We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best B&B I know”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best B&B I know”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and rarely write a review. I recently stayed at Ash Farm for the second time and I have to put this review in because this is really the best B&B I have yet to find.
This is down to many factors.
The house with its open fires and welcome, feeling more like a friends cottage than a B&B.
The standard of the rooms, each one is individually furnished, really comfortable and with great features both in decoration and the standard of those little extras which go so far to make you feel relaxed and at ease.
The location, convenient for Manchester and the airport and yet in the countryside next to the grounds of the wonderful Dunham Massey.
The breakfasts which put most five star luxury hotels to shame!!! Trust me on this one!!
Finally the owners who are amongst the most naturally friendly and likeable people you are likely to meet and I include in this their son who is cut from the same block.
If ever you need to stay in this area forget anywhere else and make sure you book here because you will not regret it.

Room Tip: They are all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
136
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place is a real find, and it's hard to believe it's only 20 minutes from Manchester Airport, because you're in the middle of the countryside and it's so peaceful! Everything about our stay was perfect: David and Janice are warm and welcoming, the house is beautifully furnished, there's a real fire, lovely wood everywhere, and when they heard it was his birthday, they even put candles in my husband's breakfast sausages! (See picture) The room was soooo comfortable, with the biggest bed we've ever seen in our lives! It must have been 8 ft across! (Room 2) The breakfast was really generous and everything was of the best quality. Right next door is a pub (The Swan With Two Nicks) which serves real ales and good food, and you're only 10 minutes walk from the Dunham Massey National Trust property, with its wonderful deer park, fascinating house and Stables cafe. The canal is only 5 minutes walk in the other direction. This is a perfect place to stay for a long weekend or even a week, as it's so close to Manchester

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scullyboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Deep down a leafy Cheshire lane is Ash Farm just south of Altrincham and situated next door to the Swan with two nicks, a pub we used use in the 1960s and 70s. Both are on the edge of Dunham Massey park which was bequeathed to the Nationa Trust in 1976. Great setting for a top B+B with very accommodating hosts in Janice and David. We didn't fancy rising on a sunday morning for breakfast 7-9am so asked for scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and kippers with a poached egg to be put on a tary which I intended to collect at 9 o'clock but no, David brought these to our door; nice man! Next time we need accomodation in the area, Ash Farm will be my first call.

So excellent set up, thoroughly recommend it even though we had the smallest room in the place (which to be fair, we were told about before we booked). The room was well equipped but felt ready for sprucing up a bit and some small changes to keep the shower water within the confines of the tray.

Room Tip: Our room was called the Garden Room and was accessed from outside the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is an beautiful guest house furnished to a high quality and the service was excellent.
David and Janice were extremely welcoming and the breakfast was outstanding - the sausages are unique! Would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerjalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was a one night stay to celebrate a large family celebration nearby (ish) in Cheadle Hulme, we were attracted by the excellent reviews.
No sooner had we pulled into the parking area we were met by David who introduced himself in a very friendly & warm manner. We were then shown the downstairs facilities, before being shown to our room.
The room was fine with great views of the Cheshire countryside.
Breakfast was outstanding, it was just a shame that we had to be mindful that we were scheduled for a large lunch.
Overall - outstanding, David & Janice are superb hosts and listen to any comments guests suggest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfb4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a lovely Guest House set in a beautiful garden, very easy located for Manchester, felt very welcome by Janice and David everything about the room and breakfast was explained fully, the room was spotless and very comfortable with everything you could need for your stay, Breakfast was outstanding and the pub next next door is very friendly and does very good food, There is a separate lounge you can sit in and a beautiful garden with plenty of seating, I spend over a 100 nights a year in different accommodation and locations in the UK, this has now become one of my favourites.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalteseBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our visit to RHS Tatton in July. Immediately we parked we were met and greeted by David who showed us around and got us settled in.

We have been going to Tatton for at least 8 years and we have tried out a number of different locations in terms of the proximity to the Flower Show and the general accommodation and dining experience. For us this is the best one. Turn left out of the country lane and then it is a short distance to the roundabout over the M56 and once round it is the second left turn and you are on the road to Tatton. Easy.

In terms of accommodation we were on the first floor and had the room with the 7 foot bed which was enormous and very comfortable, a TV, sitting area plus bathroom and wifi. The view is out over the garden and then onto open fields. Parking is close by.

The b+b is set in a rural location with views over the fields at the front and is close to a canal. It is next door to the Swan with 2 Nicks which serves flavoursome beers and very tasty meals especially the chilli which I have with chips! It is a popular pub and many people come to dine. It is a great bonus having it next door. Even with the windows fully open on a summer's evening we had no problems with noise.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and was well cooked and very tasty.

All in all we enjoyed our time at Ash Farm with the added bonus that it is run by snooker legend David Taylor who still has a full sized snooker table in one of the converted barns. Thnk you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
2.6 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
5.0 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Farm Country Guest House

Property: Ash Farm Country Guest House
Address: Ash Farm Park Lane | Little Bollington, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 4TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ash Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Farm Country Guest House perfectly situated in Cheshire only 10 miles from Manchester and 6 miles from Manchester International Airport. Beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms with either a bath or power shower, tea/coffee making facility, colour TV and freeview, wireless internet, hairdryer, trouser press, iron and bath robes plus complimentary toiletries. All bedrooms enhanced by stunning views over National Trust countryside. Residents lounge and breakfast room where we serve full English local produce breakfast of your choice - both rooms with open log fires. Within 5 minutes walking distance to two country pubs also Dunham Massey Hall and Park and Bridgewater Canal. Ample parking for guests (leave your car when departing from the airport - local taxi pounds 14.00 one way). All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ash Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Farm Country Guest House Hotel Altrincham
Ash Farm Country Guest House Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing