We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeh Nice Food - but very expensive for shared rushed seating & arrogant 'We Are The Best' Service by scruffy kids”
Review of SUD Pasta Altrincham - CLOSED

SUD Pasta Altrincham
Price range: £9 - £20
Description: A Southern Italian Pasta Kitchen. Inspired by the Italian South. Made in Manchester. We pledge to put our heart and soul onto each and every plate we serve.
Restaurant details
Description: A Southern Italian Pasta Kitchen. Inspired by the Italian South. Made in Manchester. We pledge to put our heart and soul onto each and every plate we serve.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Visited here early tea time last week only to be greeted by a very arrogant and scruffy member of staff called Tony who would have been under dressed for a student union party on a Monday night. Tony managed to fined me the end of a long wooden bench on the same table as five other customers who were about to leave. Tony mr charisma allowed me to order a glass of wine on the pretext I would have to move again when the rest of the table paid bill. Let's see what happens I thought so I agreed. Surely enough wine arrives on his recommendation which was super - a nice Sicilian Passimiento which when I had 2 glasses turned out to be £17. This wine is great and available online for £9 bottle delivered. Persuaded by Tony again to go for the sea food pasta dish in essence a very well cooked and tasty simply presented seafood pretentious marinara. When it arrived I had already been moved to the other end of table by his scruffy nibs. Pasta arrives with a napkin fork and spoon no bread nothing. Knowing my pasta I decide to try with my fork how the pasta had been cooked before the owner Alex made the very wrong decision in stopping me take even one bite almost laughing and patronising me into telling me I had to eat it with the spoon and not a fork. By the way this precious bowl of pasta later turned out to cost £17 as well. I had to remind Alex in Italian not to worry having opened over 50 uk various branded Italian restaurants. I think he got the message when I asked for some bread to mop up this precious sauce he harped on about. Beautiful pasta dish eaten but overly expensive I was conned into eating a very average Sicilian orange tart. Oranges much better from Seville lads at this rate. Just finished last mouthful the bill arrives by the young scruff not even asked for a coffee £40. Left no tip and promptly departed. Great food very arrogant staff

Date of visit: October 2017
92  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SugoPastaKitchen, Owner at SUD Pasta Altrincham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

James,

Having had the pleasure of your company for a short while last week I can only assume that your constant accusation of arrogance is a misdirected attempted at deflecting your own. Just to place on record, the fact you were (or were you?) a founder of one of the chief reasons Italian food has such an appalling rep in the U.K (Bella Italia) won’t give you special treatment in our Restaurant. Even Juan Mata has to share a table! And sadly it also won’t mean that we hang off your every word. Needless to say the minute we take food inspiration/advice from Bella Italia will spark the end of my involvement in Sugo Pasta Kitchen.

I’m sorry you found our front of house manager ‘arrogant’ and ‘scruffy’, however let me be very clear that Tony is an absolute shining light in our restaurant, and sorry to say but we wouldn’t swap him for anyone-let alone a boe-tied smarmy waitor that you were quite clearly pining for. Did he not laugh at your jokes James?

James, you came in on a busy (fully booked) Friday night and we happened to have a 45 minute slot available on a table which Tony clearly explained to you. You accepted (under no pressure) so please don’t complain about time constraints when the realities where communicated so clearly to you.

To talk numbers (and I didn’t think I’d need to be explaining this to such a pioneer in the restaurant world), if you can buy a bottle for £9 and we sell it for £28 the profit margin is 67%, which is less than the restaurant average mark-up of 70-75%. But you knew this James? Also our seafood Scoglio (at £17) again makes distinctively less profit than average, or even cheaper pasta dishes. I notice you didn’t go for the £9 aglio oglio cavatelli? I know this may come as a surprise James but we source the best ingredients we can either locally or direct from Puglia and cook everything to order with obsessive attention to detail. We don’t source cheap and warm things through in a microwave, which (if your Bella Italia story is true) is a style of restaurant you can be proud of helping to bring to the U.K.

Lastly James, and sorry to be so blunt, but please don’t come to our restaurant again. We work damn hard at doing what we do and being the best that we can be and will not tolerate our staff being put down in the way you have (I realise that I too have sunk to your level in my response but quite frankly I felt obliged). But I’m sure you won’t miss our company anyway.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Friendly, great food. Have to book in advance, only small venue. limited menu if this is an issue for you, but to me is a good thing, as everything is fresh

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank AndrewGething
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Finally manage to eat here after a disaster with our reservation the week previously- which was entirely our fault and further to which staff at Sugo were really understanding and flexible. We throughly enjoyed our pasta; I had the broad bean and mint pesto dish and my friend, the traditional ragu. I found my portion size extremely generous and couldn't eat it all, though I really tried as it was such a tasty, fresh and summery dish. We did ask our waiter what she recommended in terms of wine to accompany our meals and what she suggested was spot on. No room for desert, maybe next time. Recommend this place to others- pricier than some, but well worth it.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Jedeye1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Great starters, great pasta, great dessert, great service and all at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend and will be taking visitors here again! Grazie mille!

Date of visit: October 2017
4  Thank ejwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Regular pasta bought in, totally standard. Expensive at that, but works in very very small restaurant. Won’t work in a bigger place closer to town

Date of visit: October 2017
6  Thank trev0rme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SugoPastaKitchen, Owner at SUD Pasta Altrincham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Got to wholeheartidly disagree with your accusation of us being a Con!

We are extremely proud and vocal about where our pasta comes from, to the extent that we have a blackboard in the restaurant explaining so!

Al Matarello are a small family run pasta factory in Puglia (who we know and regularly visit!) and they produce from our research the best southern Italian pasta (which by the way is just flour and water, not the fresh egg variety in the north) in the world!

For us to make this style of pasta ourselves would involve us opening our own factory, with the end result (due to resources etc) being not as good!

We love and celebrate utilizing and showcasing Puglian produce which enable us to do what we do best, cook!

Needless to say, we could buy a far less quality, mass produced pasta at a fraction of the cost, but we don’t.

Thanks
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SUD Pasta Altrincham also viewed

 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.