We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bulls Head & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
notts england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good one nighter”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for one night, while waiting for a flight from Manchester airport for which it is well suited. The room was comfy and well appointed with views of the local crown bowling green.The rooms are in the annex to the pub where meals are available. The evening menu was fairly comprehensive and reasonably priced.In contrast the buffet breakfast was disappointing, bacon and sausages ok, but the eggs very overcooked.Close by is a small cafe offering breakfasts which would appear to give better value.
The pub had a number of local real ales by Robinsons which were well kept.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpeteNottsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    103
    30
    17
    8
See reviews for
56
135
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked a room here via Laterooms whilst stuck on a plane at Manchester airport. Simultaneously, "home" had booked a room for me elsewhere. Not to worry, I thought, because someone else on this plane can easly take this booking. But Laterooms had told me (erroneously, it turned out, or maybe I misheard) that I had to arrive by midnight. At 23:30 I called to cancel, not worrying about the small sum of £55 they had charged.

The next day, whilst I was continuing my journey (by train) the Bulls Head called me to say that in the circumstances (which they had deduced) the charge would be waived. You cannot say fairer than that.

I should say, of course, that I absolutley in no way encourage anyone to book here with the expectation that they can easily cancel - that would be grossly unfair to the eastablishment. I just want to express my appreciation for their quality of service, even for a "no show".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Today is my last night at Bulls Head here in Hale Barns and it has been very memorable experience. I have been here for over 8 days now. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The restaurant staff is also equally helpful and would even cater to your specific needs that are not in the menu card. For eg., for some strange reason, I was on a salad diet for the supper and there you go each night I have been getting a plate full of salad and a bowl full of fruits, that is not shown in the menu card. The breakfast, though charged separately is not very lavish but caters to your specific needs and a special mention there for John, who has always been smilingly catering to the customers each morning.

In all a memorable experience and I strongly recommend to all. The only negative point is the sound each room door makes while shutting and if you are not a sound sleeper, that can wake you up in the middle of the night. The rooms are comfortable with a tea cattle and other usual stuff.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor overlooking a lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiii999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Needed a hotel on a night that Manchester United were playing at home, left it late. Tried the Crest at Altrincham they quoted £87 for a twin room not including breakfast normal rate is £63, staff not interested. Called the Bull they had a room and were most helpful the room was £55.00, clean comfortable with everything you need. Staff really helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GedD545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had an early morning flight and needed somewhere to stay the night and to leave the car. Came across the Bulls Head and read the reviews, this is so convenient, lovely room, clean and warm and quiet, also ate a substantial meal in the pub itself, manager booked a taxi for us which was Trafford taxis, £6 to the airport. We will certainly use the Bulls Head in the future.
Elizabeth Notts

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We only stayed for one night (Saturday) but will happily be staying again. Room was bright and clean. Shower (over bath) was really strong and blasted any grime away, lovely, plenty of hot water and easy to use. Bed was large and comfortable with no roll together.

Dined in the pub next door and the food was excellent.

The gentleman on reception was very helpful and friendly. From our experience we would highly recommend both the Bulls Head and the Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith81d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Arrived on a Friday to visit my brother and family to stay till Sunday as my brother had no room to put us up, so went on Google search and found the Bull`s Head in Hale Barns, only about a mile from the M56 and Manchester Airport. We were given a friendly reception in the Lodge by Dennis the owner/manager.who checked us in quickly.We asked for a twin ensuite on the ground floor and that is what we got. The room was big and very clean indeed and had tea & coffee making facilities, a modern freeview tv on a large desk with drawers underneath and a hanging robe for coats and dresses/suits.The room also had a table, a rocking chair and an ordinary chair. The wall heater which was we could control ourselves kept us warm.The beds were very comfortable and with adequate bedding giving us a good night`s sleep. The room also came equipped with a trouser press, and a hair dryer in one of the drawers. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped with 3 towels each and 2 bath mats, and the bathroom also had soap dispensers at the wash basin and also over the bath and tissues were also provided.
We had breakfast both mornings in the Bulls Head pub just next door. There was a huge choice of food, too much to mention individually plus a full English breakfast. We really did have a very comfortable weekend here and as the title suggests, we will be back! Gwen & Pat Oneill

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearwood68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
2.1 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head & Lodge

Property: The Bulls Head & Lodge
Address: Wicker Lane | Hale Barns, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 0HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bulls Head & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head Hotel Altrincham
The Bulls Head And Lodge
The Bulls Head & Lodge Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing