We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definately return”
Review of Birtles Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birtles Farm
Ranked #3 of 6 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We would definately return”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Birtles Farm last Friday for the Tatton Park Show. We had a wonderful time. The setting is beautiful, quiet and homely.

Our room was lovely, en-suite, the most comfortable bed we've slept in! The view over the garden and fields was so nice to wake up to in the morning.

Sharon's service to us was brilliant, we were offered a lift to the local pub for our evening meal, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellant, anything you wanted was available, full english, cereals etc.

The dogs were sooooo cute and friendly :o)

Thank you very much for having us stay and we will see you again x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy and phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
42
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here in June for 2 nights while on our way to the Lake District and to meet up with a cousin of mine. The farm is in a quiet position (only slight daytime noise from the airport), well off the road up its own lane, with a beautiful garden and countryside view from the front bedrooms. The pleasant room had a kingsize bed with wash basin and the bathroom with shower is immediately next door. Fluffy bathrobes were provided as were a good supply of toiletries. Sharon's breakfasts were superb and she was very welcoming and helpful with map and directions to the nearest Metrolink tram station for central Manchester. We would certainly recommend Birtles Farm to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here as judging at Cheshire Show. Beautiful house, very comfortable and full of character. Sharon was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble - up before 06.30 a we had an early start. Excellent wi-fi reception in bedroom and good quality toiletries. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay again. travelling companion has already booked for next year !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here one night before flying out to Thailand. Sharon gave easy driving instruction as it is a little confusing to find even with sat nav. Its a working farm with horses, cows and dogs. Must mention the collie dog (forgot his name) he was a character. The B & B is charming and the room was well furnished. The bed was one of the best I had slept in, the bed linen was also of excellent quality. Waking up in the early hours of the morning looking out of the window at the countryside and seeing the sun rise was beautiful. This was followed by a lovely home cooked breakfast. Sharon also provides transport to the airport at no extra charge, you can leave your car parked in the yard. Although she was away when we returned she had made arrangements for her friend to pick us up on landing. I have no hesitation in recommending Birtles Farm either for a relaxing short stay or when flying from Manchester Airport. Sharon and her husband are excellent hosts and we look forward to seeing them again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way up to the Lake District after landing into Manchester airport in the evening. What a fab place to stay. The B&B is very handy for the airport - only a short drive. We arrived about 11pm and Sharon was waiting for us.

We were shown up to a lovely room. The room was a good size. The bed was very comfortable. And the view out over the beautiful garden and onto the fields was lovely in the morning. The bathroom was well equipped. Fluffy dressing gowns, slippers, hairdryer, etc. The electric shower was a complete surprise. I'm used to them being disappointing - either the temperature fluctuates or the pressure/flow is very pathetic. Not the case here. A wonderful shower.

A traditional breakfast awaits you in the morning. Sharon had also arranged for me to have gluten free bread which was very tasty. Sharon is a wonderful hostess.

It's a pity we weren't staying longer. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Anglo_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We found Birtles Farm B&B very charming and full of character and the atmosphere was quiet, relaxing and informal. We had a pleasant stay - we found the bed particularly comfy (now realise that we need a new bed at home!)
Our host Sharon was pleasant and friendly and very accommodating, for example flexible with our arrival time and she makes a fantastic breakfast.
The Birtles is a working farm and you can see the handsome horses and other farm animals, a great quiet location near to Manchester.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is a King Size bed really comfy bed and has an en-suite great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a delightful B and B. The host Sharon was so helpful and went out of her way to make my short stay there comfortable. Well worth the overnight stay if you have an early flight the next day. And you can leave your car there and they will convey you to the airport and pick you up when your journey is over. I will definatelly be staying there again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rteagleeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
3.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.3 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtles Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtles Farm

Property: Birtles Farm
Address: Birtles Farm Ashley Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birtles Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtles Farm Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing