We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding for the outsiders”

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“outstanding for the outsiders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Well we cannot get enough of Dunham Massey it has everything for the out door type. We love walking through the gardens,but this week we were in the new visitor centre restaurant,and enjoyed some baked potato,and salad sat outside in the sun Wow!!!it was lovely. Give it a visit it is a National trust property but we just love it, as a place to spend a few peaceful hours in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    450
    79
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

What is there to say about this place....stunning in size and wonderfully stylish, this house has everything. Inside, there's so much to see, from fine arts and treasures, to everyday tools and possessions. We visited to see the stately home, and again to see it as it was in the war as a military hospital. So much to learn and enjoy here. Grounds and gardens......gorgeous, and so nice for picnics. A treasure not to be missed, but allow the day for your visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the Stamford hospital is worth the trip alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

this is a wonderful place to visit, both house and gardens, but this year, the Stamford Military hospital exhibition is wonderful and very well done. The down side is the amount of people!!!! Although timed tickets into the house and therefore the exhibition, it was so crowded on a mid week day, it made trying to get around very uncomfortable. Perhaps the exhibition should be on longer than just this year as everyone appears to be trying to get there all at once.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank polb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The new military hospital exhibition is well worth a visit. It is very well done and really informative. I have been a NT member for some time and have usually visited during the winter to see the winter garden but this was a whole new slant on Dunham Massey. I visited with a few others including my son in his twenties who found it all fascinating and very atmospheric.
The food in NT properties has improved over the years and this was no exception. Great selection for young children now too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank debrapeter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have been twice with our young daughter and the new improvements of the information centre and cafe look great!!
Parking is £6 but it's cheap for a day out.
All the rangers I've met were lovely and knowledgable and helped to make the day a bit more special.
I haven't been in the house or gardens so cannot comment on them.

It would be nice if there was some sort of children's play area.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing