We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poor for Christmas party ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the Cresta court hotel for our works Christmas party. I was quite disappointed in the good. The soup starter was mediocre and tasted from a packet. For the main course i had a turkey dinner. The turkey was ok. Not very generous with the pigs in blankets ! Only had one !! The cheese and biscuits had shrivelled grapes on my plate. For the price I would of expected a better standard. Service was ok.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank dee761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have pick this hotel as part of a airport park and ride. The hotel was easy to find and has ample parking. The whole hotel was clean and tidy. The rooms are small but well equiped including tea and coffee. The staff were very helpful and polite. The bar prices are a bit steep but not to high.
For an over night stop before flying out in the morning it is ideal.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Martin55N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went on our office Christmas party on Friday had a fab time, food was excellent as always and a good choice, service attentive, there was a festive atmosphere in the air,the dj was superb getting every one in the party mood he certainly worked hard,danced right the way through. everyone who attended had a fantastic night and we are coming back next Christmas and us party animals are going to their event nights great value for money hope this helps

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and each time seems to get worse! The overall hotel is good but the restaurant is awful with the service to match! It's worth driving to the nearest mcdonalds for food and I can't stand that place either! No care from the waitrons and all food tasting the same and plain! This is a review mainly about the restaurant as the rest of the hotel is good and clean and in a good location

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdjsksl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went to a so called gala dinner night here on Friday. Unbelievable. Almost £30 for watery soup, a plated dinner and some rank cheap cheese. The salmon option came with the same veg as the turkey -- carrots, sprouts and spuds that had obviously been done in a deep fat fryer. The vegetarian option was mixed bean chilli with rice--- and ---- carrots, sprouts and tatties.......???

The room itself was set out like a NAAFI canteen with long tables and lighting that would have shamed a prison cell. The disco wasn't too bad. But for a gala dinner, I would have expected a live act as well.

One of the worst function venues I have ever had the misfortune to attend. A GHASTLY EXPERIENCE.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DUNMARCHIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is possibly the worst value for money hotel I have ever stayed in. We paid £90 for a night with no breakfast (thankfully).

The warm welcome was simply asking for our name and giving us a key-card and paper with the room number on it.

The room was very small and not very clean. The pen by the bedside was covered in dust which can't really say much about either how thoroughly they clean or how busy they are. The remote for the telly was held together with sellotape but still fell apart.

When we got in at about 10.00 there was a loud party with music going on somewhere on the ground floor. We could hear the bass clearly in our second floor room even with the TV on. The music continued past midnight when the corridors filled with drunks, shouting and knocking on each others doors until 4am. This is what makes me compare the place to a nightclub toilet as the sound levels in our room were on a similar level.

On the plus side, the windows appear to do a good job of keeping the sound from outside down as when we opened them in the morning there was a loud fan of some kind outside. Could be an additional problem in the warmer months.

On checkout, reception greeted us warmly with, "What room number? How was your stay?"
I replied that it had been very noisy and unpleasant. The reaction from the staff was not at all concerned, just a quick sorry and back to their work. This response seemed like they were used to this kind of feedback and not in the least bit interested.

Best Western advertise themselves as hotels with personality. This hotel had a very unpleasant personality and the staff response to our complaints showed a complete lack of care for their customers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor sound like you are in a nightclub toilet with the bass and the drunks. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the smallest hotel room I've ever seen in ten years of business travel, the bed was very wide as well, leaving two small slivers of space between each side and the walls, and a small corridor to the bathroom. Looking at the fire map there are even-smaller rooms, which i assume are for toddlers.

The hotel is located on a busy junction and has no sound proofing to the windows, i checked several times during the stay that the window wasn't open, as the noise from the traffic was so loud. My room was directly above the hotel door so I got to listen to the chat and coughing from the smokers all night as well. The walls in the room are paper thin so prepare to hear everything your neighbour does and says.. The hotel was full of groups of young blokes, whose preferred method of opening their rooms appeared to be kicking them open, but only after they'd stood having long, loud conversations in the corridor.

The bed, although very wide, was too short (I'm only 6'), very hard, and had a solid ridge in the middle where the two single beds were pushed together. The decor was nice, but sparse - two chairs and a tiny table, a tv and wall rack for hanging clothes and that's about it. Both days the window was left wide open by the cleaners, not ideal in late November.

Restaurant food was passable. The table matched the rooms, very small and thin. Okay for a romantic meal where you want to be close to your partner, almost nose to nose, not so great when you're sitting across from a work colleague.

There were some good points, it's very clean and the staff at reception and in the restaurant were excellent. It's a five minute walk to the centre of Altrincham and handy for the tram into Manchester, and the new decor is nice, especially downstairs in reception. It's a cheap place to stay when on business in Manchester. But it's far too noisy to recommend for any type of visit, they should have spent a bit on secondary glazing in the front facing rooms.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank 52cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
1.8 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
16.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,723 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cresta Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cresta Court Hotel

Address: Church Street, Altrincham WA14 4DP, England (Formerly Best Western Cresta Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cresta Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cresta Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altrincham Best Western
Best Western Altrincham
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing