We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a weekend stay or a one night-er”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a weekend stay or a one night-er”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My parents and I stayed at the Mecure, Bowdon whilst attending a wedding in June 2014. We had driven a long way and were greeted by friendly staff and with a warm welcome.
The rooms were simple, no fuss rooms - what you would expect for the price.
The breakfast is very expensive - but there is an offer if you want more than one which is worth utilizing. I was very impressed by the staff who went out of their way to accommodate our every need - including catering for my food allergies.
Be aware - there was no lift that we could locate!
Essentially, this hotel is basic but a good place to stay for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to cater for your specific needs.
Regret we do not have a lift but do have ample ground floor rooms that are available on request for anybody with walking difficulty

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    263
    237
    129
    73
See reviews for
161
359
34
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

what a great hotel to stay over night for the airport we srayed just one night to fly to Crete the next day from Manchester airport lovely hotel great location rooms very comfortable great pool and plenty of parking spaces great value for money we did not eat there because our favourite pub is nearby just 12 mins from the airport so close we did not have breakfast our flight was early I would recommend this to anyone who has an early flight

Room Tip: I am sure any one of rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Appreciate the time you have taken to write such a glowing review hope you holiday in Crete was as good as your first night with us

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beware of booking this hotel if you have any luggage to carry. There are steps up to the main entrance, and also the back one from the car park. Once inside we expected there to be a lift but there isn't. We had to climb up a flight of stairs, through fire doors, then down a flight of stairs. We were only staying overnight before flying out the next morning which is just as well. The room was very dated and small. The wardrobe was too shallow to close once anything was hung in it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynniatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Sorry that you found the absence of a lift to be a problem. Sadly this is not something we are looking to add due to the make-up of the building but as stated many times we do have a good supply of ground floor rooms available on request for any guest with mobility difficulty.
Perhaps a recommendation is to view a hotels website before a visit as it lists the facilities available.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Went on a buyagift deal. Free parking, plenty of spaces. Booked in, found room nice, although abit on the small side, but had everything in there, nice and clean, tea/coffee, hairdryer. Shampoo/etc in bathroom. Bed really comfortable. Lovely big soft towels in bathroom. Breakfast nice, buffet style, if you need anything just ask and the friendly staff bring it to you. Never ate evening meal so can't comment on that. Really good location for hale and the train that goes to manchester or chester. Would differently return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Always great to hear that guests happy with the stay will return as this is a good recommendation to others.
Thanks for taking the time to write

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I found this to be a very comfortable hotel. The room was well appointed and the facilities were great. A 'quaint' little bar area to sit and relax in. I didnt try the restaurant, other than for Breakfast, but found that to be very good.
Ample car parking. Gym facilities with Pool and Saunas.
Its only a short walk into Hale where there are a number of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience. Feedbackl of any nature helps us to continue improving but even better to receive glowing reports.
Hope you will use us again on future trips to this area

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rooms were very clean and staff were very helpful. The pool was brill for the kids and there was also a sauna and steam room.... Al free and towels are also provided.
We left our car there and used the transfer bus which was alittle run down but still fine!!!!
Will definatley use the hotel again x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoncasterLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Although a little late responding thanks for taking the time to let us and others know about your positive experience

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing