We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fag tray for a front door. Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
England
Level Contributor
391 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fag tray for a front door. Nice.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Apart from the bad first impression with smokers lining the front door in this 'Non-Smoking Hotel', it exceeded my expectations, hence the Very Good mark only. Sorry Mercure, but think of the NON smokers rather than the smokers please.
See the photo attached and count the ashtrays and no-smoking signs.
The sign says no-smoking but the smokers think it only applies inside the building.

Room Tip: Hold your nose as you come in and out the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Took the decision several years ago to make the property completely smoke free and believe this was the correct thing to do, despite much effort it is difficult to prevent people smoking immediatly outside the front door and regret the experience your endured.
Whilst this is generally not a major issue will try to look for other ways to control or prevent this.
On a brighter note I was please that you found other aspects of the hotel to your liking

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    266
    240
    136
    83
See reviews for
167
372
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife & I staid at this hotel this last weekend, on arrival reception was friendly we were shown to our room. The room was a bit on the small side, but nice & clean. We unpacked, & went into Altrincham to catch the metro link into Manchester to watch a show. We arrived back at the hotel at 11.30pm went to our room, switched the TV on but alas no signal, due to lateness of the hour decided not to contact anyone until morning. we retired to bed, but found it very difficult to sleep as we could hear a humming noise which I believe was probably one of the air conditioning units. I eventually fell asleep after 1am.
Next morning I complained about the TV, & we went out for the day. On our return we found that as the TV could not be repaired, & the hotel receptionist moved us to another room which was an upgraded room. TV worked & we were not disturbed by any outside noise so had a wonderful nights sleep.
Our board included breakfast which was self service, & was excellent. The staff at the hotel were very friendly. We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 133 or any rooms close to it if you want a good nights sleep. Room 117 & oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Firstly I am sorry about the TV but was pleased to hear that we were able to move you with a complimentary upgrade.
Also good to know that the team did a good job and that you enjoyed breakfast.
Look forward to welcoming you back on future visits

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I previously stayed here about a year ago with a friend for a ladies' weekend of shopping and eating and we made a return visit yesterday for more of the same. We chose it again for its superb location as we like the village of Hale very much and wanted to have our evening meal at Earle, which is less than 10 minutes walk away. However, last year we raised a few niggling issues and I had hoped these would have been resolved in the intervening months but sadly, the rooms still have a very tired feel to them. We were in a twin room, no 105, and there was a hole in the wall where the aerial (I think) for the television had been fed through from the boardroom next door and there was also a somewhat musty smell as we first entered the room, though it could have been cigarette smoke, we weren't sure. Having said this, the bar, restaurant/breakfast room, reception and toilets were very pleasant indeed and seemed to have been refurbished more recently or maybe had constant maintenance. It was good value for money at £42 for the room and although this did not include breakfast, there was a two for one offer on breakfast as we arrived (£13.95 for us both), making it even better.

Would I return? Yes I would, mainly because of the location but I really hope the hotel management do something about the tired decor and shabby mainteance before I go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Clearly there were many positive aspects to your stay and pleased that overall you had a good stay and will consider a return.

Noted your comments about your specific room and whilst we have an ongoing plan for refurbishments and upgrading will divert the team to this particular room at the earliest opportunity

Thanks for taking the time to write with your observations

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Fairly large hotel, easy to find from the M6. Decent rooms, high ceilings but soon warm with heating. Comfortable and not much noise from traffic through the night. Leisure club is very small, children's swimming lessons take place Saturday am. Very warm jacuzzi and not busy when we were there.
Location - 10 minute walk into centre of Altrincham which has plenty of places to eat from Thai to Canadian grill to Turkish to Chinese, Indian, Brazilian etc etc. A few independent shops make it more interesting than most faceless shopping precincts.

Breakfast buffet self services, nice food. Evening meal has a set menu price but a bit limited. Food we has was very nice but seeing Altrincham has such massive food choice suggest making the short walk into town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Pleased to learn that you had a good stay and your comments about Hale with it's mix of nice shops and restaurants goes to show what a great location we have.

Hope we will see you again

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having read the two latest reviews, and having had a mixed experience at a different Mercure hotel last September we weren't expecting much, but this was a pleasant surprise. Our room, entitled 'Tatton', on the lower ground floor, was spacious and had 2 armchairs as well as a third chair at the dressing table/desk. The bathroom was also roomy and everywhere was very clean. The bed was also large and comfy, we had a very quiet night and slept extremely well, until woken by an efficient alarm call. Another welcome surprise was the quality of our evening meal. My soup was tasty, my mushroom tagliatelle was creamy and a generous size and my husband was perfectly happy with his starter of mixed charcuterie and main course of sea bass. He expected this to be accompanied by a few tiny potatoes and one or two bits of 'Mediterranean vegetables' but the fish lay on a good sized portion of potatoes and veg and was cooked to his satisfaction. We were too full to have a pudding. We will certainly stay here again when going to Manchester Airport and look forward to a return visit when winter is behind us and we are going to investigate the family history.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I guess it goes to show that same place, same staff, indeed same everything gets gets positive or negative views depending or personal preferences but pleased to know we exceeded your expectations.
I hope we can look after you to the same level on future visits to this area.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing