We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to break our journey.”
Review of Birtles Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birtles Farm
Ranked #3 of 6 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to break our journey.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and my daughter stayed at Birtles Farm on our way home from Scotland to England, because it was winter I thought it best to break our journey half way. Where I can I like to stay in b&b's or little hotels rather than your bigger more well known hotels down the M6. Birtles Farm was a delight for me and my 4 year old. She just loved the animals on the farm and Toby the dog was very friendly. Birtles Farm House was lovely, very clean, cosy & modern. Both Sharon and Dave were so helpful and friendly. I will definitely stop off again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
42
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We chose this place to stay for an overnight after a football game at Old Trafford. We checked in during the afternoon and were glad we arrived in daylight as we drove past a barn full of cows, through farm outbuildings before we arrived at the house. Sharon greeted us very warmly and took us up to our room - which was delightful but we were very disappointed not to have an en suite, especially as my husband had phoned months in advance to make sure we would get an en suite. The private bathroom was just next door and was well appointed with a bath and shower over, and lovely snuggly bathrobes were provided, but it was very inconvenient to make a night time visit. However, the plusses outweighed this only minus - the bed was very comfortable, the bed linen, pillows and towels were top quality. Despite the proximity of cows and horses there weren't any animal smells or noises and we had a wonderful night's sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked, generous portions and the coffee was the best out of a cafetiere! Will certainly go back and recommend. For pre-match dinner we went to Estia Taverna in Trafford Bar, see separate review, which we very much recommend!

Room Tip: Cross your fingers you get what you booked. But go anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

close to the airport with personal pick up that was already a good start.
the house was very cozy and i felt like home.
Breakfast was very english and good.
You could see that they were doing it for many many years already so it was for them more of a routine but who can blame the owners.

I enjoyed my stay and i wouldnt find on thing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked for 2 nights as we attended an event at Old Trafford (the Rugby League World Cup Final) and didn't want to stay in Manchester. Lucky for us we stumbled across Birtles Farm, where Sharon provides probably the most comfortable and welcoming B&B we have visited. Our room was delightful, breakfast was delicious and the setting is amazing.

Shame the game at Old Trafford was a bit of a damp squib ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the text on the morning of my arrival, to welcome me and offer assistance to find the farm, I cannot fault anything about Birtles Farm, a working farm in an extremely quiet location.
I stayed overnight to break a journey from the south of England to the north and was so pleased I chose this B&B. The friendly welcome from Sharon was just right. No long speech of where everything is and how everything works - like you get at some B&B's. I was travelling on my own and had the family room to myself at a very reasonable rate. The room was nicely furnished and the bed extremely comfortable with a snuggly duvet. It was a cold night and my radiator didn't seem to be working but Sharon brought me a panel heater straight away so I was warm.
The soft, fluffy bathrobe was a nice touch in an en suite room - as was the selection of tea bags. The shower cubicle was larger than normal which I appreciated. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order with and served with lovely granary toast - delicious!
All in all I was very impressed with my stay and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived quite late. Very friendly host Sharon showed us our room. Lovely decor, small en-suite. No wifi could be connected to either of our iPads and neither of our phones. Sharon offered to help but it was late so we didn't bother. In my opinion I felt that the pillows had seen better days plus the quilt was feather and I am allergic to feathers so that wasn't good. Perhaps I should have called beforehand to check. The breakfast was plentiful and quite nice. Although I felt slightly embarrassed sitting opposite complete strangers to eat on one large table.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have stayed at Birtles on several occasions. Run by Sharon always very freindly. A busy b&b. Good parking, local pub near by does not serve food every week day evening so check before otherwise use Travel Inn a short drive away. Would recomend but book early.

Room Tip: Near by pub does not serve food every day during the evenings, travel inn a short drive away ok for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
3.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.6 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.7 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtles Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtles Farm

Property: Birtles Farm
Address: Birtles Farm Ashley Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birtles Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtles Farm Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing