We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having read the two latest reviews, and having had a mixed experience at a different Mercure hotel last September we weren't expecting much, but this was a pleasant surprise. Our room, entitled 'Tatton', on the lower ground floor, was spacious and had 2 armchairs as well as a third chair at the dressing table/desk. The bathroom was also roomy and everywhere was very clean. The bed was also large and comfy, we had a very quiet night and slept extremely well, until woken by an efficient alarm call. Another welcome surprise was the quality of our evening meal. My soup was tasty, my mushroom tagliatelle was creamy and a generous size and my husband was perfectly happy with his starter of mixed charcuterie and main course of sea bass. He expected this to be accompanied by a few tiny potatoes and one or two bits of 'Mediterranean vegetables' but the fish lay on a good sized portion of potatoes and veg and was cooked to his satisfaction. We were too full to have a pudding. We will certainly stay here again when going to Manchester Airport and look forward to a return visit when winter is behind us and we are going to investigate the family history.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I guess it goes to show that same place, same staff, indeed same everything gets gets positive or negative views depending or personal preferences but pleased to know we exceeded your expectations.
I hope we can look after you to the same level on future visits to this area.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    266
    240
    136
    83
See reviews for
167
372
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived for a one night stay prior to our honeymoon,we booked through holiday extras and added a 3 course meal for two to our booking. It was rather a disappointment. The hotel is nicely set out and clean but the room itself was small and on par with a travel inn not an upmarket hotel. The food was bland and not the treat we had in mind.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyJane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Sorry you felt the start to your honeymoon was disappointing.

I do accept that our standard rooms are not overly spacious but as a future reference we also have superior rooms for a nominal increase in tariff and these have a much larger footprint.

Always difficult to correct issues after the event and regret you did not discuss you dining experience with the restaurant manager as it is far easier to correct thinks at the time.

I trust you enjoyed the remainder of your honeymoon

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed one Saturday night in the Stamford Room and the hotel was overall disappointing. The WiFi was complimentary although not very fast. But the room was very average and was either hot or cold (no thermostat). The bath had chips out of the enamel and the dirt round the join from the shower glass to bath awful.
We also got charged £10 (the brusque receptionist asked for £15) for a late check out at 2:00pm; I can't think of another UK hotel that charges for so short an extension
We also ate in the restaurant with friends and the food was quite poor. The cajun chicken starter was three tiny slices of bland unspiced chicken and the lamb shank in asian spice bland and uninteresting. The mustrooms with the steak were not field but tinned. Breakfast was an all buffet affair and again simply below average. Awful coffee.
First (and last) time we have stayed in a Mercure hotel

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Very much regret you were disappointed with your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies.

As far as I am aware most branded hotels charge a small suppliment for late check-out and believe this to be a reasonable cost.

I can assure you we do not use tinned mushrooms but regret you did not enjoy your dinner or breakfast experience which are both generally to a very good standard.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I found the hotel overall very nice with caring and attentive staff. I do, however, feel an bit of extra draw space would be nice in the room. There were only two, one of which contained a "fixed" hairdryer, thus not leaving very much space for a few tops/shirts etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
Pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed the stay and particularly good to know the team did a good job.
Noted your comments about storage space and whilst there is no quick fix to this issue I will investigate options for the future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with holiday extras bit worried as not on airport site but was 5 mins drive to t2 long stay at 5am. Hotel was fine had a big spacious room for 3. Was clean and tidy. Would recommend as son alternative to expensive on site airport hotels

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank helsbels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

On arrival into the restaurant we were greeted and made to feel really special by the restaurant manager/staff as we were celebrating a family member's birthday.
The food was exceptional and service was second to none.
Would definitely recommend anyone to visit and sample the delightful food.
Will sure to be visiting again very soon, thank you for a wonderful evening.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Pleased you had an enjoyable visit and hope we can welcome you back in the future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing