We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic british hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Ashley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic british hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked this hotel as part of a parking deal for Manchester airport and what a great start to our holiday. The staff were so friendly having to explain the parking process made it a plessure. Clean warm and friendly best explains this hotel and the breakfast was one of the best I've had for a long time. One small thing to note the parking for this hotel is behind the co op in Ashley so you have the benifit of our experience trying to find where they are but once you have you will not be disappointed. Up by 8 sharpe to put the parking pay and display ticket on but that's nothing to do with the hotel but the warden is there bright and early in wait. you have been warned lol
With the parking deal ask to stay here as it's much cheaper than their sister hotel for drinks etc
So well done to all the staff that run this hotel the plessure was ours

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Manager at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your review of the Britannia Ashley Hotel. I was suprised myself on the prices of the drink duing our happy hour 11am - 7pm for £1.75 per drink but we bring in the right crowd of people. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Andrew Jenkinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    53
    93
    79
    184
See reviews for
64
171
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HULL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Part of a coach trip, two coaches booked in, jjust not big enough, Room was dirty, nail clippngs on the floor and poo on the bathroom seat, this was before we unpacked.
Bar/seating area just not big enough, people waiting to grab your seat when you vacated it. All in all very disappointed with the standard ot fhis hotel.

Room Tip: People on the third floor seemed to get the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Head Housekeeper at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for the review of the Britannia Ashley hotel. I am very dissatisfied to hear your comments regarding the standards of your room. I can only apologize and reassure you that i will look into the matter in order to improve standards of the rooms and make sure that either you or another guest has to experience these standards again.

Thank you once again for bringing these matters to my attention and for posting your comments

Lee Brookes
Head Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

this hotel was clean the food was ok the staff where very friendly the chef was a real nice man he made sure there was a choice of veggie meals for my wife.
the dinning area was to small and if there was more than 25 guests the would not all get into the bar .also parking was not very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Manager at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your review of the Britannia Ashley Hotel, I agree the hotel could be bigger but i have to work with what i have. I have also passed on your thanks to the chef and the team which brightened their days. We enjoy hearing all the comments our guests provide and hope to see you again.

Thank you

Andrew Jenkinson
Operations Mager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last weekend as part of a cheap Travelstyle weekend to Chester and Liverpool. Having only paid £50 each for the whole weekend which included a three course evening meal and breakfast in the morning in the Ashley hotel I cannot really complain- yes the hotel looks a little tired inside and needs a bit of tlc in the bedrooms but it was adequate for ther night and fairly clean (the odd rogue hair found in the bath )but nothing major.The staff were all friendly and helpful and yes I think we would stay overnight here again. Hale itself was very nice- pretty quiet too for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Manager at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Britannia Ashley Hotel, it is always very satisfying when a guest writes such positive comments that not only makes the staff feel proud of the work they do but also helps in continually improving standards and service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jenkinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Found the hotel but had to park in a pay and display car park close by. This was a value for money hotel - friendly helpful staff; a good basic room; clean in all areas; a nice cooked breakfast and a good base to stay.
Ashley Road (which the hotel is on) gives you an excellent choice for eating out with a lot of high class restaurants and pubs too. The best bit for me, though, was watching the Ferraris, Astons, Porches, Mercs etc cruising down the road! Oh yes, a glass of wine and a pint of San Miguel in the hotel bar only cost £4.60 - a bargain!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stev1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Manager at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Britannia Ashley Hotel, it is always very satisfying when a guest writes such positive comments that not only makes the staff feel proud of the work they do but also helps in continually improving standards and service.

I am also glad you had time to look around the area and take in the sites

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jenkinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a coach tour, Hotel was in a very nice location nice bars on your doorstep, Train station was a 2 min walk away.
Staff very very friendly and food was great

Room Tip: smoking rooms are available if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcorbett53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley701, Manager at Britannia Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Britannia Ashley Hotel, it is always very satisfying when a guest writes such positive comments that not only makes the staff feel proud of the work they do but also helps in continually improving standards and service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Jenkinson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clydebank
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

stayed here as part of coach party. room could have been doing with vacuum and dusted before arrival. leaky radiator reported on Tues still leaking on Friday.[room 342]. although dining room and bar were quite small it was run rather well when Hugh was looking after things. breakfast was excellent as was dinner. service was best when Hugh was there but was quite slow on his days off. room and bed were comfortable. considering the price we paid for our trip it was very fair value and would be happy to return. hotel is in the very nice area of Hale with plenty shops,bars and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Ashley Hotel

Property: Britannia Ashley Hotel
Address: Ashley Road | Hale, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 9SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Ashley Hotel is a modern, comfortable boutique hotel located in a prime location - the village of Hale. 67 cozy rooms, a mouthwatering selection of meals and the friendliest staff await you at the Ashley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Ashley Altrincham
Hotel Britannia Ashley
Britannia Ashley Hotel Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing