We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duck in pineapple”

The East - Stanborough
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Duck in pineapple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good evening menu. We love the duck in pineapple and you can have extra pancakes to go with fried duck. Bit most expensive than most Chinese but the surroundings are better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahG208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    35
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“shame they don't deliver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The east is great, the best Chinese in WGC, I only wished the delivered! The pecking duck is the best I have had and the pad Thai even better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cazz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The standard of food we have just had was absolutely disgusting and I am amazed this place is still open. The beef did not even look like beef and the chicken in yellow bean was disgusting beyond words. If anyone rates the food here as good they have never eaten decent Chinese food. They are a disgrace to Chinese cuisine and I strongly advise anyone to try anywhere but here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Budget Asian Cusine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good ambience, friendly service and upper quartile food. Take your workmates for the lunchtime buffet and it's great value. The evenings are a little more expensive but it's a good place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyTwoHats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reassuringly expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We use the East fairly often, its local, has great food, is good for takeaway or eating in, and the only criticism is that we always end up thinking how did we spend that much?! Worth it not to be disappointed though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The East - Stanborough also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The East - Stanborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing