We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room, rabbit warren corrdiors, worn and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy room, rabbit warren corrdiors, worn and dated”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I think some parts of this hotel could really do with renovation. When we arrived we were given a room that was right over the spa/pool and it seemed to be one of the older parts of the hotel. We climbed up and down stairs, crossed corridors, and ended up in a dingy dirty corridor. It just seemed very unpleasant really and had an odd smell to it.

As we were just above the spa area, we onsequently could hear nothing except the droning of fans and so on from below. My partner went to speak to reception and was told the noise would stop when the pool area closed at 7.15pm. Luckily we only had an hour to wait, good job neither of us wanted to take a nap. The corridor outside our room had mould and mildew stains on the ceiling, the bath in our room had squashed insects engrained into it, and the bath mat had definitely seen better days with some patches of dirt on. I don't think it would cost too much to get these little details attended to and cleanliness is something I expect from a £20 per night BnB, never mind a £60-80 hotel. The pool area and changing rooms were also not of a very high standard of cleanliness and again there was dirt hanging down from the ceiling tiles and wooden lockers that seemed about to rot away.

On the plus side, reception were friendly, breakfast was good and the beds were very clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool/spa if you require a quiet room during the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_MED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    264
    237
    130
    75
See reviews for
162
361
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Glam South Wales
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Booked in for one night before our holiday, flying from Manchester. Very pleased with the accommodation and lounge bar for the one night. Whilst the car parking facility is not classed as secure there were flood lights and CCTV was advertised. Our car was not moved during the week.

Room and bedding very clean. NIce size bathroom. also clean - although the shower screen showed signs of needing a good scrub at the base. Tea and coffee making facilities provided.

Within easy walking to the very pleasant village of Hale where we had a meal and a few drinks in a local hostelry.

Taxi transfers to and from the hotel included in our deal and were on time and extremely efficient. Well done Trafford cars! Transfer time approx 15 mins.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

1. Arrival
Positive

Large convenient car park
Receptionist Welcoming and friendly

Negative
Having to lug heavy suitcase up steep steps

2. Food + Drink
We chose to eat out instead of eating at the hotel, purely because we fancied Indian food but we came back to the bar for a nightcap, great selection of spirits (Jamesons + Havana Rum ;-) )

3. Room
Room was very clean and just the right size, bed comfortable and the LED light next to it very useful

This is going to sound like a Victor Meldrew rant, and i want to make it clear that it is in no part the hotel or the staffs fault , the only negative was that there was banging all night from the room and corridor above , it actually sounded like the roof was going to cave in ! At this point I was too tired to get up and "politely" ask them to stop doing an archeological dig to the south pole all night lol! As I say this wasn't the hotels fault that they have inconsiderate sods!!

PLEASE DONT BE PUT OFF BY THIS REVIEW OVERALL GOOD STAY WILL DEFINATELY RETURN 4/5 stars

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-courthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent a recent night at the hotel prior to flying from Manchester - as usual everything was as smooth as clockwork from check in to taxi service to airport.
Used the leisure pool which is always a nice start to the stay, already booked our next stay and would reccommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsHavenCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here 31st April 2012 for one night before we flew to Majorca and we was upgraded to a superior room free of charge.
The hotel was excellent ,the room was lovely, the size of the bed was amazing and really comfy.
They is a big flat screen TV with free view.The bathroom was lovely as well with a shower and bath.
The breakfast was a buffet, which we really enjoyed.
We are planning on going back for a weekend just to chill out and try out the pool etc.
A lovely start to a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries & Galloway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked a fully inclusive break through Hotelshop, we had already tried one in Hull and at £79 great value, so we thought we would try Altrincham, but to be honest the Bowden wasnt as good as the Royal in Hull another Mercure Hotel. We thought the room small and a bit bashed up with marks all over the walls. The window overlooked the front door so you had to change in the bathroom or close the curtains for privacy. The front door was right below the room window, so we had to listen to all the smokers early morning and late evening not to mention the taxis coming and going at odd times of the night. The food was good the first night, but the second it must have been the chefs night off as it was very poor, the fishcake I had could easily have broken a window. Lots of families and kids running round, obviously going on holiday and leaving their cars there. We thought we were going to another hotel like Hull but were very dissapointed in the break. The staff were all very nice and work hard, but they dont have much time to waste on you. For an airport break its fine but expensive, as a romatic break ....no.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats not over the front door as its noisey with taxis and smokers standing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekenderWooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My overall rating reflects the value for money we got when using this hotel with taxi transfers to and from manchester airport. We paid a very resonable rate for a room for 3 adults and one child and fully expected it would be nothing more than a very basic place to get a bit of sleep before departure. It was a much nicer hotel than we had dared expect. The room was really quite nicely decorated and comfortable. There were a couple of fairly minor snags (extraordinarily wobbly tap and window kept open with a lump of wood), which we mentioned to the manager on our return. He was aware of these 2 issues, so no doubt the next guest will find them put right.
The hotel is conveniently situated for airport transfers and the taxi booking system worked really well. If you want to be sure that your child(ren) will have booster seat(s) for the taxi transfers, I recommend checking in advance that these will be provided. This was problematic for us, but we are aware thatmany parents are less fussy about expecting child seats/booster seats in taxis. We really appreciated the time the manager, David, spent listening to our concern about this. Given that he is going to look into this with the taxi company, I would certainly use this hotel package again.
One last tip:make sure you have your directions to the hotel in advance or use sat nav. We got lost and phoned the hotel for directions. The receptionist was lovely, but does not drive and could offer little help other than telling us to get a map.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing