We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant night...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant night...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I attended the Abba tribute night at the Cresta Court Hotel last night, and we all had a great evening.

The bar staff on duty were excellent, in particularly one named 'Richard' - a more pleasant and charming man, you could not wish to meet.

It was also one of the best tribute bands that I have been too. Alot more interaction that just standing up and singing. The bar prices were quite expensive, but this is to be expected in a hotel.

A thoroughly enjoyable night - despite this mornings hangover!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your recent “Brilliant night” I have passed on your kind comments to Richard, thank you. Remember you can keep up to date with forthcoming events on Facebook & Twitter.

I look forward to seeing you back in the hotel soon

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    324
    213
    89
    51
See reviews for
137
372
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel is very clean rooms are very nice and comfy the staff are very friendly and helpfull would come back again and again we ordered room service it arrived very quickly and was very nice and good quality there is free shuttle bus to the airport 24 hours which is very helpfull and there is free wifi too.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that when your return you will be able to stay longer – we have some great value family breaks available on the website, plus we will be starting a large scale refurbishment programme throughout the next few months, which will improve the Hotel dramatically.
Thanks for your great feedback once again.

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Arriving late after a long journey from London, the check in process was efficient although monosyllabic. No problem with that though as pleased to get to my 3rd floor room - which on first glance was perfectly adequate. Bed on the small side (standard double?), but fine for 2 nights. Bathroom was clean with a decent size shower.

Trying to sleep was an entirely different story. Having read some of the earlier reviews I was prepared for the noise with earplugs (although you may still struggle as the walls and floors are very thin). Pillows - all four of them - are rock hard and reception don't have any alternatives which is strange for a hotel of this size. In other news my sheet didn't seem to fit the mattress either - maybe they changed the beds and kept the old sheets?

When it comes to food, Breakfast is fine - Roadside cafe fine, but fine - although not worth £8.50. However at least in a cafe you could order what you wanted. Here hot food is buffet style and your choice of eggs is fried or nothing. I asked for two boiled eggs - not possible. I realise they have a lot of football supporters for breakfast on a sunday, but they are only replenishing 7 hot things on a buffet, a boiled egg doesn't seem a lot to ask for.

My advice for lunch and dinnner would be "just don't" Service incompetent, Food arriving from the kitchen at variable times for our party, or not at all, and not matched to side dishes which invariably failed to arrive without asking at least twice.

Food itself I think is best described as 'cheap' and I imagine pre packaged in some form or other. If more than 50% of the menu was made from fresh ingredients from scratch I'd be amazed. In fact I'd demand to see the chef actually do it. There's a whole page of the 4 page menu dedicated to meet from local suppliers 'where possible', but no indication on the menu when and if this is the case.

Anyway, bring ear plugs, your own pillow, don't eat in the restaurant or the bar and make sure if you want a wake up call or paper in the morning you reconfirm every night of your stay and you'll be just fine. It's not the worst room i've stayed in for £60 a night but the overall experience was poor.

PS. Kudos to the red haired waiter on Saturday night who was genuinely trying to help and did it with a smile. A marked contrast to the hapless restaurant manager and the other waiter who was completely disinterested, disengaged and genuinely rude.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the top floor at the end of a corridor if possible - might be a touch quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asifby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed feedback and I hope you will accept my apologies that your stay was not more positive. I have investigated your comments and would like to explain my actions to ensure that this experience isn’t repeated in the future.

With regards to the beds, we currently offer some rooms with small double beds and some with standards double beds, however, during the Hotel’s extensive refurbishment (planned to start in the next few months) our Head Housekeeper, Carol is reviewing both the size and quality of all the beds, replacing beds, bedding and pillows to ensure that you have a restful and comfortable night’s sleep.

Further to your comments regarding the bedding and the pillows being unsuitable, we do have a stock of alternative pillows, but perhaps we need to make this better known. As mentioned before, part of our refurbishment will include brand new bedding all round, so we hope that the problems you experienced should not be repeated.

Your experience at breakfast was not an acceptable one. Guests requesting a boiled egg should indeed be served with a boiled egg. I have discussed with my breakfast supervisor, Agnes, and we have re-communicated our standards to the service team. In addition, as part of the refurbishment changes I am working with our Chef, Mark, to develop an improved breakfast offering which highlights more of our local produce and local suppliers, but also offers more egg styles as a standard breakfast item and many more “cook to order” choices.

Please accept our apologies for your experience at dinner. On the evening in question we were much busier than usual, your group had requested to eat from two separate menus and in hindsight this proved to be a little more difficult than we imagined. I appreciate your positive comments about the red haired waiter.

Clearly your experience of the hotel was not as I would have liked, but the team of people who have been involved in looking at the issues you raised, are committed to raising our standard for every guest. Should you decide to stay with us in the near future, please contact me directly and I will arrange for a complimentary upgrade.

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Older style hotel which was clean if a little dated. The furniture was cheap & nasty & looked as though it had been there since the 70s. Also the lamps on the walls were brass candle like things that were fashionable once 30 years ago!
Breakfast was the usual selection of hot and cold items. Paid £8.50 for it which in my opinion was a little over priced.
The hotels caters for large groups, parties & weddings.When I was staying people were talking and arguing until 5am and with the thin walls I could hear nearly every word of it!
Having said all that lots of parking and a 10 minute walk into the town for quick links to Old Trafford & Manchester. ( £4.90 for a metrolink day ticket. Trams every 10 minutes). The train station area is very scruffy. Go up one of the side streets and you come to the main shopping area which is a lot nicer.There's a Wetherspoons & Slug & Lettuce in the town as well as a newish Frankie & Benny's by the cinema complex.
The hotel served its purpose as a stop over for the night & as the price was very reasonable overall as i was happy with my stay. Wouldn't stay there again though!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iciejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I agree that the Hotel is well located for a Metrolink ride to Manchester, Old Trafford, The Lowry and other attractions. Altrincham itself has some fabulous independent shops and restaurants to try, plus is undergoing a large scale regeneration so is only set to get better.

With regards to the Hotel looking & feeling dated, I agree that it needs some TLC. And, it is going to receive this in the next month or so with a full refurbishment plan to improve the interior dramatically. One of the issues we are currently addressing is that of noise transference between rooms, and I hope to have more concrete information on how this will be improving as the plans are finalised. I would hope that you will stay again at the Hotel once the refurbishment is completed, so that you can experience for yourself the improvements we have made.

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here the night before our flight to The Gambia, check in was efficient and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. Our transfer to and from the airport was included for £67 as well as parking for a week ... What a deal!!! We would definitely recommend this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind comments and my team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your room and your stay at the Hotel. I have passed your feedback regards check-in to Liz Royle, reception manager, and her team and they say a huge thank you!

We hope to continue to offer great value deals once the Hotel refurbishment is complete in the autumn, so please do stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the night to see a concert at the MEN. Location is good for the metrolink, approx 10 min walk.
Room was basic, everything seemed dated from the shower to the old hair dryer. Very hard mattress and paper thin walls. Could hear the guests upstairs visiting the bathroom during the night!
Service was ok, nothing special. Wouldn't stay here again, but then considering the low rate we paid, wasn't expecting a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy87uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHindley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I was delighted that you appreciated the great hotel location, but also concerned regards your comments on the Hotel being dated and issues with the bedroom. We are working to improve on all the issues you faced but on behalf of the Hotel team, want to offer our apologies.

The Hotel is about to undergo a full refurbishment plan to improve the interior and also look at how we can minimise noise transference between rooms, and I hope to have more substantial information on how this will be improving as the plans are finalised in the next month or so. Would you like me to send you further information on how we will be addressing the noise issue you faced when I have this? Part of the plan is to work with our head housekeeper, Carol to replace all beds and bedding so that you get a much improved night’s sleep. We will also be investing much energy into taking our enthusiastic team to the next level in service standards, though a programme of support and training.
Please contact me directly should you decide to return to the Hotel in the autumn, after the refurbishment, so that you can experience the improvements we have made first hand.

Kind Regards
Paul Hindley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
Address: Church Street, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 4DP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cresta Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altrincham Best Western
Best Western Altrincham
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing