We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bulls Head & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place is run from the pub next door, which is where breakfast is served. Its aimed at the Premier Inn level, but its better than that. The room contains everything you need for a short stay and is well decorated and clean. Its a harder than it should be to book a room (you'll see!) but all in all, it punches above its weight

Room Tip: The first room on the ground floor is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TFH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed prior to early morning holiday flight. Pleasantly surprised, rooms approximately equivalent to Premier Inn, but with a bit more character at (as booked) around £20 per couple less. Pub food was very good, as was the beer. Interestingly grumpy barman - guessing he may be a "character". Check in was an absolute pleasure due to efficient & friendly night porter. Can't comment on breakfast as we left at 06:45, before service starts. Would recommend and will stay again when flying from Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very quiet friendly lodge , nice pub next door. , breakfast good , room comfortable . Bed a little hard but nice chair to sit and relax in .Had drink in pub sitting in sun overlooking bowling gree. Already booked room for return trip

Room Tip: In room over looking bowl green , quiet over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabJetLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived after an early morning flight on way to a funeral. Some friends were staying there. No hesitation in arranging breakfast for me, very friendly greeting. Would definitely stay there when in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank chas3914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just stumbled across this place what a lovely place we've ordered a sandwich and its the best ever came toasted melted tuna cheese, salad and the best wedges ever going back for tea later lovely and clean quick friendly service rooms 50£ a night

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have now stayed here over five times since February and each time we have been warmly received, courteously had every query or request dealt with in a superb and excellent manner and our last stay was the best where they went out of there way to assist us.

This is a great place to stay (and eat next door in the pub......The lamb hotpot & Beef Hash are excellent).for families, singles / couples travelling or businessmen (who don't need state of the art Tech / communications) at a very reasonable price.
Please note the cooked breakfast is very good & filling (sausages taste great!)
Staff are all very polite both in the lodge and the pub.
Highly reccomended, but p[lease do not stay expecting brand new modern rooms / en suites....these rooms are older but are well maintained, there's always plenty of hot water and the beds are comfortable!
Great value for Manchester and so near the airport! local private hire taxis are also very reasonable and reliable and can be booked by phone or App or via the lodge staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms further away from reception have the best free Wifi pick up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have done two separate stays at this hotel. On both occasions fantastic rooms and reception. Excellent clean rooms, clean bedding, quiet nights, no noise in the corridors like other places, breakfast very nice and well cooked. I am a very fussy person but both my stays here have been fantastic.

Room Tip: Green grass open area view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
2.1 mi away
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
1.7 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#65 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ash Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head & Lodge

Address: Wicker Lane | Hale Barns, Altrincham WA15 0HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bulls Head & Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your The Bulls Head & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head And Lodge
The Bulls Head Hotel Altrincham
The Bulls Head & Lodge Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing