We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the best place in Altrincham for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Road Cafe

Oxford Road Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just the best place in Altrincham for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Have been a regular at this cafe for a couple of years. Service and food always top class. The cafe has just recently moved across the road to larger premises hence doubling its customer capacity. With such an increase service has suffered but knowing the owner this will be addressed and quickly. My recent visit confirmed my belief. Service was slick and attentive. Staff were very pleasant and the food offerings were just excellent. This cafe is a real plus for Altrincham and merits support. There's really nothing nicer than early morning breakfast cooked well,served with a smile and a browse through the morning papers.
Would highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    38
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Cafe - Long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

went here last week was just ok! although it was very busy we got a table quite quick took a while for our order to be taken, we waited 30 mins for our drinks (coffee and a water) and waited over an hour for food had to ask if our order was misplaced or forgotten. The food was ok nothing i couldn't do myself at home. The staff here was very friendly although i felt sorry for them as there is hardly any space for them to walk around - one server spilled water all over the seats next to us, another tripped and dropped butter in my lap twice! another sever tripped over a customers bag as it really is a tight squeeze. Maybe if they move one of the tables out the middle it would feel less cramped and the staff wouldn't need to do acrobats when serving food.. oh and after all this we was told it was cash only cards was not accepted although there was no sign expressing this anywhere in the cafe - good job my partner had cash on him normally we only carry cards!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best cafe in Altrincham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This cafe never fails to disappoint. I have been a regular for breakfast 1 day a week for the past 6 months, and I would not consider going anywhere else as I do not think that it can be beaten.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Transit225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Have been going to this cafe for a few years and keep meaning to write a review

Best cafe by far the food never disappoints
When menu was changed about a year ago and so many new options were available I did feel that the quality may suffer but could not of been more wrong
Every meal I have tried ( there have been plenty) I cannot fault

Just wish it was open of an evening as would certainly rival the current restaurants

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0usi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, unique menu, good tea - everything a cafe should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the best cafe I've found in Altrincham.

The prices are reasonable - I love that you can get anything from a cheap basic toast or porridge, or reasonably priced £2.50 sausage barm, or jacket potatoes (less than £4!), to exciting salads, burgers, burritos etc. The range of breakfasts is amazing - there are really imaginative variations on a 'full english', like the 'Stu special' which has salmon and asparagus etc. I also love the variations of Eggs Benedict you can order. They sell all the classics with their own unique twist. There's also a lovely selection of loose leaf teas.

It's the perfect place to go for brunch with friends, a cosy, jolly place. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pelican_Beak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxford Road Cafe also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Oxford Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing