We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$104
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel(Altrincham)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
188
284
263
145
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
284
263
145
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesall inclusive dealmanchester airportweeks parkingthe ground floorcourse mealplenty of parkingpleasant staffbar areafamily roomstayed for one nightan early flightovernight staybreakfast was excellentfollowing morninghaletaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 979 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great value airport hotel. Refurbished since our last stay 4 years ago. Stayed one night, left car for 12 nights and got taxi transfer_there and back_all part of the deal.
Given suite in basement. Perfectly clean and gorgeous shower.
Was kept awake most of night however as couldn't get "low hum" from boiler room out my head. It went on all night. Unfortunately also disturbed by loud revellers who decided to sit in corridor to eat their pizza at half two in am!!
Hotel is near town centre with loads of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ponty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Pleased you found us to be of good value and thanks for taking the time to publish this fact.

Pity you did not alert the hotel staff about the disturdance by other guests as I am sure we could have sorted this out quickly

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stay here quite a lot on business, and it's pretty good - nothing too fancy but comfortable, clean and friendly
First the positives:
- The staff on reception and in the restaurant are friendly, personable and efficient
- The food, pretty good actually, good selection at dinner, well cooked and nicely presented, not top restaurant fare but a level or two above good pub grub, breakfast is very good - nice selection, full English buffet style, eat as much as you want
- Leisure centre on site is good: gym, swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi
- Rooms are clean and comfortable and the beds are good with crisp white sheets, shower nice and hot with plenty of pressure, tea and coffee facilities in room
- The communal areas are ok, but tired in places (odd bits of worn carpet), bit of a 70's feel to the carpets etc. but perfectly adequate (no lift which doesn't other me but could bother others)
- Free WIFI

The negatives (a big one this time so marked down overall rating)
- I was in one of the rooms down in the basement (Tatton room), bit dark, view from the window is a wall below the car park. The room is a superior double, probably as its a larger room, definitely not for the view. Anyway decided to get an early night as had a big day the next day, set my alarm for 7:00am so 9 hours sleep- great!
Was woken at 5am with a lot of banging and stomping around, sounded like the hotel was starting to wake up (maybe I was below the kitchens), could hear every footstep, banging, clanging, I almost went up to reception to ask for another room for the next two hours!
As it is I had to put my ipod on, had the headphones on, music turned down to the lowest setting, and a pillow over my head and could still hear the background noise - not great!
My advice would be to be careful which room you get and if you want a good sleep don't take a room in the basement at the end of the corridor!

Room Tip: DON'T take a room downstairs (basement) at the end of the corridor if you want a good sleep!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

A great list of positive comments and thanks for that.
Not great however to learn of your distubed early morning and apologise for this. The room you occupied is not near kitchens or any other hotel facilities so can only imagine the noise to be from other guests possibly leaving to go to the airport. Rooms on our lower ground floor are generally quite and have lots of regular guests who choose to stay in this area of the hotel with its quick access to the car park.
Hope the inconvenience on this visit will not put you off returning but please ask for a room in an area of the hotel that suits you.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just what we expected and needed, pretty much like a premier inn travel lodge.

Restaurant nice maybe over priced, little seating in bar area had to stand for a while then took our drinks to our room.

Got a wake up call so that was a bonus.
Easy to get to 10 minutes from airport.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Considering the positives in this review I was perhaps a little disappointed by the scores but thanks anyway for taking the time to share your experiences.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Many thanks to Restaurant Manager Dave for superb, friendly and efficient service. We were moved to an deluxe room which was very nice. We also enjoyed the well managed leisure facilities in house.

The only downside was the dinner menu which was the same each evening.

Sue and Martin Taylor

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

It is always great to see comments that highlight individuals who have given good service and thanks for this, I know David will be encouaged by your kind remarks.
Whilst the dinner menu has a large range of dishes to choose from with 14 mains along with a bar/longe menu that has many more choices but will discuss your comments with the chef with a view to introducing a dish of the day to enhance the variety we offer.
Pleased to know you would choose us for future visits to the area.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I wasn't looking for 5* facilities for the money we paid to stay for the night before our flight. The hotel was fine, bar OK with usual hiked prices. The thing I didn't like was the fact that there was no lift. We had to drag our cases up and down stairs. If we left them in the car and it was broken into our insurance would have been invalid. If you are unable to carry cases up and down stairs make sure you book a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkeeno17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your views with others and hope that your holiday after leaving us was enjoyable.
Yes we do not have a lift but do have a good supply of ground floor rooms available on request for anybody with walking difficulty but also generally happy to assist guests with luggage where possible even thoughb the days of porters in most 3 star hotels are long gone.
I can assure you and others that our bar prices are not hiked in anyway and compare most favourably with most resaurants and pubs in the locallity but regret you though these to be high.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews