We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for a wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a wedding reception”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We held our Son and Daughter-in-Law's wedding reception at the Hotel on the last weekend in May. While the weather wasn't perfect the attitude of the staff, the professionalism of the operation, and the great facilities made the day just about perfect. From arrival on Saturday afternoon, through the photogenic area for photos, to the first-class food, to the stable for the disco, to the quiet bed-rooms (when we finally got to bed) to the decent breakfast in the morning the place was terrific. Excellent job.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your Son and Daughter in Laws wedding. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with the attitude and professionalism of our staff. I am happy to hear that you managed to find lots of great locations for your wedding photographs; even if the weather did not fully co-operate on the day. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food, both during the wedding and our ever popular farmhouse breakfast the following morning. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    94
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
109
145
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I sadly feel the need to downgrade my rating from my previous review.

Apart from the poor quality pillows I commented on last time (which are still there and still awful), a few more issues were apparent to me on my latest stay. At least this time I knew to bring my own pillow, so I didn't suffer that issue again.

The end executive room (Moorhen) is unfortunately positioned right next to the shed in which staff seem to dump bottles and other gear and don't seem to mind what time they do it. So unless you enjoy listening to loud klink, klink, bash, bash when you're trying to get to sleep or before you intended to wake up in the morning, avoid that room.

Another reviewer has already commented on the fridge noise, and they are right! I don't care if they are rated as the best in the business, they emit a sleep-disturbing noise intermittently on a regular basis. Possibly the cabinet they are housed in has insufficient sound insulation, or they are sited so that they are allowed to vibrate when the motor kicks in. Either way, as previously advised - switch it off at the plug socket before you go to bed.

At breakfast there is no option to have skimmed milk with your cereal. The tinned oranges and grapefruit segments are also more expected fare at a cheap B&B, and yet the cooked breakfasts are very good.

The dinner menu is quite limited and doesn't seem to change much (or at all). Whilst the food is well prepared the prices are ridiculously high for what you get. Add obscene soft drinks prices from the bar and the bill quickly passes £45-50 per head for a 2 course dinner with only a single glass of wine. The food is good, but it's not that good. E.g. the rib eye steak was not as good as one I had recently in a well known steak house chain for a lot less cash. They are clearly charging based on desired image rather than actual substance.

My recommendation is to stay here (avoiding the Moorhen room) and go out and eat elsewhere - there are some nice options not far away.

Room Tip: Avoid Moorhen - the end executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We were saddened to read this review especially as the last review from this guest was so positive. As a busy hotel our setup team does work through the night however they are quite conscious of noise in guest areas and usually try to carry out quieter tasks during the night hours.

At breakfast we offer a choice of semi skimmed or soya milk as we find this caters for most tastes, with all items that we do not regularly stock we are happy to provide this but unfortunately we are unable to do this at very short notice.

Our A la Carte menu that is provided at lunch and at dinner time is seasonal and as such changes every 3 months, in addition to this we also offer our light bites bar menu and specials that change daily, our restaurant is a two AA rosette restaurant and as such our food quality and service reflects this, we feel our pricing is reasonable for the standard of food and service that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I recently got married at Tewin Bury Farm and I have to say I had the best day ... The day was perfect the staff were amazing the food was fabulous the venue Nd rooms were great. Cannot fault this venue or the staff at all!!! It is a must to visit this venue and see its gorgeous settings.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely stunning so any choice is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that your special day was “perfect” and that you were well looked after by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after attending a wedding reception here.Great food both at the wedding & breakfast the next day. The room was beautiful & the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Top marks to housekeeping! Staff all helpful & friendly . The only thing that stops me from giving my stay an excellent was the noise issues that made it so hard to sleep. Our function ended at midnight but the function in the barn went on to 1am & our room was right next to it! Music was loud & then packing up noises, car doors,gravel on car park. Then first thing in the morning the trolley wheels pushed over the brick paving were really load outside our room. We ended up with just a couple of hours sleep.The rooms need sound proofing more as I understand they can't stop noise being made. This problem is such a shame as everything else about this hotel is so wonderful .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed during the night; I will ask our Managers to look in to this. I will certainly pass on your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms to our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent place
Excellent location
Excellent bar
Excellent breakfast
Whatever you do, first thing to do when you get in your room is TURN THE FRIDGE OFF!!
They have the loudest fridges in the world in the rooms for some reason !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us, we were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we are so sorry that the fridge in your room was noisy! Our fridges are of the highest hotel quality and this is not a problem we have come across before, had we been aware of the situation we would have quickly removed or replaced it for you.

We hope you will return to stay with us at Tewin Bury Farm (without the noisy fridge next time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful civil event, reception and overnight stay at Tewin Bury at a friends' partnership ceremony. The staff were unfailing polite and professional - nothing was too much trouble. The venue was perfect with lots of attention to detail and maximum effort to ensure everything went to plan. Wonderful bedroom with lovely modern facilities set in a beautiful location. Generous breakfast and attentive service. We have often walked through the farm on a circular walk from the White Horse pub in Burnham Green and wondered what it would be like to stay there. Now we know! PS: If you have time wander through the garden up to St Peter's Church which is gorgeous.

Room Tip: White Park next door to reception has a walled patio area with a table and chairs to enjoy some outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we were very pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to attend a friends wedding at tewin bury farm and stayed for a night after the party. From start to finish I was nothing but impressed. Polite helpful reception staff. Plenty of parking right outside my room. A spotless, tasteful, comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom.
The wedding venue was lovely with a private terrace and private bar.
The meal we were severed was delicious and served very promptly by cheerful staff.
Retired to our room after the party to a very comfortable bed for a peaceful nights sleep followed by a fantastic breakfast served in our room the next morning.
If I was being picky bar prices were a little high maybe but not outrageous. But over all a well deserved 10 out of 10.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevectur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we were very pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
8.7 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,068 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
626 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
14.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewin Bury Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewin Bury Farm Hotel

Property: Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Address: (B 1000 Hertford Road | Near Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tewin Bury Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tewin Bury Farm is a small, independent, four star hotel and conference centre. Set alongside the river Mimram and within 490 acres of farm land, it conveniently sits 25 miles north of London in the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside. Owned and run by the Williams family, we take great pride in offering traditional values of good service with the modern comforts to be expected of an established AA 4 star venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tewin Bury Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tewin Bury Farm
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing