings but once inside the clever layout means that they do not spoil the magnificient views. There is plenty to do locally even when the weather is bad like it was for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: A good position
Liked least: nothing much
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted that you felt that the tree house play area is world class and the kitchen and bathrooms were beautifully finished, we certainly agree with you. However, I am sorry that there were a few issues, mainly relating to the fact that you were unable to find the property folder. We have detailed instructions within the property and it is a pity that these were not displayed in a prominent position. In future, it will be carefully checked that the property folder is immediately obvious on entry to the property. Whilst we can't always guarantee the weather is excellent, we hope that you will consider a return visit and the weather is at its best next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee59C
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with all mod cons!”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked the property to go at New Year via TS Holiday Lets. They were very helpful, particularly when Ballater was flooded - and the road washed away - at New Year and we had to rearrange our trip.

The house is huge and very, very well equipped. It has everything you could ask for including lots of food and other bits and bobs. It's very modern and comfortable. The master bedroom and bathroom are vast! The outdoor play area for kids is amazing (we were a group of adults but still enjoyed it). It was also very, very clean.

The location was very peaceful and we all slept so well.

If I could change one thing, it would to create a fire in the sitting room....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of Ballater Farmhouse. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and found everything you needed at the property. Please don't hesitate to contact me if I can help you plan your next stay.

Kind Regards
TS Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing