We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD FRIDGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent place
Excellent location
Excellent bar
Excellent breakfast
Whatever you do, first thing to do when you get in your room is TURN THE FRIDGE OFF!!
They have the loudest fridges in the world in the rooms for some reason !!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us, we were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we are so sorry that the fridge in your room was noisy! Our fridges are of the highest hotel quality and this is not a problem we have come across before, had we been aware of the situation we would have quickly removed or replaced it for you.

We hope you will return to stay with us at Tewin Bury Farm (without the noisy fridge next time!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful civil event, reception and overnight stay at Tewin Bury at a friends' partnership ceremony. The staff were unfailing polite and professional - nothing was too much trouble. The venue was perfect with lots of attention to detail and maximum effort to ensure everything went to plan. Wonderful bedroom with lovely modern facilities set in a beautiful location. Generous breakfast and attentive service. We have often walked through the farm on a circular walk from the White Horse pub in Burnham Green and wondered what it would be like to stay there. Now we know! PS: If you have time wander through the garden up to St Peter's Church which is gorgeous.

Room Tip: White Park next door to reception has a walled patio area with a table and chairs to enjoy some outs...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we were very pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to attend a friends wedding at tewin bury farm and stayed for a night after the party. From start to finish I was nothing but impressed. Polite helpful reception staff. Plenty of parking right outside my room. A spotless, tasteful, comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom.
The wedding venue was lovely with a private terrace and private bar.
The meal we were severed was delicious and served very promptly by cheerful staff.
Retired to our room after the party to a very comfortable bed for a peaceful nights sleep followed by a fantastic breakfast served in our room the next morning.
If I was being picky bar prices were a little high maybe but not outrageous. But over all a well deserved 10 out of 10.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevectur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we were very pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a great stay at this lovely hotel. It is in a great countryside location, yet only a few minutes from Welwyn Garden City, so you can have the best of both worlds. The reception staff were very professional yet warm and friendly, which made it a great welcome.

Our room was called 'Gamekeeper', it was spotlessly clean and roomy with a great bathroom. The room was quite quirky in a wonderful way and once in it we didn't really want to come out, we just wanted to enjoy it!

However we did venture out to the bar for a drink and then a meal in the restaurant. The bar staff and restaurant Manager also gave a warm welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

We desperately wanted to give this hotel a 5 star rating because it does really deserve it, but two things prevent us from doing that and to be perfectly honest one of the things isn't totally the fault of the hotel. The first issue was the gravel parking area and roadway near the rooms. Every time a car parked or went by, or a hotel service vehicle went past, the crunching of the gravel would wake you up and it really spoilt the chance of a great nights sleep. The second point which isn't totally the hotels fault is that other guests were outside the hotel after a party or wedding and they were making such a noise up until around 2.30am and no one from the hotel made any attempt to ask them to be mindful of other guests trying to sleep. Of course you shouldn't need to have to tell people that but unfortunately some morons do spoil it for everyone else.

We did mention both issues to the reception and they said that there were plans to have something done about the gravel but they had no idea why the night staff didn't speak to the loud moronic guests.

So all in all we loved the place and our stay apart from the two issues mentioned.

Room Tip: A superior room is worth the extra!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, our night managers do patrol the grounds at night to try and monitor the noise levels however guests leaving events can sometimes be boisterous while returning to their rooms!

We hope to replace our gravel driveways in the coming months so we hope you will return and leave a 5 star rating next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a lovely place to stay,we was looked after from the moment we arrived to the moment we left,the room was spotlessly clean and everything well looked after,the food was outstanding and the staff of Williams bar were extremely helpful

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshsmum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for you kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed on valentines day after being bridesmaid at a wedding, venue lovely for a wedding bride well looked after, food lovely and hot buffet breakfast good quality food, room lovely and bright but walls very thin u can hear everything, bath panel cracked but all clean, staff very helpful and pleasant, thought it was a tad overpriced but thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback on the bath panel - this is in the process of being rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was close to a 5* review. Everything here is done to a high quality, even to the tiling in the bathrooms (I would be happy to hire whoever did that job to work in my house). Food is very good, service is excellent, the rooms are clean, full of character and tastefully furnished. Much of the positives have already been stated in other reviews.

The one thing that stopped me giving 5* is the pillows. So essential for a great night's sleep, so it's disappointing that they skimp on providing poor quality pillows when everything else is high quality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us - we will be reviewing our pillows to ensure they are suitable for our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
2.1 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
504 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.7 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
73 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
4.7 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewin Bury Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewin Bury Farm Hotel

Address: B 1000 Hertford Road | Near Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range: £98 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tewin Bury Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tewin Bury Farm is a small, independent, four star hotel and conference centre. Set alongside the river Mimram and within 490 acres of farm land, it conveniently sits 25 miles north of London in the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside. Owned and run by the Williams family, we take great pride in offering traditional values of good service with the modern comforts to be expected of an established AA 4 star venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tewin Bury Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tewin Bury Farm
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing