We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing evening”
Review of La Rioja - CLOSED

La Rioja
Price range: US$15 - US$39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A relaxing evening”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Have just enjoyed a very tasty meal at La Rioja. We had not dined here before and have enjoyed the meal. We opted for the tapas. Each was well presented, a good sized portion and very tasty. We had a set menu for £18 a person which I thought was good value for the variety and quality of the food. The only reason I have not awarded 5 stars was because the service was extremely slow. I hasten to add that all the waiting staff were extremely nice but there was a long wait at each stage between cold/hot tapas, ordering coffee, asking for sugar (twice) and the bill. This was not a major problem for us but something to be aware of.

Helpful?
1 Thank Higs05
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    8
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“T-bone and Fideua!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We're regular costumers at La Rioja, that been said, the new concept now on display for the restaurant has vastly improved our experience.

There's a fresh food counter as you walk in with all the Fish, Meat, Cheese, and shellfish all on ice on an impressive display.

On our first time trying the new concept we choose some mussels on white wine and some crusty bread to start with, with a T-bone steak to follow; which we shared between 2, as the 42 oz, was way too much to be handled by one person!! What can i say, mussels delicious and the t-bone was cooked to perfection!! The amount of food was incredible, we could not finish the T-bone!

We returned 2 weeks later, this time for a light lunch, and yet again we were pleasantly surprised. This time the new addition to the menu was the Fideua, basically a paella but without the rice and pasta instead, we choose the Mixed Fideua, and no words can give it justice, the amount of meat and shellfish contained in that little pan was incredible, and the flavour out of this world!

We have liked it so much that already we have another reservation for this coming Saturday! Enough said!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lopez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spanish Food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Big change to this place, there is now a fresh food counter as you walk in, Fish, Meat, Cheese, Shellfish, Veg & wine all on ice.
A distinct change from pointing at numbers or weird writing on a menu, You pick your own food!

I chose a Sea Bass which was handed to the Chef & presented back to me perfectly cooked with mediterranean herbs Veg & salad. Perfect!
The meat selection looked as appetising, There is even a 42 oz T bone on offer!
definitely will be revisiting soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myview2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“ok i guess”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I used to frequent La Rioja frequently up to a few years ago, but stopped going as the service was always chaotic at best. Whilst it has improved it’s still a problem, ordering or re-ordering drinks throughout the meal. The staff does work hard but it just seems there are not enough of them to cope.
The food arrived ok, and to be honest it was ok, but nothing outstanding. In our Tapas was Costillas, Bacalao, Fabada and Queso de cabra along with Patas Bravas. The Queso was the outstanding dish of the lot and the others were good but not the best I’ve had (even in the UK).
Whilst things have got better, I don’t have any burning ambition to return, but if I were going as a group again this wouldn’t be a problem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magoodliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Visited last week whilst on business in the Cheshire area.
minimal atmosphere and very cold!
Tapas was nice, especially the tortilla however our drinks took around 15 minutes to arrive even though there was only 2 tables in.

The décor is very strange, extremely dim lighting was hard to see food and there is an abundance of barrels around the place? Was unsure if the restaurant was running a Spanish theme or that of a pirate ship.

Overall, food is OK, staff are not very attentive and it needs a serious looking at in terms of décor and lighting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finefoodforever1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rioja also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing