We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening for my husbands birthday”
Review of Players Restaurant - CLOSED

Players Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Players offers fine cuisine in vibrant surroundings. A destination restaurant popular in the local area.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic evening for my husbands birthday”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

1st time visit to Players and was very very impressed. We were shown to a beautiful table by a lovely young girl. The food and service was second to none and we were totally impressed. The fillet steak was absolutely cooked to perfection and my husband had the lemon sole which was lovely. We enjoyed it that much we are going again tomorrow night! The prices aren't extortionate either....you don't mind paying for fine dining like this. I recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great place to eat while staying at a very average hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott Hotel on business trips most months over the last few years. I stay there because it is convenient for my office in Altrincham, otherwise I would choose another hotel. The Marriott offers average food in a typical airport hotel environment. Not a place to relax and have a meal after a busy day.

However, walk through to the Players Restaurant and that all changes. The food in this restaurant is fresh, well cooked and is served in a friendly atmosphere. The menu offers something for all tastes, and the wines are good.

I have eaten alone here, and have also entertained business guests. I've spotted a few football celebs eating here with family and friends. Prices are slightly above average but still very affordable. The food is anything but average. It's worth every penny to be able to relax, be seated comfortably and be served with quality and tasteful food in a very pleasant environment.

This is an oasis of pleasure in the arid desert that is the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryNJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“surprising”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

a nice lunch, great ambiance, attentive staff, frsh ingredients, all in all, a good experience.....
cannot give 5 star, as it was overpriced for what it was...and that is being honest as a very simple salad, a baguette and some fries, should never cost THAT much..but it was done as well as can be expected

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy-Advisonary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Players is attached to the Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel, but is under SeperatedDads ownership and management. You can't charge the bill to the room, but that's no big deal, and given that the food in the hotel is so dire then Players is the only decent dining option. And really very decent it is too!

Young, trendy and beautiful staff, frequented by the beautiful people of the area (including footballers and their WAGs), fabulous design (bar, casual and more formal area). And menus give a great range of formal vs light bigh bite.

I've eaten here a few times now, being at The Marriott every week , and the food has always been good whether it has been a burger, steak, or posher dish. Of particular note has been this weeks black cod with miso and wasabi, tandoori chicken (delicate and beautiful) and the snack portion of crispy duck (much bigger than a snack!).

I've never had a less than good experience here, but it is a bit pricey.

The only negative for me, is the beautiful flower arrangement have an over-bearing scent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect sunday Roast”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just back from Players, not been in a while and forgot how great it is, had a wonderful Sunday lunch with our friends and their child, Service & Food perfect and a really enjoyable afternoon.
must back at night as the menu is great and food wonderful, some great choices on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Players Restaurant also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing