We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it was 4 years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 years ago prior to going on holiday as they did a deal where you could leave your car for a fortnight (not sure if they still do this as it is under new management).

Some renovation works have already happened and it is looking a lot better.

Pool and spa facilities are good as are changing facilities.

We never had breakfast or other food as so many nice cafés and restaurants nearby.

Rooms are basic and clean, bed was comfortable but no air conditioning meant the room was too hot and very uncomfortable to sleep in- tiniest fan in the world was provided when we called reception which didn't make any difference.

Similar quality to a premier Inn/ Travelodge hotel so price should reflect this.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcgui11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Pleased that you have noticed the difference since your visit 4 years ago.
Inverstments have been made in the property and hopefully this will continue to happen to keep the hotel to the right standard todays traveller expects.
Thank you for writing the review

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although the team at the Mercure Bowden in Altrincham seem to try hard to overcome the inadequateness of the hotel I think they are fighting an uphill battle. This hotel is in need of a revamp.

The bathroom was literally falling apart as the shower and shower bar fell off the wall on top of me during my shower, the tiles/laminate were popping up off the floor and the back of the toilet was a flimsy bit of board held in with what looked like putty.

The next point I think is relevant to the time of year that I visited and wouldn't be such a problem with less excellent weather. They have no air conditioning. The heating system apparently couldn't be turned off either as "it's linked to the hot water". We had 3 inch hot water pipes feeding the radiators (which were off) from floor to ceiling and wall to wall. At Night they were roasting hot and filled an already baking room with even more heat. Sleep was almost impossible and very very sweaty! It was the opposite of a comfortable nights sleep.

I would say the food is good, not mind blowing but it is good. Nothing on the menu looks to be cheap and it all tasted fresh. The milk and orange juice let this down a little as breakfast went on the orange juice seemed to get watered down and the milk sometimes seemed a little less than truly fresh, this is however a matter of opinion.

Room Tip: Don't visit in the hight of summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

A very mixed review with both positive and not so positive comments with things that we can look at to try to find ways to improve although there are no immediate plans to add air conditioning to the property.
Thanks for taking the time to write with your comments

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good value hotel if you are leaving from Manchester airport however the initial appearance of the reception area and restaurant leads you to believe that the rooms would be of a similar standard. Very disappointed with the family room which was very basic and in need of a facelift. Fixtures and fittings were poor...a very old and noisy air conditioner unit...stains on the carpet.....and a table ready to fall apart. Add to that the view of a brick wall.....alright for one night but glad to leave

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post this review and regret that you did not fully enjoy the stay.

Maintenance is ongoing to correct thfaults and whilst of little consolation to you now carpet cleaners are in tomorrow to attend to several areas of the property

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I do realize that hotels abroad are not what we're used to in the US, but I do think they could be better. First, it was clean and had a restaurant and bar. Breakfast was a buffet and fairly well stocked. The room was small and the twin beds seemed smaller than normal and had to be the most uncomfortable that I'd ever tried to sleep in. The worst was that there was no central air, so I had to keep the window open. With the drapes closed at night, this did nothing to aid in the air circulation and as my luck would have it, the UK was experiencing record high temps during my stay. Nights were simply unbearable and the open window kept the noise level high. Storage was limited to 6 or 7 hangars in the closet and no drawers available so I had to keep everything in my luggage. The hair dryer had to be used while sitting at the desk (plugs in the bath for shavers only). There's only one bath towel and you have to be an acrobat to get in/out of the shower with its high sides and awkward glass surround. The hotel entrance is up several steep stairs which is not easy with luggage and I didn't see a lift to any of the other floors. The staff was nice and helpful with taxi service. I would suggest a walk around the corner into Hale or a taxi into Altrincham for food rather than the hotel bar or restaurant. Overall - just OK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

It would appear there were both good and not so good things relating to your stay but overall ok.
Beds are a standard size found all over the UK and generally receive positive comments about the comfort but regret you did not find this to be the case. Sadly we do not have a lift or air conditioning at this property but do undestand the comments about heat during this peak of good summer weather.
On a brighter note I was pleased you found the rooms to be clean, helpful staff and good breakfast.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Clean. Excellent facilities pool, steam room etc. Comfy bed. .................................................................................................................................

Stayed: July 2014
Thank cheekydelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Please you found us to be of good value. Interesting that you have highlighted the comfort of the bed when the next review made an opposite comment. I guess it shows that we are all different but pleased that you had a good nights sleep

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while doing Foodies at Tatton park great location staff and service great lovely room very clean room and hotel the near by village is lovely too loved the leisure centre too very clean and great staff very helpful can not fault the hotel we stay in many this is great value for price the only negative could provide fans for room in hot weather best bed I have slept in a hotel very comfortable well done

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your trip into the delightful village of Hale.
Hope we can welcome you back again in the future
Thanks for taking the time to post your review

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beware of eating in the restaurant of the Mercure Bowdon Hotel in Altrincham, Greater Manchester. This hotel advertises quite competitive rates for travellers using nearby Manchester Airport and my advice would be to avail yourself of an overnight accommodation offer but eat in nearby Altrincham which has many good eateries catering for all different palates and pockets and to take breakfast within the airport itself. We recently had an appalling experience in the Mercure Bowdon Restaurant where one of our party was served a totally inedible meal (and not what was ordered) and when the offering was returned to the kitchen, was not served a replacement meal until 35 minutes later after everyone in the party had finished their meal . That in itself was bad enough but if you try to raise any issues with management they will not even acknowledge you or the issues you raise and neither will their head office. So be warned - take up the overnight accommodation offers they advertise but eat locally in one of the many reputable cafes and restaurants serving edible food with a high degree of professionalism and customer care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Clearly not an enjoyable experience for you and once again wish to offer our sincer apologies.
Sadly errors do occur and the offer of a replacementmeal was genuine but as food is cooked to order there is always going to be a delay but regret any inconvenience this caused.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
16.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing