We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you”
Review of The Brocket Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brocket Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in the brocket arms while we went to sonisphere . The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was just really pretty,welcoming and extremely relaxing. I would recommend anyone pay a visit for a restful and wonderful break. The food was fantastic and the area is just stunning. Well worth the journey . Thank you all at the brocket arms. The lockes Manchester.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place has a beautiful garden, which on a sunny day is great to sit out in. The pub looks ancient, is very traditional and situated in an idyllic setting. One thing we really liked is how friendly everyone was. I have not sat in a pub and chatted to so many strangers ever! Just remember to take your glass back to the bar :)

Our room was clean and the staff were very friendly. Definitely worth a visit for the great feed and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -_0_-Nathan-_0_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a double room which also accommodated our dog, for which we were grateful (room 7 in an annexe) The room was very basic and worn out. Bedding & towels clean, but a bit damp & dingy. The room is between the car park & the beer garden, so very noisy and unfortunately unable to leave any widows open at night due to the ground floor location. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice meal but will not be staying again. Sorry!

Room Tip: Would suggest you stay in the pub perhaps and not in the annexe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is one of my favourite pubs in England: ancient building, good beer, friendly people, a lively local crowd and a huge wood fire in winter.

The restaurant used to offer a more elaborate menu. This year (2014) they have downgraded to standard pub fare, (e.g. soup, burgers, fish & chips) to suit better the many cyclists and family visitors to Shaw’s Corner. As pub food it’s adequate, but no better.

That leaves the B&B offering a bit awkward. The rooms and the distance from London all suit ‘romantic getaway’ and are priced accordingly. But the food service isn’t up to it. For these prices one gets at breakfast these days such things as locally-produced bacon and eggs, fresh bread and conserves. Surely the espresso machine turned on; at least fresh filter coffee, and certainly not powdered. So the owners might have more thinking to do on this. (Cyclists like espresso too.)

Booking is delightfully informal: no web form and credit card details, just a phone call does it. Cautious guests will note whom they spoke to and email directly with confirmation.

Look out for locally-made honey and preserves, on sale at the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We popped in here for a quick lunch before going to Shaws Corner (National Trust, George Bernard Shaw's house, nearby). Wonderful old English village, beautiful houses. Tiny, cosy little bar with big fire, small restaurant area. Lunch did not disappoint, generously proportioned sandwiches with fries and salad, tasty fish and chips and very good hot scotch egg with runny egg . . .

Although a short distance from St Albans and even London, it is down narrow lanes and could be in a different world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONEBIRD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the brocket arms for a long weekend in February 2014. Not only is it set in and around picturesque country side (an ideal break for a city boy) but their helpful, friendly and polite staff could not have done more for me. Anything I wanted all I had to do was ask and the landlady or one of her staff would bend over backwards to accommodate my needs.
Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Popped in here on the off chance and got a seat by the fire for Sunday lunch. It's a lovely little unusual place, full of charm but very small. A good selection of beers and the local brocket ale was excellent. The la burger was very tasty, not too greasy or fatty, and the beef stroganoff was wonderful. Very creamy with lots of meat and mushrooms. Lovely little place but it was getting busy as we left.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
4.7 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
485 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
525 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
79 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Fairway Tavern
The Fairway Tavern
#4 of 6 in Welwyn Garden City
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brocket Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brocket Arms

Address: Ayot ST, Welwyn Garden City AL6 9BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range: £79 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brocket Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FROM 8th NOVEMBER*Please pop in for a warm welcome, warm open log fires and great food and beers x. This delightful country inn was built in the 14th century and retains all the traditional features including inglenook fireplaces and a wealth of exposed beams. Following its closure last year we have carried out extensive refurbishment of the pub and rooms. This has resulted in us being awarded 4 star inn status by the AA reflecting the high standard of the accommodation. We have also been fortunate to find a fantastic chef who is using fresh and, where possible, locally sourced produce to create unpretentious modern dishes. We look forward to welcoming you to The Brocket Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brocket Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brocket Arms Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Arms Brocket
The Brocket Arms Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing