We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding July 2013”
Review of The Fairway Tavern

The Fairway Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairway Tavern
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you are planning to get married and looking for a venue in Hertfordshire then The Fairway Tavern is the perfect setting to have your wedding which overlooks the golf course.

My newly wife and I just had ours there just over a week ago. The weather was the perfect setting to have our special day outside, followed by Pimms and lemonade after the ceremony while pictures were being taken. Then the guest were called in for the sit down meal inside the lovely marquee and were presented with a feast of food which they all thoroughly enjoyed (tell Chef he was right about the generous portions).

Once the meal was over, we all headed outside again for more drinks while your team cleared the tables to make room for the evening party.... Oh and what a party that was with your residential DJ Kevin listening to everything we had said with regards to music selection and the dance floor was never empty! Then if things could not get even better the evening buffet arrived just in time for all our guest who by now had quite a few to drink and they loved every bite!

To anyone looking to have a wedding and does not need the stress of planning then, The Fairway Tavern is the place to have it. Warm, friendly and accommodating staff from beginning to end!

Thanks once again to everyone at The Fairway Tavern
xxx Mr&Mrs Pereira

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

First impression's, I thought the overall views and location of the hotel were lovely and scenic. But on arrival to my single room I was disappointed. The room was really small, the decor very dated, and the bed was so uncomfortable. Really old I think and made of springs ew!! Put it this way once I laid on the bed and got up, you could see my body impression in the mattress, far too soft. Not good with a bad back.

There was also an annoying green light right above my head on the ceiling Which kept me awake due to it being so bright. Not sure what is was for but it was badly positioned. Could do with moving to someone out of sight. Also there was some kind of storage room or boiler room right behind my room and that was pretty noisy too.

Carrying on (yes there is more) the lamp was clearly from the bargain at ikea and I simply switched on even when u weren't touching it so had to turn it off at the wall!

Regarding the food/bar........ Well not much to say except working men's club surroundings which badly needed updating and fish and chips from the freezer. Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I got married here in march and it was the most perfect day we could imagine! Clare the wedding planner was always helpful and clear, always had time to answer any queries! On the actual day the staff were nothing but helpful, the food was fantastic ( plenty of compliments from guests ), the room looked amazing and the atmosphere was perfect! Definitely value for money and highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaseybrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were very lucky to be invited to a wedding at The Fairway Tavern on the 15 th March 2013. All I can say is WOW. amazing setting, beautiful room. and food was wonderful. I will say it is the best wedding I every been to. If you are getting married then this is the place to go to

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We got married at the Fairway Tavern on the 15th March 2013, What an outstanding job was done by Clare and her Team. I Can only describe the venue as a fairytale, the decor and the attention to detail that was paid was remarkable. We arrived at the venue 1 hour early due to the weather, but this didn't faze any of the staff. The venue with the marquee lining is stunning and would recommend this to any brides to be out there.
As for the meal, we went for the trial and were blown away by the quality, not expecting the same on the day, all I can say is that the food was exactly the same as we tried if not better.
I cannot recommend this venue highly enough, and would us again without hesitation.
Clare and her Team are outstanding and made mine and my husbands day one to really remember. thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I spent one nite here. Things were fine. My only criticism is that the check-in area is hard to find. Check-in and -out are done in the bar area.

The surroundings are beautiful and I'm sorry I didn't have more time to walk around and enjoy the countryside.

The rooms are small and basic but very clean and functional. Bed was very comfortable.

The bar area is over the rooms but I had no problems with noise. There is a good selection of beers. I had breakfast there and it was cooked to order and was fine.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We got married at The Fairway Tavern on the 15th September 2012. We could not fault a single thing! Venue is perfect. Food was amazing. Staff were exceptional. Rooms were clean,comfortable and all have stunning views! Breakfast was tasty. In one word FLAWLESS!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holden220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
666 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Tavern

Address: Fairway Tavern Old Herns Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range: £63 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a picturesque location, this property is located on Panshanger Golf Complex, with lodge style bedrooms opening out onto views of the golf course and rolling countryside. Bedrooms are small but smartly presented and are well equipped for business and leisure guests. Breakfast and bar meals are served by the friendly staff in the adjacent pub. A large peaceful garden and a function room for private hire are available. Play and stay golf packages can be organised and there is free ample on-site parking. Nearby attractions include Hatfield House, Knebworth House & Gardens, St. Albans Cathedral, Shaw's Corner, Hertford Castle and Welwyn Roman Baths. London Kings Cross is only 20 minutes away by train. PLEASE NOTE THAT WE DO NOT OFFER A 24 HOUR RECEPTION. CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 14:00 & 22:30 HRS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fairway Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Tavern Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing