We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowdon at it's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bowdon at it's Best”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Comfort and Quality. Good Choice and 1st Class Management.The Focus is on service and value. Breakfast in particular was especially enjoyable. Altogether a very enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
A late response but thanks anyway

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    267
    241
    136
    83
See reviews for
167
373
34
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a one night stay for a business trip. The check-in was simple and efficient, there is free wifi (although it's a bit slow). The room was clean and tidy. The only problem was in the restaurant with the evening meal which although nice food didn't have prices on the menu, once I was told the price I knew why - it's rather expensive. I didn't bother with breakfast after I heard the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Not sure where the menu without prices came from as all our menus are fully priced and believe that they represent good value, breakfast prices are very much the same as most 3 star properties but regret you found this to be expensive

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here with the hotel park and stay before we went to the airport. We couldn't believe that there was no lift. Sounds stupid, but as we were travelling with luggage and our friend has problems lifting due to am injury. Staff didn't seem phased. Don't stay here if you have mobility issues. I think it should state somewhere no lift available. It was not like it was just a few steps, it was like a maze. Up one flight, down another.
The rooms were comfy enough, simple decor could do with a something being done about the windows. As someone has previously mentioned, ours also had condensation and were not the cleanest. We had a view over another building, this didn't bother us as it was simply a one night stay. What did bother us, was that there was a fire exit outside which had a big sign stating push bar to open. There was no bar. Just glad there was no need to use it.
The food however, was amazing. We had the three course meal which all four of us thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel was pretty busy in the bar as it was the night before a wedding, but you could not fault the service in the restaurant. It was easy to leave the car there and do taxi transfer, just maybe needs a little modernisation. Not entirely sure if I would do a return visit here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank christine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Certainly should have resopnded before now but missed some of the late April and May reviews for a reason I am still trying to solve.
A game of 2 halves with both positive and not so good comments, the later have already been addressed but do realise it is of little consolation to you now.
Pleased the restaurant and bar service were of a good standard I know the staff will be encouraged by your kind remarks

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Room was very small and very hot. Window glass was full of condensation and the window frames were dirty. Bed was very hard. Room and bathroom could have been cleaner and basin tap unit was loose. Hallway paint was chipped and dirty, polystyrene tiles on ceilings were badly stained.carpets could do with a clean. Outside main entrance lights were dirty and full of flies and cobwebs as it was the first place to see when arriving and not very encouraging. Staff were quite pleasent. The only good thing was the food as we were attending a wedding, and the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiggy4147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Fully accept that standard rooms are not overly large but we also have superior rooms with a much larger footprint.
Noted the comments about cleanliness and whilst this is not a general issue I regret it did not meet personal expectations and whilst of little consolation now, I will investigate and make required changes.
Thanks for taking the time to review you stay.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

south yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great hotel. Rooms are quite small but very clean. Really nice restaurant and friendly staff. Highly recommend. Close to airport. Quick check in/out. Free bottle of wine with park and stay if you eat in the restaurant

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for writing this positive review, I know my staff will be encouraged by your remarks.
Hope you will visit us again in the future.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham U K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we stayed here as part of a park and stay deal -check in was hassle free and the staff were very efficient and knowledgeable. The room was very pleasant, modern and clean. We used the spa facilities which were very pleasant (pool/steam roon etc) . We also took the dinner there which was very nice. Couldn't fault the service, staff or hotel on our short stay here and would certainly use the hotel again asa park/stay deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clangerdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I am pleased that you stay with us made for a good start to your holiday.
It is a good advert for us to know that you would return on future trips to this area and thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing