We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks”
Review of The Fairway Tavern

The Fairway Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairway Tavern
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I were attending a wedding at the Fairway and booked ourselves a room as soon as we got the invite so we could stay in the most convenient place. The room was perfectly adequate, warm and clean, with a good sized bathroom with a shower over the bath tub, lovely views, tv and facilities to make a hot drink. It was nice to get ready for the wedding at our leisure whilst watching tv and enjoying a cup of tea. You pay up front at the bar when you arrive. This might not have been blindingly obvious but one question to the bar man and we were paid up and shown to our room. We ordered breakfast for the following morning and enjoyed a hearty full English with the other guests. There was also a party in the bar the night we stayed, but the wedding went on late and both were over by 1am. It is a golf club and celebration venue, not a hotel, so rooms are an added bonus and it was perfectly acceptable, did exactly what it should and was excellent value.

I would also like to add that the wedding at the same venue was superb. The ceremony room was beautifully decorated and during the photos it was turned into the reception venue. The tables and chairs were also beautifully decorated in co-ordinating colours chosen by the bride to match her theme. It has a nice big dance floor and although the tables were generously spaced apart it felt intimate and cosy without feeling crowded (there must have been at least 120 people). The room was softly lit and it was also nice and warm as it was bitterly cold outside, adding to the cosy atmosphere. The buffet food was excellent and the bar was always manned by friendly and courteous staff. It was one of the best weddings I've ever been to. Top marks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EDWARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

It's not immediately obvious that you are in the right place when you drive in let alone where to check in. You have to walk up the steps and into the bar. Then pay up front before seeing the room! A few people in the bar watching you as you drag your bags through for your room.

The single room I was in was very basic like student accommodation with quite a low standard finish. Somebody had cut out a corner of the blind so when you pull it down it doesn't bump against the desk.

On the ceiling is a green security light poorly positioned so it is in your eye line when you lay down. It lights up the whole room when all the lights are switched off. I ended up trying to cover it with my cushion cover to block it out by precariously balancing on my bed.

The bed has a spring mattress which is so soft I woke up with a slightly aching back and I am sure I was bitten during the night. Also I found that my feet were hanging off the bed when I tried to go to sleep. It is a short bed.

Weirdly the bathroom is roughly the same size as the bedroom, with a heated floor! Seems to me they spent the money in the wrong places. The decor is ok and reasonably clean.

Note that the rooms are under the bar, so you can hear everything upstairs. I don't think the room has double glazing so you can hear the busy road on the other side of the golf course. The view is quite nice but in no way compensates for the accommodation.

Based on the room I didn't stay for breakfast. Which is extra.

To be fair you get what you pay for, so I would suggest paying a bit more and stay somewhere else. Or look to see if you can a deal elsewhere. Just don't stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank RDStruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay, as we were attending a wedding in a venue a short distance away. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and all at a reasonable £60 for the night. The bar is a little dated, but served a decent pint of bitter - No complaints here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wdids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Me and my boyfried travelled from Felixstowe -Suffolk to vist my uncle in Welwyn. We came across this accommodation and liked the look of it. We went to check in and had to come back as the room wasnt ready - didnt mind as it was a last min booking so could understand. When we got to our room a young girl took us there, was really impressed with the view but the 'double room' was a bit small and very basic. When it got to the night time it was terrible! No one told us there was a function on which was very loud and is still going on now (00:52). The room is directly under the function room and you can hear EVERYTHING! As we are driving back in the morning we expected a nice quite night sleep overlooking the golf course but no, some party upstairs with people banging about. The place is nice but i think they need to re-think the price if we have to put up with this noise!! £80 something we paid for this room! Its shocking how a place lik this has no thought about customers who are staying here. Not too good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briles-420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you are planning to get married and looking for a venue in Hertfordshire then The Fairway Tavern is the perfect setting to have your wedding which overlooks the golf course.

My newly wife and I just had ours there just over a week ago. The weather was the perfect setting to have our special day outside, followed by Pimms and lemonade after the ceremony while pictures were being taken. Then the guest were called in for the sit down meal inside the lovely marquee and were presented with a feast of food which they all thoroughly enjoyed (tell Chef he was right about the generous portions).

Once the meal was over, we all headed outside again for more drinks while your team cleared the tables to make room for the evening party.... Oh and what a party that was with your residential DJ Kevin listening to everything we had said with regards to music selection and the dance floor was never empty! Then if things could not get even better the evening buffet arrived just in time for all our guest who by now had quite a few to drink and they loved every bite!

To anyone looking to have a wedding and does not need the stress of planning then, The Fairway Tavern is the place to have it. Warm, friendly and accommodating staff from beginning to end!

Thanks once again to everyone at The Fairway Tavern
xxx Mr&Mrs Pereira

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First impression's, I thought the overall views and location of the hotel were lovely and scenic. But on arrival to my single room I was disappointed. The room was really small, the decor very dated, and the bed was so uncomfortable. Really old I think and made of springs ew!! Put it this way once I laid on the bed and got up, you could see my body impression in the mattress, far too soft. Not good with a bad back.

There was also an annoying green light right above my head on the ceiling Which kept me awake due to it being so bright. Not sure what is was for but it was badly positioned. Could do with moving to someone out of sight. Also there was some kind of storage room or boiler room right behind my room and that was pretty noisy too.

Carrying on (yes there is more) the lamp was clearly from the bargain at ikea and I simply switched on even when u weren't touching it so had to turn it off at the wall!

Regarding the food/bar........ Well not much to say except working men's club surroundings which badly needed updating and fish and chips from the freezer. Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I got married here in march and it was the most perfect day we could imagine! Clare the wedding planner was always helpful and clear, always had time to answer any queries! On the actual day the staff were nothing but helpful, the food was fantastic ( plenty of compliments from guests ), the room looked amazing and the atmosphere was perfect! Definitely value for money and highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaseybrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
666 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Tavern

Address: Fairway Tavern Old Herns Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a picturesque location, this property is located on Panshanger Golf Complex, with lodge style bedrooms opening out onto views of the golf course and rolling countryside. Bedrooms are small but smartly presented and are well equipped for business and leisure guests. Breakfast and bar meals are served by the friendly staff in the adjacent pub. A large peaceful garden and a function room for private hire are available. Play and stay golf packages can be organised and there is free ample on-site parking. Nearby attractions include Hatfield House, Knebworth House & Gardens, St. Albans Cathedral, Shaw's Corner, Hertford Castle and Welwyn Roman Baths. London Kings Cross is only 20 minutes away by train. PLEASE NOTE THAT WE DO NOT OFFER A 24 HOUR RECEPTION. CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 14:00 & 22:30 HRS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fairway Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Tavern Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing