We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The View
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel(Welwyn Garden City)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel(Welwyn Garden City)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brocket Hall(Welwyn Garden City)
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City(Welwyn Garden City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
26
11
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
11
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairway taverngolf coursedance floorview barfull englishattending a weddingmodern lookshower gelconvenient placewonderful weddingnight stayclarefairwayssettingvenuefunctiontv
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We got married at The Fairway Tavern on the 15th September 2012. We could not fault a single thing! Venue is perfect. Food was amazing. Staff were exceptional. Rooms were clean,comfortable and all have stunning views! Breakfast was tasty. In one word FLAWLESS!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holden220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

on the 18th august 2012 i was married at the fairway tavern.for me this was the best day of my life from start to finish.The venue was outstanding the staff were amazing the food was incredible.we married in the garden,and i must say again everything looked so beautiful,there was nothing that clare and her staff had left out.we aslo stayed there with all our family,and again was very happy with the standard of all the rooms they were very clean,and best of all the view was so lovely.the package we took was outstanding value for money and was thoughtless through out the day.I would like to say a big thank you to clare and her amazing staff,i didnt have to worry about a thing, i would recommend this to anyone who's looking for a venue with a friendly family atmosphere.

Room Tip: looking on to golf course
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

On first sight the Fairway is a little dissapointing; 60's industrial redbrick. Second sight is no better; where's reception? Once you have the sense to go the bar it gets a lot better. The bar man will book you in and show you to your room. Like all the staff, we encountered, he was pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are under the bar, basic, clean and sufficient. They all have superb views over the golf course and to the hills beyond.
Bar meals are fine and pretty much what you would expect. Somehting went wrong with the curry, they were cooking for me. So, I was immediately offered anthying on the menu and a free round of drinks for our party of four. Problem solved, quickly and to our complete satisifaction.
The site is hand for Welwyn and beyond but feels rural and pleasant with nice walks to hand. it won't excite you but "it does the job".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here Friday 27th July 2012. The room was tiny and smelly. The bathroom can only be described at best as something you would find in a changing room. We got back to our room at 10 o'clock at night, my 5 year old son had to walk thru a packed bar of people drinking smoking and swearing! Our room was located under the bar so we were kept awake until 1am until the bar closed. We could hear every foot step, every voice and every song the DJ played. There was also a very annoying tapping noise every couple of minutes until the bar closed. At 7.30 in the morning there was someone cutting grass right outside our window!!!! We didn't hang around for breakfast and made a quick exit. I Would absolutely NOT recommend this horrible little hole to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny-Carnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairwaytavern, Owner at The View, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
You were allocated our disabled room as you requested a blow up air bed to be provided for your son as we do not have family accommodation, this would have made the room a lot more crowded than normal. Also being a disabled room, the bathroom is designed as a roll in wet room specifically for wheelchair users. Our rooms are redecorated twice a year and we take pride in keeping them clean and tidy so do not understand your comments regarding the cleanliness. Unfortunately you were not informed on booking that there was an event taking place - where possible we try to inform our guests in advance - we can only apologise for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

On the 2nd June we were married at the Fairway Tavern. We chose this venue as it offered a reasonable wedding package. We must say that the organisation , food and disco made it the perfect day for us. The sun shone and we were married in a gazebo in the lovely grounds. Emma, Fiona and her team did not leave any details to fault . We also stayed overnight in the hotel and found the rooms very comfortable and woke in the morning to a more than substantial full English breakfast. Many thanks Fairway for making it such a memorable day and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chihuahua10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairwaytavern, Owner at The View, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments, we are glad that you had a wonderful wedding day and an enjoyable overnight stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews